Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Design Magazine: 02-2006-2 (T-shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2373 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Amber in Norfolk
photo
About Amber in Norfolkstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/16/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/06 11:54 PM
Last Updated:8/15/06 7:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jessika said...
Great top I like it. I love the shape of the neckline. I think the color is great with denim.
8/7/06 0:09 AM
Patzee said...
Amber...This won't be the only hole you rip! (LOL) Nice job on the top and that video is the one I used when I did my first neckline.
8/7/06 0:50 AM
Linda F said...
Amber - You did a great job! Just put a little squire of iron-on interfacing on the back behind the hole. Flatten the fabric as best as you can and it will be good for the gym. You know you are a true sewer when you do something like that and keep going! I can't wait to see the "nonmuslin".
8/7/06 6:47 AM
Tiner W said...
Good-looking top!
8/7/06 8:40 AM
BeckyC said...
This is a great top on you! You'll be putting this in your TNT file! Repair the hole as suggested above and if you see the interfacing through the little hole and it bothers you use a permanent marker in the same color as your shirt to color it in. Had to use this repair method a few times.
8/7/06 9:02 AM
Amber in Norfolk said...
BeckyC - what's my TNT file?
8/7/06 9:33 AM
slanden99 said...
TNT=tried and true Nice t-shirt. It looks really good on you. I love this pattern too.
8/7/06 9:43 AM
licarritc said...
Great job! You might consider raising your rating to adv. Beginner. Anybody that can get a T to fit that well and binding to work is worthy of the title!
8/7/06 9:56 AM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Haha considering this is only my third garment, I highly doubt I'm an "advanced" anything! But thanks for the compliment!
8/7/06 10:44 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Amber, this is a GREAT first tee effort. As mentioned, we've all done the hole thing. If you really want to wear this tee other places without a hole -- and get some more binding practice -- you can rip the binding off again and recut the neckline either into a lower scoop or a vee. Yeah, I know ... ripping the binding off again. Uh huh. Right.
8/7/06 1:44 PM
KAB said...
Really nice job, Amber. Re: the hole, you could go back to get that "stupid dog applique" and apply it over the hole. No, just kidding; great T.
8/7/06 4:04 PM
wvsher said...
Great job on the tee; sorry about the hole (I hate it when I do that).
8/8/06 4:23 PM
Kay Y said...
Been there, done that (many times). Better luck with the next one which, if your first version is any guide, will be terrific (and stretchy in the right direction).
8/8/06 4:34 PM
Runrover said...
Amber: the t-shirt looks really nice on you and the fit seems good. I've done the hole in the t too. Great job! Also, I think your blog is so neat; love reading it. Congratulations on your first 5k!! Cynthia
8/8/06 7:14 PM
Runrover said...
Amber: the t-shirt looks really nice on you and the fit seems good. Great job! Also, I think your blog is so neat; love reading it. Congratulations on your first 5k!! Cynthia
8/8/06 7:16 PM
artist1lisa said...
Beautiful T-shirt,Amber.I love the color and fit.I've been intimidated by all the cutting lines in the Ottobre book and havent had the nerve to tackle them.Your review has given me the courage to try. More "midnight modeling".You've got style.
8/9/06 10:57 AM
artist1lisa said...
Beautiful T-shirt,Amber.I love the color and fit.I've been intimidated by all the cutting lines in the Ottobre book and havent had the nerve to tackle them.Your review has given me a the courage to try. More "midnight modeling".You've got style.
8/9/06 10:59 AM
Pecan said...
I like this top as well...you know I think a V neck would be very flattering on you. You have a pretty face...show it off!!
8/9/06 11:34 AM
jnamcd said...
Your save on the hem looks great! Great t-shirt!
8/15/06 8:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Butterick B4474 Purse
photo
Review by MarilynB on 7/10/07
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7086 Shirt
photo
Review by Lucinda on 7/14/08
Read Review

Burda 9478 Pattern
Burda 9478 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us