Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3120 (Raglan Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1223 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:dvazz
photo
About dvazzstar
MO USA
Member since: 8/15/03
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/06 1:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSM--Carla said...
Hi Dvazz, Cute top--thanks for sharing. That does seem like a big neckline and might slide around on anyone. Enjoyed looking at your previous reviews too. Best wishes. Carla
8/18/06 3:15 PM
utz said...
Nice top. What might work for the sliding around top is making a couple of bra strap 'guard'?-gosh I don't know what they're called - little straps on the inside of a garment that you place the strap under the bra and have a snap on the end which snaps to a snap on the shoulder of the garment. If you place it just so vis-a-vis the garment/bra it will hold top in place where you want it. (I make mine out of narrow satin ribbon, sewing tiny snaps on either end, form a loop, sew side of loop to shoulder seam.)
8/18/06 3:55 PM
utz said...
Whoops. Posted twice.
8/18/06 3:58 PM
utz said...

8/18/06 3:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice dvazz. Looks like a very cool, comfy top. I had the same issue with the Santa Monica tee and lowered the armhole after the first one. Instead of understitching the facing (I probably wouldn't do that either) you could coverstitch the facing or the binding either one.
8/18/06 5:23 PM
AliceB said...
Very cute top and I think the neckline looks terrific on you. :)
8/18/06 5:25 PM
dvazz said...
Thanks, Irina....you've made me realize that I used the word "binding" in several places where I meant to say "facing". Coverstitching the facing is what I meant. Although, of course, a binding would be another option!
8/18/06 5:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I just bought this pattern a few weeks ago and really need to make it up. Bummer you have trouble with your regular sewing machine. Could you put the binding on and then just stitch it down with your CS machine (a little decorative stitch around the edge of the binding?). In any event, it looks really cute on you!
8/18/06 7:10 PM
mClones said...
It looks cute and comfy!
8/18/06 11:00 PM
FloraNature said...
Hi dvass, if you make this again, could you subtract the amount of excess stretch from the original pattern. That way when you sewed it up it would stretch out to the right length. By the way, my first machine didn't have an adjustable pressure foot either, and I couldn't work with it in the end. I find that the right amount of pressure on the fabric really helps to achieve a good seam finish.
8/19/06 4:39 AM
KaySews said...
I just finished this top and made it a little too big. I was able to surge in the sides. For the neck, since the scoop was too big, I cut a slit in the center front and made a hand stitched buttonhole. Then ran a ribbon thru the binding (1 1/4 yd for Med. top). I pulled the ribbon to get the neck I wanted and tacked the ribbon before making a small bow. Maybe this would work for you.
8/27/06 6:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Contest Endless Combinations Contest 2008
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 12/30/08
Read Review

Madison Avenue Dress
Madison Avenue Dress

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Creative Thimble Mini Professional Tote
photo
Review by Pinkhousel... on 3/9/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us