Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5577 

3 more reviews
Viewed 979 times 
Reviewed by:BGVDiva
photo

 
 
About BGVDiva
CA USA
Member since: 8/14/06
Reviews: 2 (patterns: 2)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/06 8:18 PM
Last Updated:9/12/06 8:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BGVDiva said... (8/17/06 6:50 PM) Reply
lynny: Thanks for the suggestion and link. Actually, I did understitch the facings. I think its simply a function of the difference between the width of an adult-sized garment facing and the width of a child-sized garment facing. The finished facing on this garment is somewhere between 1" and 1.5". Whereas an adult-sized finished facing is usually 2" or more in width. With more fabric to tuck into the adult-sized garment, there is a lesser chance of the facing flipping to the outside. I guess I could top stitch the facing down, but I wasn't looking for the top-stitched look for this garment. The hand tacking took care of the problem and only added less than an hour to the time it took to complete the project. I can live with that.
lynny said... (8/17/06 2:45 AM) Reply
If you understitch the facings you will find they sit much better, here is a link I hope will help you http://www.diceyhome.free-online.co.uk/KatePages/Learning/Understitching/understitching_lesson.htm
BGVDiva said... (8/16/06 4:39 PM) Reply
patsijean - Thanks for the great pattern tip. Patzee - I'll check out the beginners forum too! Thanks!
Patzee said... (8/15/06 9:18 PM) Reply
Welcome to PR and thanks for your review! There are many sewers in this group who change the facings so they don't roll or pop to the front. Go to the beginners forum and explain what was happening with the facings in this review for some good tips on how to solve this problem. I'm a novice myself, so I can't offer advice. Again, thanks for the review -- hope you will do many, many more!
patsijean said... (8/15/06 0:55 AM) Reply
Next time, trace your pattern onto tissue, wax paper or velum or that pattern tracing paper I see in catalogues. That way you will not cut up your pattern and can use it again as your daughter grows.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Butterick 5073

photo
by: PoldaPop

Review
Vogue Patterns 7696 OOP

photo
by: redside

Review
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Pattern Details