SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2006-113 (Wrap Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1918 times 
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/06 11:50 PM
Last Updated:8/20/06 2:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Very pretty and lovely colour. Thanks for the review.
8/19/06 11:54 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute! I just love that color too!
8/20/06 0:01 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Great top! You certainly have a fabulous way with knits! Sue
8/20/06 0:05 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Stacy !!!! It is oh so stylish :))) Do you think after making this, that the crossover ties could end at the side seams and not continue around the back..in the same way that the under bust section does, on the famous BWOF twist top 04/05 ??
8/20/06 0:51 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Vonneo - yes, definately! It would also save on fabric too. I don't think that you would need quite as much if you eliminated most of the tie.
8/20/06 1:10 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a pretty, pretty cool weather color. How does it look on you? Thank you for taking the plunge! I will shorten the ties thx to your advice. Vonnevo what a good idea :) Stacy, you might like hemming with Seams Great and/or using wooly nylon in the bobbin to keep the double needle hem from making a channel--hope you don't mind the friendly suggestion.
8/20/06 1:26 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a pretty, pretty cool weather color. How does it look on you? Thank you for taking the plunge! I will shorten the ties thx to your advice.
8/20/06 1:29 AM
fuzzygalore said...
But wait - this is a top whose entire appeal is the ties. So shorten them to nothing?? How about wearing it with the ties wrapped in front for a bit, and seeing how you like that instead? I've been eyeing this one too, and the last thing I'd want to do to it is cut off an option.
8/20/06 2:04 AM
MariaDenmark said...
Love it - now I really have to get this issue!
8/20/06 3:50 AM
Mlle Laura said...
Very nice!
8/20/06 5:19 AM
MaryBeth said...
I'd love to see this on you. It's a very bold style with heavy details. Thanks for the review of your top
8/20/06 7:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute top! Love that color.
8/20/06 8:07 AM
Lori V said...
Stacy, I really like your top. I bought this BWOF top just for this pattern. Thanks for the review.
8/20/06 8:35 AM
xela said...
That is way too cool!
8/20/06 8:56 AM
Sharon M said...
This is a great top - love the style and fabric color choice - very eye-catching.
8/20/06 9:57 AM
ribbit2jen said...
I just made it last night in a sweater knit, how funny. I love yours!
8/20/06 9:58 AM
Vivienne said...
I agree about the ties - I learned that if you have a long commute, tops that tie in the back are uncomfortable. But cute. This is a beautiful colour!
8/20/06 10:37 AM
Evatgirl73 said...
Another great one! love it in jersey as well. Thanks for a great review!
8/20/06 12:16 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
It's really gorgeous Stacy!
8/20/06 12:32 PM
Erica B. said...
very pretty top!
8/20/06 1:50 PM
Peggy L said...
Great top! I was wondering how it would look in jersey. Just added it to my "to do" list for my DD.
8/20/06 2:46 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love it Stacy! I saw that fabric the other day and Joann's and was going to get some because the color is so beautiful, but DS was ready to go (you know kids!).
8/20/06 4:08 PM
Debster said...
Stacy...I love your suggestions for knit fabric types. I am new using knits and before I try this pattern which you can be sure I will now after this review...I need to know what works...love it. In fact it looks better on you than model in magazine.
8/20/06 4:10 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Now seeing the photo of you with it tied in front I really it like it that way. I like how the ends hang down. It looks better than the way they did it in the magazine :)
8/20/06 4:52 PM
Vonnevo said...
Stacy, it looks even nicer on. Thanks for the update :)
8/20/06 6:01 PM
MaryBeth said...
It looks so much better on you than on the dressform, Stacy. Thanks for taking the extra time to model for us. :)
8/20/06 8:30 PM
Lori V said...
Stacy, it looks fantastic on. Now if I can get out of my sewing slump, this will be one of my first projects.
8/20/06 10:03 PM
Karen6790 said...
Stacy, thanks for the timely review - I just traced this pattern off a few nights ago, and I have a lightweight black and white sweater knit lined up for it. I think I might take a few inches off the ties, thanks to your review. It looks great, though, and the color is wonderful on you.
8/21/06 10:45 AM
ACB said...
Absolutely beautiful!
8/21/06 7:02 PM
Debra H said...
I have this issue and had planned to sew it this fall out of a lycra knit. Thanks for telling me how the ties work...I will definitely shorten mine.
8/21/06 11:21 PM
Diane E said...
Stacy, this is very pretty. I've been oogling this pattern in the magazine, and now I am going right downstairs to trace it off, thanks to you! I like the tie in front, and it provides the finished effect of a belt, which looks so nice.
8/22/06 4:03 PM
Nancywin said...
It looks great - I can see where a heavier knit might droop. Maybe I'll try this one.
8/26/06 2:27 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I was just browsing the Anthropologie site for inspiration and found a top which is nearly identical to this increasingly popular Burda pattern, but without the ties http://www.anthropologie.com/jump.jsp?itemID=11611&itemType=PRODUCT&iSubCat=267&iMainCat=11 I love your result. I may have to buy this issue!
9/24/06 11:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Lutterloh 2005 26

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now