SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Patrones Magazine> #235 no. 68 (jacket Alba Conde)

Viewed 757 times 
Reviewed by:Tini
photo

 
 
About Tinistarstarstar
GERMANY
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/06 2:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Tini I agree with Mlle Laura. I am working right now on my first patrones pattern. I use Burda 28 on top and used Patrones 40 for my shoulders. Even though my top is not finished yet, I checked the shoulder fit and it is perfect. Your jacket is just too big .
8/26/06 10:17 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I kind of like the asymmetry :-). But I think what's wrong with this jacket isn't so much the fit as the fact that the photo shows a crisp fabric and you're using a very soft one. No amount of interfacing is going to make fleece crisp :-). And maybe you could take in the shoulders just a bit without taking everything apart? If you rip out just the top of the sleeve seam, from the armhole notch, that might work, in my exprience there is usually enough ease in sleeves that you can just sew it back on (especially in such soft stretchy fabric). You should not only taper at least 1cm off the tip of the shoulder horizontally, but you probably should take a wedge off the shoulder seams vertically too, removing at least 1cm from the shoulder in the other direction tapering to nothing at the neck. Those patterns with big obvious shoulder pads absolutely need them unless you do major restructuring, you still might have to add a small one :-). . Hope you get something you feel better in!
8/26/06 3:03 AM
patsijean said...
The color is great on you, but you are correct about the fit. It is a bit screwy. You do have a nice, snuggely jacket to wear at home on cold winter nights so it is not a total waste.
8/26/06 0:48 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Tini, I just loved your review, love your humorous way of writing :) ...and your jacket indeed looks cozy and comfy. My shoulders are rather wide but still a 44 would be way too big. At least you learnt alot !
8/26/06 0:05 AM
OP Gal said...
I can see why you were attracted to this pattern--it's really striking in the Patrones photograph. Too bad it didn't work out for you. At least you helped us all learn something.
8/25/06 8:13 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Tini, I've done that before, and I've wanted to kick myself. Well, to bring in the shoulder, you could always just make a flange or tuck at the shoulder seam (check out MaryBeth's discussion of it to see what I mean). That might help too. -Ann
8/25/06 7:48 PM
Mlle Laura said...
Tini, I'm sorry it didn't work for you, but as your conclusion points out, we can learn so much from each project - successful or not. A patrones size 40 is equivalent to a Burda size 38 in the bust and I think you could probably use a size 40 (I saw in another of your reviews that you used a size 38 with Burda). Luckily size 40 is printed on the pattern sheet, so no grading! I always go by my bust measurement (high bust as I need an FBA) to get a good fit in the chest and shoulders, and I have found it works. I have made plenty of wadder muslins from Patrones, but as there are so many designs in each mag I don't feel guilty and just move on to the next one!
8/25/06 5:56 PM
sherry pete said...
I see why the pattern caught your eye - its really a striking look. Could you do some side-seam alterations or even add a princess seam (if that is what you call a vertical seams across bust and back)? The color and embroidery are fun! ! I just PR searched princess seams and found tip/technique "Grading using princess seams" by slanden99 --just what I was thinking...
8/25/06 5:24 PM
Nancywin said...
the pattern may be too big for you, but I can see that you did some very nice work on it. When you look at the model, it looks wide in the shoulders on her too. If you use your idea about wearing the jacket around the house, you can sit like she is and it will look just perfectly!
8/25/06 5:02 PM
touran said...
Tini - I've had similar problems with sizing in Patrones. I was using a 48 for tops and the shoulders are just too wide. Even as the rest is about right. Sorry about all the work you spent on this, but now you know about the sizing and the look of this style on you. I'd say you had a success!!
8/25/06 3:51 PM
dbsewer said...
I agree that a size smaller would work well. You also seem to be tiny and maybe this style is too big and overwhelming for you. But you did a nice job and it's a pretty color on you.
8/25/06 3:32 PM
bunz said...
I'm glad you have a sense of humor about it, anyway!!:-)
8/25/06 2:57 PM
Carina said...
I'm sorry that you had so much trouble, but at least you learnt something new... and so did we.
8/25/06 2:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

No Pattern Used 000

photo
by: DonnaH

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

More Info