Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8100 (Women's Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1282 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:jessika
photo
About jessikastar
CA USA
Member since: 4/4/06
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/06 11:34 PM
Last Updated:8/21/06 11:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $6.71  List Price: $8.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Nice looking top, sorry the pattern didn't work for you. Sounds like a wonderful charity to help.
8/22/06 8:26 AM
jbrewer said...
You did a good thing! I'm sure someone at the Career Closet will love it.
8/22/06 8:35 AM
OP Gal said...
Kudos for your charity sewing. Thanks for the review. I've been considering sewing this, but now I'm not so sure.
8/22/06 10:27 AM
slanden99 said...
Pretty tunic. I like the lace. did you ease in the sleeve? Perhaps the problem was just easing in the sleeve cap. Is this what happened?
8/22/06 10:33 AM
jessika said...
Yes I eased in the sleeve per the pattern directions. Should I not have?
8/22/06 11:47 AM
*Jessica* said...
i like the fabric :) great job!
10/8/06 1:26 PM
Aless said...
I am in the process of putting this top together, and think that I can shed some light on the sleeve problem. I believe that the sleeves have been notched incorrectly- i.e. the front should be the back on the sleeve pattern piece. Fold the sleeve in half lengthwise after sewing the underarm sleeve.You'll see that the fullest part of the top of the sleeve is marked as being the front when, in fact, it should be at the back (there is -usually-more bulk behind our shoulder than in front of it). So, mark notches on both front and back of bodice pieces at equal distances from the side seam(use the incorrectly marked Front That Should Be The Back Notch to mark the other notch on the bodice armholes). The sleeve cap has too much ease. On my size(22), it needs ,by my trial and error method,1.5 cms removed at the shoulder seam point. After easing the sleeve cap as per instructions, slide the top of the sleeve cap up/above the bodice shoulder seam by 1.5 cms. Pin temporarily in place and measure the 1.5 cm seam allowance on the bodice section. Pin sleeve to bodice at this seam allowance point. Thus there will be 1.5 cms of sleeve cap sticking up beyond the garment shoulder seam. Gradually taper this unwanted eased fabric back towards the bodice notches(near the side seam) till the seam allowances once again are equal ,pinning at the s/a as you go. I hope that this helps someone else who likes the look of this pattern but is wary of it. Once I did the above, the sleeve went in beautifully.
2/2/09 1:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Sew Liberated 117
photo
Review by VintageTem... on 10/15/13
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by withoutsea... on 3/23/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us