Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Ikina Jacket (Ikina Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1377 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:PaulaM
photo
Friend of PR
About PaulaMstar
MD USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/06 10:37 PM
Last Updated:10/22/08 9:44 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mamacita said...
This is a lovely and unique jacket. Kudos to you!
8/21/06 10:55 PM
snaffles said...
Your jacket is beautiful. And I think you're right about the slimming effect. My eyes didn't even see the side panels at first glance. I like the length also. And I'd love to see the complete outfit.
8/21/06 10:58 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Excellent idea for the side panels! That darker/lighter contrast really works here. Gorgeous fabric combos...thanks for sharing this!
8/21/06 11:24 PM
Debra H said...
This jacket should be on the Sewing Workshop website in their gallery. Very lovely use of fabrics.
8/21/06 11:29 PM
Ann Smith said...
Very cool. I love the fabrics and I agree that the eye is drawn in. I didn't even notice the outer contrast panels at first.
8/22/06 1:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Paula, I think I met you at the ASG National Conference in DC. As soon as I saw this review and fabric, I realized I had seen it before, as I set next to you for breakfast and commented favorably on your outfit. I truly love the mix of fabric. I then went and bought the pattern that day.
8/22/06 5:33 AM
Lhan said...
Looks great! I have dithered about getting this pattern, but you have me almost convinced.
8/22/06 5:34 AM
PaulaM said...
Snaffles, the complete outfit is shown in the next picture beside the one posted with a link. However, the pants look a little strange on Wooden Wanda. DebraH, thanks for suggesting the pic being on SW's Web site. I'll send it to them. LindaL, yep, that was me at the ASG Convention. I don't know about you, but I had tons of fun at the convention!
8/22/06 8:07 AM
appleC said...
Wow! I love the fabric combination. I just browsed your Yahoo album and think you are very good in coordinating colors and fabrics. That Wooden Wanda is so cute; is it cumtom made or can I buy something like that somewhere? Thanks.
8/22/06 8:26 AM
Sharon M said...
Oooo, I love your jacket.
8/22/06 10:05 AM
sew2little said...
What a beautiful jacket--and kudos to your sister in law for choosing such a great fabric combo!
8/22/06 3:17 PM
jewelea said...
A creative use of pattern and color.
8/22/06 11:48 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Super-great looking. I love what you've done with this pattern: I certainly agree that it is a slimming look the way you've put it together. Beautiful top.
8/23/06 10:43 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Wonderful choice of fabrics. Love that jacket!
8/23/06 3:54 PM
PaulaM said...
AppleC, Wooden Wanda is one of two that were cut from a sheet of plywood. The person who owns her twin didn't need two, so she sold me Wanda. Unfortunately I don't have the pattern or the name of who made her.
8/24/06 7:44 AM
Modiste Madness said...
This is the best one I have seen. The combination of fabrics, placement, and construction were perfect.
8/24/06 11:21 AM
marthamyers said...
Your review was so helpful. Would you mind posting the picture again? I'd love to see it.
10/21/08 11:33 AM
LindsayT said...
Great fabric combinations!
10/22/08 11:47 AM
Sewingmi said...
What a pretty jacket!
10/22/08 6:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-130
photo
Review by MissCelie on 12/28/12
Read Review

Butterick 5768 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5768 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4440 Dress
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 7/8/04
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us