Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4814 (Asian wrap top & pants) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1072 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/06 8:32 PM
Last Updated:7/31/06 8:34 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
Gorgeous top, I love the fabric. Thanks for detailing the pattern and instruction problems - very helpful for newbies like me!
7/31/06 8:40 PM
Liane M said...
Your review has saved my nice linen from an untimely demise! Thank you for you detailed review. I had selected this pattern for a pretty piece of cross dyed linen from Textile Studio. This pattern looks promising on the envelope but after looking at the pattern pieces over the weekend I was wondering about the amount of ease. You have answered all my questions. Thanks again. Your top blouse is very pretty. I may try this is a drapey rayon.
7/31/06 9:03 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful top. You always seem to manage to obtain such beautiful fabrics. Lovely. thanks for the warnings too.
7/31/06 9:07 PM
Rebecca D said...
I would never have looked at this pattern if you hadn't reviewed it, thanks for such a helpful review (as always). I've got some rayon that would work.....
7/31/06 9:52 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I just bought this pattern so I am going to print your review and use it when it comes to construction. Your top is, of course, wonderful as usual.
7/31/06 11:39 PM
patsijean said...
Beautiful, in spite of the problems.
8/1/06 1:13 AM
RuthieSews said...
Nice detailed review and a lovely result.
8/1/06 3:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty top. Interesting look
8/1/06 5:19 AM
OP Gal said...
Very helpful detailed review. Beautiful top.
8/1/06 8:54 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Thank you for the comprehensive review. I bought this pattern but haven't gotten any further. Actually, this pattern is a knock off of a J.Jill top that I bought one or two years ago. While I loved the lines of the top, the sleeves were too short on me and it was made out of a heavy knit that did not breathe well. I liked the styling however so was glad to see the pattern so I could try it in a woven. Your review has saved me some work.
8/1/06 12:33 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
I'm still interested in the pattern and your experience will help. I like the increased width of your collar and the finishing of the side slits is simple and direct. Really nice jpb on both the blouse and review. Thank you!! lkl
7/11/07 5:38 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
I got the pattern so I'm back . you are right on the mark in your assesment of the directions. I really appreciate you review .Your solutions are much neededand a cleaner look.I would like to make the left front in a different but coordinating fabric and or do the same to certain facings, I live in Richmond Va. and dont need double layers anytime unless there is no other alternative because of the heat.I neeed something simple and easy because of my detailed ther work and your insight just may have given me the answer. Thank You!!!!!! luckie
7/21/07 9:50 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
just came back to print your review so I can include it in my pattern envelope. Just finished a rewarding but time consuming and detailed piece so I need to set myself up for success! hanks again. luckie
8/23/07 1:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-121 Skirt
photo
Review by Kbenco on 1/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick Free LUV letters
photo
Review by HanPanda on 4/6/13
Read Review

McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5829 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5829 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us