SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3378 (Twist Top)

42 more reviews
Viewed 1258 times 
Reviewed by:alrscout
photo

 
 
About alrscout
RI USA
Member since: 8/19/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/06 1:01 PM
Last Updated:8/27/06 1:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SweetT said...
Great looking top and great review.
8/27/06 1:31 PM
AngieC said...
I think your effort paid off big time! I love your top and the fabric! I would suggest either wearing your top out in the sun or use self tanner to blend your low-cut with some color~ :) Thanks for sharing your detailed review.
8/27/06 1:34 PM
Linda F said...
Where did you buy your fabric, in Rochester? Do we both live in the same town. I made a knit top out of that fabric that now sits at the bottom of the drawer - unwearable. I used the wrong pattern obviously! Great top!
8/27/06 1:43 PM
Seaspur said...
Great review, very pretty t-shirt. I really like it in the print.
8/27/06 2:13 PM
runnerchicki said...
Your top looks great. Thanks for the tip on sewing higher than the dot. I made this top a few weeks ago, but I cannot wear it to work because of the *reveal* factor. I think it's worth trying again with this tip.
8/27/06 2:28 PM
AliceB said...
Great top for someone so new to garment sewing. To off set the beige you could put a coordinating camisole under to bring some color closer to your face. :) Says, she of "I'm too hot to layer clothes," but it will help with the coloring maybe a rosy or goldie tone.
8/27/06 2:43 PM
mamacita said...
I have this pattern for my dds and you can absolutely make it out of a stretch velour for the holidays. You did a great job! I like the idea of the double needle on the front seam....I will try that on my next one....good tip!
8/27/06 2:51 PM
Em's Summer said...
That's a great top! Thanks for this review!
8/28/06 0:29 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful top! It looks wonderful on you.
8/28/06 4:36 AM
alrscout said...
Thanks for the comments and suggestions. time2sew: I bought this fabric at ThreadNeedle Fabrics in Essex, Vermont.
9/1/06 7:57 PM
PattyU said...
Thanks for the review. You build sounds similar to mine. I'm 5'8 with a long torso also. I'm not large busted either. I also appreciate your construction tips.
11/8/06 10:13 AM
Nancy K said...
You did a terrific job on this top. Looks great on you. I just made this with a 3/4 sleeve in a cotton knit and am thinking of making it in some stretch velvet in my stash. I think that if it is really drapey it will work. But, it is not a beginner fabric. It is harder to work on than your cotton knit.
11/28/06 11:21 PM
Big Dog said...
I think it would look great in a stretch velvet, velour or panne type fabric for the holidays
7/30/07 10:01 PM
boppingbeth said...
Beautiful job! It looks great. Stretch velvet might be a challenge for this top--check carefully to see if the wrong side shows on the top you did make, because it will show with stretch velvet (which has dramatically different front and back). Lovely job, however.
1/26/08 5:41 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute top. It is good to know that it looks so cute without the cleavage. I have a similar build and your tips on the length were helpful.
3/18/08 10:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104B

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now