Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2895 (Jean Style Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1593 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/06 5:51 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kris O said...
Very cute jacket and nice review. I wonder if a tablecloth jacket is a first for PatternReview?
8/12/06 5:59 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Very nice job! You'll secretly be giggling when someone comments on how lovely it is. LOL
8/12/06 6:04 PM
Riordan said...
Great jacket--the fabric is lovely, and your buttons are perfect! Wonderful pattern, isn't it? (I've made five of these for my sisters, stepmother, and daughter, and they all like them.)
8/12/06 6:16 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great summer jacket; very flattering on you. The flat felled seams were the perfect solution to eliminate the fraying problem as well as cutting back on sewing time; I'm all for quick sewing methods. Thanks for a very informative and helpful review. Now, wherever did you find those (Canadian) moose buttons. I've got to get me some.
8/12/06 6:27 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great jacket, love the fabric. Thanks for flat felled seams tip. And pliers! I was thinking of using a hammer once on these thick denim seams!
8/12/06 7:03 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Nice looking jacket you've made. What a great idea to use a jacquard tablecloth for fabric. Also, great idea to use flat felled seams. Thanks for the review. :)
8/12/06 7:18 PM
bunz said...
A much better life for a tablecloth!:-) Great review - thanks.
8/12/06 8:47 PM
simplystitches said...
Really cute, saw the pic and just HAD to read the review to see what fabric you'd used as that's the "look" I had in mind. Can I ask what size tablecloth you used?
8/12/06 8:47 PM
AliceB said...
Great jacket, and I love the table cloth idea. I appreciate your instructions for the felled seams and the clean finish they leave inside. There is a waffle weave shower curtain at Pottery Barn I want to turn into a jacket. Thanks for sharing. :)
8/12/06 8:47 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
debkb, the tablecloth was a 6-person size (52" x 70"?). I didn't measure it precisely because I had to work quickly to finish the jacket while DH was out of town ;-)
8/12/06 8:55 PM
Linda F said...
Thank you for your comment on Kwik Sew patterns top patterns fitting short. I have lengthened each KS pattern I make more than what a FBA gives. Until now I thought this was just a problem for me, it is nice to have someone else confirm my suspicion. I love the jacket, using a tablecloth is a perfect solution to getting a look you want!
8/12/06 9:21 PM
casken said...
Wow, great job! I love the moose buttons. Thank you for your review.
8/12/06 9:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi! Cute and versatile jacket! I, too, love the Moose button touch!!
8/12/06 11:19 PM
Twinkster said...
Beautiful choice of fabric! Very creative and it gives the jacket a more feminine edge. Very professional topstitching too.
8/13/06 0:48 AM
BjP said...
Wonderful looking jacket! This pattern gets such good reviews that I cannot figure out why I keep putting it off. I do like your buttons, too!
8/13/06 1:42 AM
jlg said...
Beautifully done. This jacket looks great.
8/13/06 5:41 AM
PixieCat said...
Your jacket is so beautiful! Thank you for the flat felled seam info. I have this pattern and it's moving to the top of my to-do list.
8/13/06 6:06 AM
jbrewer said...
You did a very nice job with this jacket (as well as the other garments in your photo album!) Your flat felled seams turned out very neat.
8/13/06 7:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket looks great and very summery. Like the idea of flat felled seams, I may use those next time. Jacket fits you well.
8/13/06 8:16 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great jacket and review! I've been mulling over a jean jacket pattern so this was very helpful.
8/13/06 10:04 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great jacket! Looks very nice on you. I love your fabric "source." My sister, who collects moose, would go nuts over those buttons.
8/13/06 10:27 AM
kmouse said...
Really nice jacket and I love the idea about using the table cloth. Great fabric can be found anywhere.
8/13/06 12:04 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review and garment. Love the moose buttons. Wish I had a husband observant enough to notice a missing tablecloth!
8/13/06 12:42 PM
debbie.w said...
I love this jacket and the fact you made it from your tablecloth sounds so like something I would do! You do a fabulous job.
8/13/06 1:28 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very beautiful jacket! It looks great on you and great use of resources by using the table cloth ~ definitely s omething I would do too!
8/13/06 6:40 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh wow, what a gorgeous jacket, and such a wonderfully helpful review. Thanks for the details on the seams. I just invested in a lap seam foot so if I can't get it to work I know what to try instead. This is on my (ever growing) list of things to make during my two week holiday, moving up the list now though thanks to your review. I think the tablecloth looks happy to be reincarnated.
8/14/06 9:29 AM
tenaya said...
I admire your shamelessness, for using the tablecloth! Bravo! It looks great, and what a wonderful idea you had in using the tablecloth in such a way.
7/27/08 1:49 PM
sewin said...
Love the tablecloth story. Beautiful job on this jacket.
9/3/13 3:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Kwik Sew 3027 Misses' Shirts
photo
Review by tigger on 3/5/05
Read Review

Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6791 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6791 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1804 Misses Dress
photo
Review by typeezy on 5/30/12
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Winter Street Dress Digital Pattern
PatternReview Winter Street Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us