Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Peony & Poppy Vests (Poppy Vest) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 1630 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/06 8:09 PM
Last Updated:6/14/11 2:39 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Wow, I never realized what an interesting pattern this is -- thanks so much for a great review!
8/21/06 8:50 PM
Sharon M said...
Very cool...after seeing how great your version looks, I really must pull this one out of the pattern stash and get is sewn! I think the pin really adds a lot to the outfit.
8/21/06 9:18 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Ann, I love reading your reviews and looking at your pictures!! You make the coolest things and always look lovely in them. Thank you for sharing! Nice thorough review. I like the pin closure. Carla
8/21/06 9:19 PM
Mary M. Mohr said...
Ann, You looked splendid in this on Saturday at Marcy Tilton's and Shermane Fouche's seminar. It was great to see you in person, and you have inspired me to soon leave lurkdom and start contributing to this special community. Mary Mohr
8/21/06 9:30 PM
DorothyK said...
Ann, this is spectacular. Is it something a beginner can make?
8/21/06 11:19 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful take on the pattern and selection fabric. I look forward to reviews and wearable art.
8/21/06 11:36 PM
Ann Smith said...
Dorothy, definitely, especially with a cooperative fabric like linen or cotton. Mary, I enjoyed meeting you too. Wasn't that a fun weekend!
8/22/06 2:25 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great pattern! I really like the look of this on you. I love the way the striped fabric works so well in this.
8/22/06 5:28 AM
brrmm said...
Anne, I love your top!! Have seen this pattern and skimmed over it, but will give it a good look over now. The tech drawing looks there is a whopping big seam in the back collar? Is the wrong side of the fabric showing in the collar front & back ?
8/22/06 5:32 AM
Lhan said...
Now I would never have thought how good this is for stripes! I like the clever use of a single piece of fabric, and I especially like the back of your vest. Always love your clothes Ann, and find your reviews inspiring.
8/22/06 5:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
Really fascinating use of stripes in your ensemble.
8/22/06 7:00 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful vest. The stripes show off beautifully. Thanks for the great review.
8/22/06 10:14 AM
KAB said...
Smashing use of draped stripes. You look lovely; even your sandals have a diagonal stripe!
8/22/06 10:52 AM
Ann Smith said...
brrmm: yes the wrong side of the fabric shows at the collar. There is a seam there as well as across the shoulders. Those seams give the shaping to the garment.
8/22/06 11:41 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Tres chic. Very nicely done. Love your styles!
8/22/06 2:12 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: another winner. The stripes and the pattern are perfect for each other and the look on you is fabulous.
8/23/06 10:40 AM
mm said...
The two of you look beautiful.
6/14/11 3:13 AM
pegsewer said...
This is great---so YOU!
6/14/11 7:45 AM
DorothyK said...
You certainly made the most of that fabric and looked "pretty in pink." It was the perfect pattern. Looking back at the original fabric, I had forgotten how cool that was. Nice to see Barbara too.
6/14/11 9:28 AM
sfshaza said...
That is really pretty, Ann! I also like it open and flowing.
6/14/11 9:55 AM
Christas said...
You look very pretty in pink! I love both versions of this pattern. Very nice sewing and great review. Thanks!
6/14/11 10:27 AM
Patti B said...
Ann, once again you have hit it out of the park. Nice! You both look so nice.
6/14/11 11:05 AM
sew2little said...
You and Barbara look beautiful! (I too would be in trouble if I HAD to find something pink in my wardrobe or stash!)
6/14/11 1:00 PM
Barbara V said...
Most gorgeous piece and color of linen jacquard! The color and style are so elegant on you. Aside - Ladies were tripping over themselves to look at Ann's flowing garment and were amazed to learn that she had sewn it.....fun to watch and hear all the fuss.
6/14/11 2:13 PM
Terri A said...
Oh wow! Love this review!
6/16/11 2:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6696
photo
Review by littlepink... on 1/17/14
Read Review

McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6613
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us