SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4814 (Asian wrap top & pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1076 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/06 8:32 PM
Last Updated:7/31/06 8:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Luckie Kay Locke said...
just came back to print your review so I can include it in my pattern envelope. Just finished a rewarding but time consuming and detailed piece so I need to set myself up for success! hanks again. luckie
8/23/07 1:26 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
I got the pattern so I'm back . you are right on the mark in your assesment of the directions. I really appreciate you review .Your solutions are much neededand a cleaner look.I would like to make the left front in a different but coordinating fabric and or do the same to certain facings, I live in Richmond Va. and dont need double layers anytime unless there is no other alternative because of the heat.I neeed something simple and easy because of my detailed ther work and your insight just may have given me the answer. Thank You!!!!!! luckie
7/21/07 9:50 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
I'm still interested in the pattern and your experience will help. I like the increased width of your collar and the finishing of the side slits is simple and direct. Really nice jpb on both the blouse and review. Thank you!! lkl
7/11/07 5:38 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Thank you for the comprehensive review. I bought this pattern but haven't gotten any further. Actually, this pattern is a knock off of a J.Jill top that I bought one or two years ago. While I loved the lines of the top, the sleeves were too short on me and it was made out of a heavy knit that did not breathe well. I liked the styling however so was glad to see the pattern so I could try it in a woven. Your review has saved me some work.
8/1/06 12:33 PM
OP Gal said...
Very helpful detailed review. Beautiful top.
8/1/06 8:54 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty top. Interesting look
8/1/06 5:19 AM
RuthieSews said...
Nice detailed review and a lovely result.
8/1/06 3:24 AM
patsijean said...
Beautiful, in spite of the problems.
8/1/06 1:13 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I just bought this pattern so I am going to print your review and use it when it comes to construction. Your top is, of course, wonderful as usual.
7/31/06 11:39 PM
Rebecca D said...
I would never have looked at this pattern if you hadn't reviewed it, thanks for such a helpful review (as always). I've got some rayon that would work.....
7/31/06 9:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful top. You always seem to manage to obtain such beautiful fabrics. Lovely. thanks for the warnings too.
7/31/06 9:07 PM
Liane M said...
Your review has saved my nice linen from an untimely demise! Thank you for you detailed review. I had selected this pattern for a pretty piece of cross dyed linen from Textile Studio. This pattern looks promising on the envelope but after looking at the pattern pieces over the weekend I was wondering about the amount of ease. You have answered all my questions. Thanks again. Your top blouse is very pretty. I may try this is a drapey rayon.
7/31/06 9:03 PM
pterion said...
Gorgeous top, I love the fabric. Thanks for detailing the pattern and instruction problems - very helpful for newbies like me!
7/31/06 8:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Self Drafted Pattern Enid Gilchrist

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now