SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4072 (Misses' pullover dress)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1692 times 
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/06 11:29 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the tip on shortening the dress --- your technique saved the dress from looking like a sack. The finished dress looks great!
10/14/06 11:41 AM
Nata said...
Lovely dress! I think you did a great job by shortening it; it suits your figure better that way IMO Love the cheetah contrasting bands too - what fun!
8/9/06 4:16 PM
artist1lisa said...
Adorable dress,Stacy.Your alterations made it look better than the picture on the pattern envelope.Great job.
8/9/06 11:24 AM
cathy45 said...
Your dress alterations really made this dress work for you. The original version did dwarf you but you've turned it into a really great dress.
8/9/06 8:39 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your dress looks terrific on you! I know you prefer the shorter, but both lengths are lovely. I was going to buy this pattern, but after reading your review (re: the pregnancy comment) I decided not to LOL. There's something about floaty dresses and thin people that will elicit these comments so I know where you are coming from. Think I'll stick with a "duro" top with leggings this season :) . Thanks for the helpful review.
8/9/06 8:12 AM
xela said...
Excellent! Yours, IMO, is the best I've seen.
8/8/06 10:21 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great job Stacy. It looks great on you. I think this is one of those styles that requires some fashionista accessorizing.
8/8/06 9:07 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I like both versions but I'm really impressed with how you "made it work" for you. Very cute! Love the fabric combo too.
8/8/06 8:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Yeah, you did it! Looks good after your alterations. Love the fabric combinations you chose.
8/8/06 6:59 AM
Erica B. said...
Stacy, the dress looks great on you!
8/8/06 0:47 AM
Vonnevo said...
This length and style looks wonderful Stacy. The fabric combos work really well together. Your alterations make this a more stylish dress than the original.
8/7/06 5:55 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Looks fantastic, love the fabric!
8/7/06 4:30 PM
BjP said...
Yep, it looks great on you! This is not a style I could carry off, but it looks fabulous on you! I do like the shorter version on you, so good call!
8/7/06 4:17 PM
BeckyC said...
Your Babydoll Duro dress is so hip! I love the fabric combination and the length - it looks so nice on you.
8/7/06 4:00 PM
KAB said...
Very attractive. Original dress was really nice, but shorter version is more in scale with your smaller body. It's fun to admire well made garments that would look dreadful on me, but look great on you. Vicarious thrill!
8/7/06 3:55 PM
Sharon M said...
It's absolutely adorable on you! Love your fabric choices.
8/7/06 3:41 PM
jnamcd said...
I like the contrasting print--they go very well together!
8/7/06 3:30 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Too cute!!!
8/7/06 3:28 PM
Linda F said...
adorable, I love it!
8/7/06 2:49 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I like your version of the duro dress better than the simplicity version. Very nice save.
8/7/06 2:03 PM
mistrydesigns said...
Pretty dress. All these great 'duro' dresses I see on PR is making me want to make one too.
8/7/06 12:36 PM
Linda E. said...
I like you version of the "DURO" dress.. It looks very good on you.. the changes you make really help the over look
8/7/06 11:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Style 3759

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1258

photo
by: tigergirl

Review