SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7919 (Vintage Vogue blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 996 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynD
photo

 
 
About CarolynDstar
NJ USA
Member since: 12/31/05
Reviews: 23 (patterns: 22)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/06 11:22 PM
Last Updated:8/25/06 11:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said... (8/26/06 12:39 PM) Reply
Interesting pattern and it looks like you did a nice job on construction. It's harder to alter something with fewer pattern pieces like this blouse than something with more.
Erica B. said... (8/26/06 8:56 AM) Reply
its a very cute top.
carolynw said... (8/26/06 8:51 AM) Reply
It looks so nice - too bad it isn't a good fit but am sure as you say it will look cute with jeans - how about belting it over a long straight skirt?
OP Gal said... (8/26/06 7:52 AM) Reply
Your shirt certainly looks pretty. Too bad it doesn't fit well. I think the key is to select a size that fits the upper bust measurement and then make any adjustments from there. Because if it doesn't fit through the upper chest, it isn't going to look good. You're not alone, Carolyn, we all learn something every time we sew a garment. That's what is so great about sewing, every garment is different and there's aways a new challenge.
SBanks said... (8/26/06 5:58 AM) Reply
Your shirt is cute! It's nice to see others sewing vintage. I think your review is accurate and a lot of us who sew vintage do make changes in construction based on ease of construction or personal preference. I know it keeps me fresh and learning something new.
bunz said... (8/26/06 4:31 AM) Reply
If you don't already have David Coffin's book on shirtmaking, I highly recommend it.
fuzzygalore said... (8/26/06 2:52 AM) Reply
I used to laothe back neck facings, which always flopped out no matter how much understitching I did. Then I read that RTW facings are much deeper - 6-8", and started cutting mine that way too. What a difference - the weight (and probably friction) of the extra fabric keeps them totally in place.
ladybegood said... (8/25/06 11:35 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I always like to hear about vintage patterns. You should check out the Threads article on grading from June/July 2002. Its very informative.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Other My Childhood Treasures

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Pattern Details