Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5577 - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 979 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:BGVDiva
photo
About BGVDiva
CA USA
Member since: 8/14/06
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/06 8:18 PM
Last Updated:9/12/06 8:22 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
patsijean said...
Next time, trace your pattern onto tissue, wax paper or velum or that pattern tracing paper I see in catalogues. That way you will not cut up your pattern and can use it again as your daughter grows.
8/15/06 0:55 AM
Patzee said...
Welcome to PR and thanks for your review! There are many sewers in this group who change the facings so they don't roll or pop to the front. Go to the beginners forum and explain what was happening with the facings in this review for some good tips on how to solve this problem. I'm a novice myself, so I can't offer advice. Again, thanks for the review -- hope you will do many, many more!
8/15/06 9:18 PM
BGVDiva said...
patsijean - Thanks for the great pattern tip. Patzee - I'll check out the beginners forum too! Thanks!
8/16/06 4:39 PM
lynny said...
If you understitch the facings you will find they sit much better, here is a link I hope will help you http://www.diceyhome.free-online.co.uk/KatePages/Learning/Understitching/understitching_lesson.htm
8/17/06 2:45 AM
BGVDiva said...
lynny: Thanks for the suggestion and link. Actually, I did understitch the facings. I think its simply a function of the difference between the width of an adult-sized garment facing and the width of a child-sized garment facing. The finished facing on this garment is somewhere between 1" and 1.5". Whereas an adult-sized finished facing is usually 2" or more in width. With more fabric to tuck into the adult-sized garment, there is a lesser chance of the facing flipping to the outside. I guess I could top stitch the facing down, but I wasn't looking for the top-stitched look for this garment. The hand tacking took care of the problem and only added less than an hour to the time it took to complete the project. I can live with that.
8/17/06 6:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2922
photo
Review by karen n on 2/25/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 9586
photo
Review by sewdc on 6/7/11
Read Review

McCalls 6885 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6885 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2526 Pattern( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 2526 Pattern( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us