SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4887 

22 more reviews
Viewed 1300 times 
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/06 7:58 AM
Last Updated:11/28/06 7:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Yes this looks like a tough pattern to sew with striped fabric due to the shapes of the pattern pieces. I've found that knits vary a lot in how stretchy and drapey they are - so the same pattern in a different knit can looks very very different. You could sew this again in a less drapey knit, go up one size to have it hang looser and emphasize the empire line with trim. Thanks for posting even though you think it wasn't a good garment, it helps the rest of us!
8/6/06 8:43 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm sorry this didn't work out for you. I agree with RuthieK about trying it in a different fabric. I think fabric choices have a lot to do with how we feel about a pattern. It does look very nice but if it's not comfortable to you then - I know how you feel.
8/6/06 8:57 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I'd agree with fabric choices. I just recently re-tried KS 3199. I love it this time around- #1- fits better, #2- the 2nd fabric was a better choice for the pattern. I looks nice on you though. I saw the sweater and though-yuk- it's been soooo hot here this summer- of course, it's cool where you're at right now. ~Ronda
8/6/06 9:51 AM
j222b said...
I think it looks great. Do you find you are too critical of your sewing efforts? I think most of us have this problem...
8/6/06 12:38 PM
Robin Denning said...
Well, I think it looks better than you give yourself credit for. But- I understand how you feel, too. I have a similar body type to you and I always have to adjust for narrower shoulders and wider in the hips. I like the look on the Simplicity pattern, but it wouldn't turn out well for me, either. I put shoulder pads into almost everything. Thanks for the review!
8/7/06 8:20 PM
Linda E. said...
LInda I like this top on you.. I am glad you giving it a second look..
11/28/06 8:06 PM
AnneM said...
Glad you are getting use out of this top. It really does look great. Fantastic job matching the stripes across the front.
2/15/07 7:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 1306

photo
by: sarahark

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now