SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5199 (Variety of 6 skirts)

4 more reviews
Viewed 703 times 
Reviewed by:jen_e
photo

 
 
About jen_estar
OH USA
Member since: 5/19/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/06 12:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
Both of your skirts came out great! I love the scalloped hem - that looks like it would be tricky to sew as cleanly as you have.
8/22/06 1:15 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute skirts.
8/22/06 1:22 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Very cute - the black outfit is stunning!
8/22/06 2:55 PM
AliceB said...
Lovely skirts, congratulations!
8/22/06 5:36 PM
CarlaDian said...
jen_e, Your scalloped skirt and the halter outfit are so cute. I am a little curious about your dress form. It looks custom made. Did you make it? And, if you did, how did you do that?
8/22/06 7:45 PM
jen_e said...
Thanks for the nice comments! Raggrack- yes I made my dressform. It's a "duct tape double." It's a custom form made of duct tape and is the exact duplicate of my body. I couldn't live without it, it's helped me so much. You can find more information on the internet or by searching the boards.
8/23/06 11:32 AM
Star said...
Very nice...do you have instructions on how to do the scalloped edge hem?
8/23/06 12:26 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Another adorable skirt, great job!
8/23/06 1:23 PM
ACB said...
Beautiful!
8/23/06 5:21 PM
jen_e said...
Star: the scallop hem is very easy, basically you start with a regular hem, then make another strip of fabric and trace your scallop pattern on it. Pin this to the skirt hem with right sides together, sew along scallop lines, trim, and turn to inside.
8/24/06 9:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 5806

photo
by: sew silly

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now