SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> dd_ss (Denim Diva Sexy Skirts)

Viewed 1621 times 
Reviewed by:emr
photo

 
 
About emrstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/30/04
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/06 7:05 PM
Last Updated:12/31/06 4:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda F said...
What a great review. It will be a lifesaver for anybody else who has this pattern.
8/15/06 7:10 PM
drsue said...
I've not made any HP skirts - - too bad that even the simple designs from HP have these issues.
8/15/06 9:59 PM
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for reviewing this, I have this pattern and haven't gotten around to sewing it yet. Like you I thought I'd start with something simple from Hotpatterns. Hmm, wishful thinking! I'll definitely have to watch out for all the mistakes, thanks for all your pointers!
8/16/06 1:36 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for the very thorough, and extremely helpful, review. I too have found these patterns to run large and have cursed the lack of waistline marks, notches and so forth on every pattern I have made from them. Sounds like it was worth the hard work you put in though and the one you are about to sew in the crepe sounds absolutely stunning. Will you post a picture of it?
8/16/06 4:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great review emr. I, too, had issues with the HP skirt I made, but after a lot of work, I ended up with a pattern I really liked, just like you did. Clever idea to use a menswear pattern for fly instructions, too.
8/16/06 5:34 AM
MaryBeth said...
I am hoping that you will post a pix of your new skirt, with you as the model. Looking at the envelop illustration I can't see why you say under LIKES "The lines of the skirt are great". I donno, but it just looks like a regular 6 gore skirt to me. What makes it great? I've found that most of the HP patterns I've tried have details that do make them great even though there are lots of missing notches, etc. I have enjoyed using the patterns just to learn these "great details". None of the HP "problems" have been big enough to change that for me.
8/16/06 10:36 AM
Karen6790 said...
Whew! That was a great and exhaustive review of what we all like (and dislike) about Hotpatterns. Hoping to see a photo after all that work.
8/16/06 11:01 AM
drsue said...
Well, it certainly is a beautiful set of skirts. I love your velvet edging on the black one.
12/31/06 5:08 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
That is a very sexy looking black skirt. You did a fabulous job.
12/31/06 5:19 PM
Kay Y said...
Great review and beautifully made skirts. Thanks for all the detailed pics.
12/31/06 6:17 PM
Georgene said...
Good documentation, thank you.
12/31/06 11:38 PM
candyo said...
I love your garments, espec. this one! Keep those reviews coming!
1/1/07 10:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 2934

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now