Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Patrones Magazine: #235 no. 68 (jacket Alba Conde) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 757 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Tini
photo
About Tinistarstarstar
GERMANY
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/06 2:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carina said...
I'm sorry that you had so much trouble, but at least you learnt something new... and so did we.
8/25/06 2:36 PM
bunz said...
I'm glad you have a sense of humor about it, anyway!!:-)
8/25/06 2:57 PM
dbsewer said...
I agree that a size smaller would work well. You also seem to be tiny and maybe this style is too big and overwhelming for you. But you did a nice job and it's a pretty color on you.
8/25/06 3:32 PM
touran said...
Tini - I've had similar problems with sizing in Patrones. I was using a 48 for tops and the shoulders are just too wide. Even as the rest is about right. Sorry about all the work you spent on this, but now you know about the sizing and the look of this style on you. I'd say you had a success!!
8/25/06 3:51 PM
Nancywin said...
the pattern may be too big for you, but I can see that you did some very nice work on it. When you look at the model, it looks wide in the shoulders on her too. If you use your idea about wearing the jacket around the house, you can sit like she is and it will look just perfectly!
8/25/06 5:02 PM
sherry pete said...
I see why the pattern caught your eye - its really a striking look. Could you do some side-seam alterations or even add a princess seam (if that is what you call a vertical seams across bust and back)? The color and embroidery are fun! ! I just PR searched princess seams and found tip/technique "Grading using princess seams" by slanden99 --just what I was thinking...
8/25/06 5:24 PM
Mlle Laura said...
Tini, I'm sorry it didn't work for you, but as your conclusion points out, we can learn so much from each project - successful or not. A patrones size 40 is equivalent to a Burda size 38 in the bust and I think you could probably use a size 40 (I saw in another of your reviews that you used a size 38 with Burda). Luckily size 40 is printed on the pattern sheet, so no grading! I always go by my bust measurement (high bust as I need an FBA) to get a good fit in the chest and shoulders, and I have found it works. I have made plenty of wadder muslins from Patrones, but as there are so many designs in each mag I don't feel guilty and just move on to the next one!
8/25/06 5:56 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Tini, I've done that before, and I've wanted to kick myself. Well, to bring in the shoulder, you could always just make a flange or tuck at the shoulder seam (check out MaryBeth's discussion of it to see what I mean). That might help too. -Ann
8/25/06 7:48 PM
OP Gal said...
I can see why you were attracted to this pattern--it's really striking in the Patrones photograph. Too bad it didn't work out for you. At least you helped us all learn something.
8/25/06 8:13 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Tini, I just loved your review, love your humorous way of writing :) ...and your jacket indeed looks cozy and comfy. My shoulders are rather wide but still a 44 would be way too big. At least you learnt alot !
8/26/06 0:05 AM
patsijean said...
The color is great on you, but you are correct about the fit. It is a bit screwy. You do have a nice, snuggely jacket to wear at home on cold winter nights so it is not a total waste.
8/26/06 0:48 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I kind of like the asymmetry :-). But I think what's wrong with this jacket isn't so much the fit as the fact that the photo shows a crisp fabric and you're using a very soft one. No amount of interfacing is going to make fleece crisp :-). And maybe you could take in the shoulders just a bit without taking everything apart? If you rip out just the top of the sleeve seam, from the armhole notch, that might work, in my exprience there is usually enough ease in sleeves that you can just sew it back on (especially in such soft stretchy fabric). You should not only taper at least 1cm off the tip of the shoulder horizontally, but you probably should take a wedge off the shoulder seams vertically too, removing at least 1cm from the shoulder in the other direction tapering to nothing at the neck. Those patterns with big obvious shoulder pads absolutely need them unless you do major restructuring, you still might have to add a small one :-). . Hope you get something you feel better in!
8/26/06 3:03 AM
Lisette said...
Tini I agree with Mlle Laura. I am working right now on my first patrones pattern. I use Burda 28 on top and used Patrones 40 for my shoulders. Even though my top is not finished yet, I checked the shoulder fit and it is perfect. Your jacket is just too big .
8/26/06 10:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6241
photo
Review by Jade Butte... on 7/10/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4600
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 3/20/05
Read Review

McCalls 5871 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5871 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us