SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5577 

3 more reviews
Viewed 979 times 
Reviewed by:BGVDiva
photo

 
 
About BGVDiva
CA USA
Member since: 8/14/06
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/06 8:18 PM
Last Updated:9/12/06 8:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
patsijean said...
Next time, trace your pattern onto tissue, wax paper or velum or that pattern tracing paper I see in catalogues. That way you will not cut up your pattern and can use it again as your daughter grows.
8/15/06 0:55 AM
Patzee said...
Welcome to PR and thanks for your review! There are many sewers in this group who change the facings so they don't roll or pop to the front. Go to the beginners forum and explain what was happening with the facings in this review for some good tips on how to solve this problem. I'm a novice myself, so I can't offer advice. Again, thanks for the review -- hope you will do many, many more!
8/15/06 9:18 PM
BGVDiva said...
patsijean - Thanks for the great pattern tip. Patzee - I'll check out the beginners forum too! Thanks!
8/16/06 4:39 PM
lynny said...
If you understitch the facings you will find they sit much better, here is a link I hope will help you http://www.diceyhome.free-online.co.uk/KatePages/Learning/Understitching/understitching_lesson.htm
8/17/06 2:45 AM
BGVDiva said...
lynny: Thanks for the suggestion and link. Actually, I did understitch the facings. I think its simply a function of the difference between the width of an adult-sized garment facing and the width of a child-sized garment facing. The finished facing on this garment is somewhere between 1" and 1.5". Whereas an adult-sized finished facing is usually 2" or more in width. With more fabric to tuck into the adult-sized garment, there is a lesser chance of the facing flipping to the outside. I guess I could top stitch the facing down, but I wasn't looking for the top-stitched look for this garment. The hand tacking took care of the problem and only added less than an hour to the time it took to complete the project. I can live with that.
8/17/06 6:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 8667

photo
by: knitwitsl

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now