Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Palmer Pletsch: 001 (Apron) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 866 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people    Off-topic by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR
About Learn To Sewstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/06 5:55 PM
Last Updated:6/26/08 7:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
So sorry you had such a rough time with this one. Do you have any idea why it gaps??? Is it too much fabric ????
7/30/06 6:15 PM
Darla in PA said...
The apron looks very nice. Sorry, the pattern didn't work for you. From the discription that you're giving of the problem, it almost sounds like your looking for a bib instead of an apron. Try Wild Things it has an apron that you get to decide on the length, width, etc. Good luck finding a nice pattern.
7/30/06 8:11 PM
BeckyC said...
Your apron is so pretty! Don't give up on the pattern yet. Could it be that the top of the apron is just too wide for your upper chest? When you took pleats in the top you were narrowing the upper chest. Maybe you need to cut a smaller size. I have an apron like yours that I love to wear and the upper corners of the top (where the straps are sewn on) of the apron are directly above my bust point on my upper chest - no gapping. Experiment with some muslin if you want to keep using this pattern.
7/30/06 9:41 PM
RuthieSews said...
Your pattern photo links to a childs pattern, can you please correct to the real pattern. Thanks
7/31/06 3:12 AM
PVA said...
Carol, I love the fabric! There's a couple of ideas for making the pattern work in these comments. Put it away for awhile & do other stuff, (Let the frustration fade away). Then, when you're thinking in terms of making holiday gifts maybe it will spark some ideas for you. Thanks for the review!
7/31/06 11:02 AM
PVA said...
Carol, I love the fabric! There's a couple of ideas for making the pattern work in these comments. Put it away for awhile & do other stuff, (Let the frustration fade away). Then, when you're thinking in terms of making holiday gifts maybe it will spark some ideas for you.
7/31/06 11:03 AM
Learn To Sew said...
Hmm. I'll have to tell Deepika she linked it wrong for me. The photo is the correct one. I'll see what I can do about the link. It should be to Palmer/Pletsch and not to baby stuff. Thanks for letting me know.
7/31/06 12:17 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Thank you, Deepika for fixing the link.
7/31/06 6:29 PM
Tinka said...
It is a beautiful color. I agree with the suggestion about a bib style apron, a separate top and bottom that are then sewn together might work better for you. I made a similar style to this for my sister, who is also full busted and she had a problem with the gaping at the top as well. There are some lovely vintage style apron patterns that might work better for you. Good luck!
7/31/06 8:06 PM
BeckyC said...
I'm so glad you're figuring out what needs to be changed to this pattern so it can work for you. If you make it again, please update your review so we can see the new one.
7/31/06 11:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Coat
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 1/28/05
Read Review

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5891 Misses Top
photo
Review by susandf on 9/9/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )
Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us