SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5577 

3 more reviews
Viewed 979 times 
Reviewed by:BGVDiva
photo

 
 
About BGVDiva
CA USA
Member since: 8/14/06
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/06 8:18 PM
Last Updated:9/12/06 8:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BGVDiva said...
lynny: Thanks for the suggestion and link. Actually, I did understitch the facings. I think its simply a function of the difference between the width of an adult-sized garment facing and the width of a child-sized garment facing. The finished facing on this garment is somewhere between 1" and 1.5". Whereas an adult-sized finished facing is usually 2" or more in width. With more fabric to tuck into the adult-sized garment, there is a lesser chance of the facing flipping to the outside. I guess I could top stitch the facing down, but I wasn't looking for the top-stitched look for this garment. The hand tacking took care of the problem and only added less than an hour to the time it took to complete the project. I can live with that.
8/17/06 6:50 PM
lynny said...
If you understitch the facings you will find they sit much better, here is a link I hope will help you http://www.diceyhome.free-online.co.uk/KatePages/Learning/Understitching/understitching_lesson.htm
8/17/06 2:45 AM
BGVDiva said...
patsijean - Thanks for the great pattern tip. Patzee - I'll check out the beginners forum too! Thanks!
8/16/06 4:39 PM
Patzee said...
Welcome to PR and thanks for your review! There are many sewers in this group who change the facings so they don't roll or pop to the front. Go to the beginners forum and explain what was happening with the facings in this review for some good tips on how to solve this problem. I'm a novice myself, so I can't offer advice. Again, thanks for the review -- hope you will do many, many more!
8/15/06 9:18 PM
patsijean said...
Next time, trace your pattern onto tissue, wax paper or velum or that pattern tracing paper I see in catalogues. That way you will not cut up your pattern and can use it again as your daughter grows.
8/15/06 0:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

New Look 6762

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review

Pattern

Marfy 2245

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

More Info
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

More Info