SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4887 

23 more reviews
Viewed 1300 times 
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/06 7:58 AM
Last Updated:11/28/06 7:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Yes this looks like a tough pattern to sew with striped fabric due to the shapes of the pattern pieces. I've found that knits vary a lot in how stretchy and drapey they are - so the same pattern in a different knit can looks very very different. You could sew this again in a less drapey knit, go up one size to have it hang looser and emphasize the empire line with trim. Thanks for posting even though you think it wasn't a good garment, it helps the rest of us!
8/6/06 8:43 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm sorry this didn't work out for you. I agree with RuthieK about trying it in a different fabric. I think fabric choices have a lot to do with how we feel about a pattern. It does look very nice but if it's not comfortable to you then - I know how you feel.
8/6/06 8:57 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I'd agree with fabric choices. I just recently re-tried KS 3199. I love it this time around- #1- fits better, #2- the 2nd fabric was a better choice for the pattern. I looks nice on you though. I saw the sweater and though-yuk- it's been soooo hot here this summer- of course, it's cool where you're at right now. ~Ronda
8/6/06 9:51 AM
j222b said...
I think it looks great. Do you find you are too critical of your sewing efforts? I think most of us have this problem...
8/6/06 12:38 PM
Robin Denning said...
Well, I think it looks better than you give yourself credit for. But- I understand how you feel, too. I have a similar body type to you and I always have to adjust for narrower shoulders and wider in the hips. I like the look on the Simplicity pattern, but it wouldn't turn out well for me, either. I put shoulder pads into almost everything. Thanks for the review!
8/7/06 8:20 PM
Linda E. said...
LInda I like this top on you.. I am glad you giving it a second look..
11/28/06 8:06 PM
AnneM said...
Glad you are getting use out of this top. It really does look great. Fantastic job matching the stripes across the front.
2/15/07 7:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now
Butterick 5615

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review