SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7919 (Vintage Vogue blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 996 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynD
photo

 
 
About CarolynDstar
NJ USA
Member since: 12/31/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/06 11:22 PM
Last Updated:8/25/06 11:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the review. I always like to hear about vintage patterns. You should check out the Threads article on grading from June/July 2002. Its very informative.
8/25/06 11:35 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I used to laothe back neck facings, which always flopped out no matter how much understitching I did. Then I read that RTW facings are much deeper - 6-8", and started cutting mine that way too. What a difference - the weight (and probably friction) of the extra fabric keeps them totally in place.
8/26/06 2:52 AM
bunz said...
If you don't already have David Coffin's book on shirtmaking, I highly recommend it.
8/26/06 4:31 AM
SBanks said...
Your shirt is cute! It's nice to see others sewing vintage. I think your review is accurate and a lot of us who sew vintage do make changes in construction based on ease of construction or personal preference. I know it keeps me fresh and learning something new.
8/26/06 5:58 AM
OP Gal said...
Your shirt certainly looks pretty. Too bad it doesn't fit well. I think the key is to select a size that fits the upper bust measurement and then make any adjustments from there. Because if it doesn't fit through the upper chest, it isn't going to look good. You're not alone, Carolyn, we all learn something every time we sew a garment. That's what is so great about sewing, every garment is different and there's aways a new challenge.
8/26/06 7:52 AM
carolynw said...
It looks so nice - too bad it isn't a good fit but am sure as you say it will look cute with jeans - how about belting it over a long straight skirt?
8/26/06 8:51 AM
Erica B. said...
its a very cute top.
8/26/06 8:56 AM
drsue said...
Interesting pattern and it looks like you did a nice job on construction. It's harder to alter something with fewer pattern pieces like this blouse than something with more.
8/26/06 12:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 9891

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5815

photo
by: Nancy Anne

Review