SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Ikina Jacket (Ikina Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1395 times 
Reviewed by:PaulaM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PaulaMstar
MD USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/06 10:37 PM
Last Updated:10/22/08 9:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewingmi said...
What a pretty jacket!
10/22/08 6:59 PM
LindsayT said...
Great fabric combinations!
10/22/08 11:47 AM
marthamyers said...
Your review was so helpful. Would you mind posting the picture again? I'd love to see it.
10/21/08 11:33 AM
Modiste Madness said...
This is the best one I have seen. The combination of fabrics, placement, and construction were perfect.
8/24/06 11:21 AM
PaulaM said...
AppleC, Wooden Wanda is one of two that were cut from a sheet of plywood. The person who owns her twin didn't need two, so she sold me Wanda. Unfortunately I don't have the pattern or the name of who made her.
8/24/06 7:44 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Wonderful choice of fabrics. Love that jacket!
8/23/06 3:54 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Super-great looking. I love what you've done with this pattern: I certainly agree that it is a slimming look the way you've put it together. Beautiful top.
8/23/06 10:43 AM
jewelea said...
A creative use of pattern and color.
8/22/06 11:48 PM
sew2little said...
What a beautiful jacket--and kudos to your sister in law for choosing such a great fabric combo!
8/22/06 3:17 PM
Sharon M said...
Oooo, I love your jacket.
8/22/06 10:05 AM
appleC said...
Wow! I love the fabric combination. I just browsed your Yahoo album and think you are very good in coordinating colors and fabrics. That Wooden Wanda is so cute; is it cumtom made or can I buy something like that somewhere? Thanks.
8/22/06 8:26 AM
PaulaM said...
Snaffles, the complete outfit is shown in the next picture beside the one posted with a link. However, the pants look a little strange on Wooden Wanda. DebraH, thanks for suggesting the pic being on SW's Web site. I'll send it to them. LindaL, yep, that was me at the ASG Convention. I don't know about you, but I had tons of fun at the convention!
8/22/06 8:07 AM
Lhan said...
Looks great! I have dithered about getting this pattern, but you have me almost convinced.
8/22/06 5:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Paula, I think I met you at the ASG National Conference in DC. As soon as I saw this review and fabric, I realized I had seen it before, as I set next to you for breakfast and commented favorably on your outfit. I truly love the mix of fabric. I then went and bought the pattern that day.
8/22/06 5:33 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very cool. I love the fabrics and I agree that the eye is drawn in. I didn't even notice the outer contrast panels at first.
8/22/06 1:40 AM
Debra H said...
This jacket should be on the Sewing Workshop website in their gallery. Very lovely use of fabrics.
8/21/06 11:29 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Excellent idea for the side panels! That darker/lighter contrast really works here. Gorgeous fabric combos...thanks for sharing this!
8/21/06 11:24 PM
snaffles said...
Your jacket is beautiful. And I think you're right about the slimming effect. My eyes didn't even see the side panels at first glance. I like the length also. And I'd love to see the complete outfit.
8/21/06 10:58 PM
mamacita said...
This is a lovely and unique jacket. Kudos to you!
8/21/06 10:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

No Pattern Used 0000

photo
by: fourkid

Review
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now