SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Peony & Poppy Vests (Poppy Vest)

Viewed 1636 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/06 8:09 PM
Last Updated:6/14/11 2:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Oh wow! Love this review!
6/16/11 2:44 PM
Barbara V said...
Most gorgeous piece and color of linen jacquard! The color and style are so elegant on you. Aside - Ladies were tripping over themselves to look at Ann's flowing garment and were amazed to learn that she had sewn it.....fun to watch and hear all the fuss.
6/14/11 2:13 PM
sew2little said...
You and Barbara look beautiful! (I too would be in trouble if I HAD to find something pink in my wardrobe or stash!)
6/14/11 1:00 PM
Patti B said...
Ann, once again you have hit it out of the park. Nice! You both look so nice.
6/14/11 11:05 AM
Christas said...
You look very pretty in pink! I love both versions of this pattern. Very nice sewing and great review. Thanks!
6/14/11 10:27 AM
sfshaza said...
That is really pretty, Ann! I also like it open and flowing.
6/14/11 9:55 AM
DorothyK said...
You certainly made the most of that fabric and looked "pretty in pink." It was the perfect pattern. Looking back at the original fabric, I had forgotten how cool that was. Nice to see Barbara too.
6/14/11 9:28 AM
pegsewer said...
This is great---so YOU!
6/14/11 7:45 AM
mm said...
The two of you look beautiful.
6/14/11 3:13 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: another winner. The stripes and the pattern are perfect for each other and the look on you is fabulous.
8/23/06 10:40 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Tres chic. Very nicely done. Love your styles!
8/22/06 2:12 PM
Ann Smith said...
brrmm: yes the wrong side of the fabric shows at the collar. There is a seam there as well as across the shoulders. Those seams give the shaping to the garment.
8/22/06 11:41 AM
KAB said...
Smashing use of draped stripes. You look lovely; even your sandals have a diagonal stripe!
8/22/06 10:52 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful vest. The stripes show off beautifully. Thanks for the great review.
8/22/06 10:14 AM
CarolynGM said...
Really fascinating use of stripes in your ensemble.
8/22/06 7:00 AM
Lhan said...
Now I would never have thought how good this is for stripes! I like the clever use of a single piece of fabric, and I especially like the back of your vest. Always love your clothes Ann, and find your reviews inspiring.
8/22/06 5:47 AM
brrmm said...
Anne, I love your top!! Have seen this pattern and skimmed over it, but will give it a good look over now. The tech drawing looks there is a whopping big seam in the back collar? Is the wrong side of the fabric showing in the collar front & back ?
8/22/06 5:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great pattern! I really like the look of this on you. I love the way the striped fabric works so well in this.
8/22/06 5:28 AM
Ann Smith said...
Dorothy, definitely, especially with a cooperative fabric like linen or cotton. Mary, I enjoyed meeting you too. Wasn't that a fun weekend!
8/22/06 2:25 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful take on the pattern and selection fabric. I look forward to reviews and wearable art.
8/21/06 11:36 PM
DorothyK said...
Ann, this is spectacular. Is it something a beginner can make?
8/21/06 11:19 PM
Mary M. Mohr said...
Ann, You looked splendid in this on Saturday at Marcy Tilton's and Shermane Fouche's seminar. It was great to see you in person, and you have inspired me to soon leave lurkdom and start contributing to this special community. Mary Mohr
8/21/06 9:30 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Ann, I love reading your reviews and looking at your pictures!! You make the coolest things and always look lovely in them. Thank you for sharing! Nice thorough review. I like the pin closure. Carla
8/21/06 9:19 PM
Sharon M said...
Very cool...after seeing how great your version looks, I really must pull this one out of the pattern stash and get is sewn! I think the pin really adds a lot to the outfit.
8/21/06 9:18 PM
bunz said...
Wow, I never realized what an interesting pattern this is -- thanks so much for a great review!
8/21/06 8:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-119

photo
by: Janiki

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now