SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5577 

3 more reviews
Viewed 979 times 
Reviewed by:BGVDiva
photo

 
 
About BGVDiva
CA USA
Member since: 8/14/06
Reviews: 2 (patterns: 2)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/06 8:18 PM
Last Updated:9/12/06 8:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BGVDiva said... (8/17/06 6:50 PM) Reply
lynny: Thanks for the suggestion and link. Actually, I did understitch the facings. I think its simply a function of the difference between the width of an adult-sized garment facing and the width of a child-sized garment facing. The finished facing on this garment is somewhere between 1" and 1.5". Whereas an adult-sized finished facing is usually 2" or more in width. With more fabric to tuck into the adult-sized garment, there is a lesser chance of the facing flipping to the outside. I guess I could top stitch the facing down, but I wasn't looking for the top-stitched look for this garment. The hand tacking took care of the problem and only added less than an hour to the time it took to complete the project. I can live with that.
lynny said... (8/17/06 2:45 AM) Reply
If you understitch the facings you will find they sit much better, here is a link I hope will help you http://www.diceyhome.free-online.co.uk/KatePages/Learning/Understitching/understitching_lesson.htm
BGVDiva said... (8/16/06 4:39 PM) Reply
patsijean - Thanks for the great pattern tip. Patzee - I'll check out the beginners forum too! Thanks!
Patzee said... (8/15/06 9:18 PM) Reply
Welcome to PR and thanks for your review! There are many sewers in this group who change the facings so they don't roll or pop to the front. Go to the beginners forum and explain what was happening with the facings in this review for some good tips on how to solve this problem. I'm a novice myself, so I can't offer advice. Again, thanks for the review -- hope you will do many, many more!
patsijean said... (8/15/06 0:55 AM) Reply
Next time, trace your pattern onto tissue, wax paper or velum or that pattern tracing paper I see in catalogues. That way you will not cut up your pattern and can use it again as your daughter grows.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2005-101B

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
The Whimsy Bag Paper Pattern

The Whimsy Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details