Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Woodstock Tunic (Woodstock Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1994 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 33 people   
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/06 1:50 AM
Last Updated:8/4/06 1:57 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ronda Rae said...
Very cool! Love the colors.
8/4/06 2:48 AM
fuzzygalore said...
If the heat did that to my brain, I wouldn't complain about it so much :-)... It seems to be draft-from-scratch time again at HP, but your finished product is -stunning-.
8/4/06 3:48 AM
carolinevon said...
You must have had great fun making this. It's lovely!
8/4/06 4:05 AM
els said...
You’re creativity and patience transformed this pattern into a lovely summer tunic, despite all the pattern troubles you had to conquer you made it work, congrats. It looks great on you.
8/4/06 4:54 AM
Olivia Sews said...
That is gorgeous!! Inspired me to buy 3 Hot Patterns right now!! Shame on me!
8/4/06 5:49 AM
CarolynGM said...
I loved all the details about your creative process. Kind of makes me want to turn off the AC and see if similar inspiration transforms me.
8/4/06 6:20 AM
Lilibet said...
Gorgeous, very exotic.
8/4/06 6:51 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
G. your tunic turned out just amazing. I love, love, love the tulle edging on the cuff. -Ann
8/4/06 7:31 AM
Mermie said...
Absolutely gorgeous.
8/4/06 7:41 AM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, little did I realize all the work you were devoting to this project. Love the neckline embellishments, edgings, and cuff!!! The result is wonderful to behold and now you have a TNT pattern and some heat relief. Great review of your design process, Georgene. Thanks for writing it up and showing us the pix. Nice to revisit Project Alabama, as well.
8/4/06 7:48 AM
carolynw said...
This is too beautiful for words - just love, love it!!
8/4/06 8:32 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...

8/4/06 8:40 AM
valerie sews said...
Just wonderful Georgene. Your creativity inspires me.
8/4/06 8:49 AM
Kay Y said...
Fabulous - I think you protest too much about the heat since you had the foresight (lucky us) to take pictures all along the way. I'd say you should take full credit for all the creative choices.
8/4/06 9:10 AM
jemgirlca said...
Wow, that is gorgeous! I love all of your embellishments!! Thanks for the review!!
8/4/06 9:19 AM
fiberfanatic said...
This is just beautiful. Your perserverance paid off. Very creative and so stylish!
8/4/06 9:31 AM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Wow it looks great!
8/4/06 9:34 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Georgene, it turned out beautifully! I love all of your embellishments.
8/4/06 9:39 AM
BeckyC said...
Your top is wonderful! I'm glad the heat got you, because your neckfacing is beautiful. Thanks for sharing your creativity with us.
8/4/06 9:42 AM
Linda F said...
Your work has taken my breath away, what a beautiful tunic!! It is absolutly stunning on you. Thank you for sharing.
8/4/06 9:47 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh my gosh - this is just beautiful. I wish my brain would get fried so that I could turn out creations like this one. Another project well done.
8/4/06 9:48 AM
licarritc said...
So it was way more work than the heat required but now it is fabulous instead of just functional. The other "plain" tunics will be jealous!
8/4/06 9:54 AM
mistrydesigns said...
Wow! Looks like a pricey designer piece. Great job!
8/4/06 9:56 AM
Levone said...
Beautiful tunic! I enjoyed reading your review and seeing all of the pictures.
8/4/06 10:08 AM
PVA said...
Greatballsofire! Mega-Dittos to all of the above! The only words I can add are It's soooooo elegant. In the photo by your DH showing the back shaping the word that came to mind was Regal! Anyone who can look elegant & regal in that heat & humidity is both, elegant & regal (IMNSHO) Thanks so much for this review!
8/4/06 10:29 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Oh, but a ripped out and revised neckfacing would've been so...normal.... This is a work of art!
8/4/06 10:31 AM
bunz said...
S. Kahjle would be very proud of you! Great colors for you.
8/4/06 10:32 AM
cindyann said...
What a beautiful combination of fabrics and embellishments. Very inspiring, as usual.
8/4/06 10:36 AM
Seaspur said...
What a phenomenal amount of work, but the end result is so worth it. Beautiful!
8/4/06 11:47 AM
Elona said...
Let's hear it for fever-dreams, Georgene! The tunic is lovely, and you will be swanning about in more than Oriental splendor.
8/4/06 12:24 PM
Lee-Lee said...
Beautiful! The end result is well-worth the time you put into it.
8/4/06 12:25 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
8/4/06 12:43 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Stunning! I love the colors and details on your finished tunic.
8/4/06 1:22 PM
Cre8tv said...
It's amazing that such a simple pattern requires so many alterations. I have made this pattern about 5 times now; it is now one of my favorites...but I had to do as many alterations to get the thing to fit.
8/4/06 3:48 PM
RuthieSews said...
its absolutely GEORGEOUS! it was worth every minute.
8/4/06 3:49 PM
PhyllisC said...
This is the most-ut, as Judy Jetson would say - I love it Georgene, it's perfect!
8/4/06 4:16 PM
FloraNature said...
What a gorgeous tunic. It is such a rich and vibrant colour combination, and it looks wonderful on you!
8/4/06 5:34 PM
Deepika said...
What an outstanding piece! Loved reading all about the creative process. Thanks also for the lovely pictures. The final tunic looks great.
8/4/06 5:36 PM
AliceB said...
WOW, I'm blown away by the result of your dog days and fried brain. WOW-oh-wowie this is an amazing work of art!
8/4/06 6:46 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
G, this is so gorgeous!! Thanks for all of the helpful advice on this amazing top.
8/4/06 8:48 PM
artist1lisa said...
OMG,that is absolutely fabulous.I love the colors.So...this is how the dog days of summer should be spent.
8/4/06 9:35 PM
artist1lisa said...
OMG,that is absolutely fabulous.I love the colors.
8/4/06 9:38 PM
2BSewing said...
This is absolutely beautiful!
8/4/06 9:46 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love the top, love the review. Hopefully you are feeling better now! :)
8/4/06 9:57 PM
xela said...
You are a true diva! I salute you. It is stunning. You have tangable proof that the heat was good for something! Congrats
8/5/06 10:51 AM
Nancy K said...
This is so totally gorgeous! I am in awe. Question, the sleeve, what did you do to this to make it fit. Several other people have compained about having to redraft, not just make fit adjustments.
11/6/06 9:48 AM
Georgene said...
NancyK, in order to fit the sleeve, I made a muslin...meaning I cut the sleeves, with extra seam allowance, basted the underarm seam, and pinned it to the armhole while wearing the body of the garment. I always fit sleeves with the s/a folded to the inside, as if it were sewn. I fiddle with the look of the sleeve head until it looks right, refolding and repositioning the seam allowance. Since I am right handed I work on the left side first, then roughly translate the same changes to the right side. This way you can see your armhole shape as well as the sleeve head shape. I think it would be very very difficult to fix the sleeve as a flat pattern process. I 'let the fabric talk'.
11/19/06 8:43 AM
SandraB said...
This is really lovely Georgene. I just bought this pattern and am now reading through the reviews. The amount of work that you put into this is truly amazing.
6/14/09 8:58 PM
melkington said...
gorgeous top...looks fabulous on you. I want to make this pattern but I didn't receive instructions. do you know where I can get them?
5/18/11 0:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Christine Jonson 1010
photo
Review by SueV on 6/29/10
Read Review

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2759
photo
Review by drsue on 2/4/05
Read Review

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us