SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2895 (Jean Style Jacket)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1597 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/06 5:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 29 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kris O said...
Very cute jacket and nice review. I wonder if a tablecloth jacket is a first for PatternReview?
8/12/06 5:59 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Very nice job! You'll secretly be giggling when someone comments on how lovely it is. LOL
8/12/06 6:04 PM
Riordan said...
Great jacket--the fabric is lovely, and your buttons are perfect! Wonderful pattern, isn't it? (I've made five of these for my sisters, stepmother, and daughter, and they all like them.)
8/12/06 6:16 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great summer jacket; very flattering on you. The flat felled seams were the perfect solution to eliminate the fraying problem as well as cutting back on sewing time; I'm all for quick sewing methods. Thanks for a very informative and helpful review. Now, wherever did you find those (Canadian) moose buttons. I've got to get me some.
8/12/06 6:27 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great jacket, love the fabric. Thanks for flat felled seams tip. And pliers! I was thinking of using a hammer once on these thick denim seams!
8/12/06 7:03 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Nice looking jacket you've made. What a great idea to use a jacquard tablecloth for fabric. Also, great idea to use flat felled seams. Thanks for the review. :)
8/12/06 7:18 PM
bunz said...
A much better life for a tablecloth!:-) Great review - thanks.
8/12/06 8:47 PM
simplystitches said...
Really cute, saw the pic and just HAD to read the review to see what fabric you'd used as that's the "look" I had in mind. Can I ask what size tablecloth you used?
8/12/06 8:47 PM
AliceB said...
Great jacket, and I love the table cloth idea. I appreciate your instructions for the felled seams and the clean finish they leave inside. There is a waffle weave shower curtain at Pottery Barn I want to turn into a jacket. Thanks for sharing. :)
8/12/06 8:47 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
debkb, the tablecloth was a 6-person size (52" x 70"?). I didn't measure it precisely because I had to work quickly to finish the jacket while DH was out of town ;-)
8/12/06 8:55 PM
Linda F said...
Thank you for your comment on Kwik Sew patterns top patterns fitting short. I have lengthened each KS pattern I make more than what a FBA gives. Until now I thought this was just a problem for me, it is nice to have someone else confirm my suspicion. I love the jacket, using a tablecloth is a perfect solution to getting a look you want!
8/12/06 9:21 PM
casken said...
Wow, great job! I love the moose buttons. Thank you for your review.
8/12/06 9:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi! Cute and versatile jacket! I, too, love the Moose button touch!!
8/12/06 11:19 PM
Twinkster said...
Beautiful choice of fabric! Very creative and it gives the jacket a more feminine edge. Very professional topstitching too.
8/13/06 0:48 AM
BjP said...
Wonderful looking jacket! This pattern gets such good reviews that I cannot figure out why I keep putting it off. I do like your buttons, too!
8/13/06 1:42 AM
jlg said...
Beautifully done. This jacket looks great.
8/13/06 5:41 AM
PixieCat said...
Your jacket is so beautiful! Thank you for the flat felled seam info. I have this pattern and it's moving to the top of my to-do list.
8/13/06 6:06 AM
jbrewer said...
You did a very nice job with this jacket (as well as the other garments in your photo album!) Your flat felled seams turned out very neat.
8/13/06 7:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket looks great and very summery. Like the idea of flat felled seams, I may use those next time. Jacket fits you well.
8/13/06 8:16 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great jacket and review! I've been mulling over a jean jacket pattern so this was very helpful.
8/13/06 10:04 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great jacket! Looks very nice on you. I love your fabric "source." My sister, who collects moose, would go nuts over those buttons.
8/13/06 10:27 AM
kmouse said...
Really nice jacket and I love the idea about using the table cloth. Great fabric can be found anywhere.
8/13/06 12:04 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review and garment. Love the moose buttons. Wish I had a husband observant enough to notice a missing tablecloth!
8/13/06 12:42 PM
debbie.w said...
I love this jacket and the fact you made it from your tablecloth sounds so like something I would do! You do a fabulous job.
8/13/06 1:28 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very beautiful jacket! It looks great on you and great use of resources by using the table cloth ~ definitely s omething I would do too!
8/13/06 6:40 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh wow, what a gorgeous jacket, and such a wonderfully helpful review. Thanks for the details on the seams. I just invested in a lap seam foot so if I can't get it to work I know what to try instead. This is on my (ever growing) list of things to make during my two week holiday, moving up the list now though thanks to your review. I think the tablecloth looks happy to be reincarnated.
8/14/06 9:29 AM
tenaya said...
I admire your shamelessness, for using the tablecloth! Bravo! It looks great, and what a wonderful idea you had in using the tablecloth in such a way.
7/27/08 1:49 PM
sewin said...
Love the tablecloth story. Beautiful job on this jacket.
9/3/13 3:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118

photo
by: Anne Cherr...

Review