Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3378 (Twist Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1258 times 42 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:alrscout
photo
About alrscout
RI USA
Member since: 8/19/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/06 1:01 PM
Last Updated:8/27/06 1:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SweetT said...
Great looking top and great review.
8/27/06 1:31 PM
AngieC said...
I think your effort paid off big time! I love your top and the fabric! I would suggest either wearing your top out in the sun or use self tanner to blend your low-cut with some color~ :) Thanks for sharing your detailed review.
8/27/06 1:34 PM
Linda F said...
Where did you buy your fabric, in Rochester? Do we both live in the same town. I made a knit top out of that fabric that now sits at the bottom of the drawer - unwearable. I used the wrong pattern obviously! Great top!
8/27/06 1:43 PM
Seaspur said...
Great review, very pretty t-shirt. I really like it in the print.
8/27/06 2:13 PM
runnerchicki said...
Your top looks great. Thanks for the tip on sewing higher than the dot. I made this top a few weeks ago, but I cannot wear it to work because of the *reveal* factor. I think it's worth trying again with this tip.
8/27/06 2:28 PM
AliceB said...
Great top for someone so new to garment sewing. To off set the beige you could put a coordinating camisole under to bring some color closer to your face. :) Says, she of "I'm too hot to layer clothes," but it will help with the coloring maybe a rosy or goldie tone.
8/27/06 2:43 PM
mamacita said...
I have this pattern for my dds and you can absolutely make it out of a stretch velour for the holidays. You did a great job! I like the idea of the double needle on the front seam....I will try that on my next one....good tip!
8/27/06 2:51 PM
Em's Summer said...
That's a great top! Thanks for this review!
8/28/06 0:29 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful top! It looks wonderful on you.
8/28/06 4:36 AM
alrscout said...
Thanks for the comments and suggestions. time2sew: I bought this fabric at ThreadNeedle Fabrics in Essex, Vermont.
9/1/06 7:57 PM
PattyU said...
Thanks for the review. You build sounds similar to mine. I'm 5'8 with a long torso also. I'm not large busted either. I also appreciate your construction tips.
11/8/06 10:13 AM
Nancy K said...
You did a terrific job on this top. Looks great on you. I just made this with a 3/4 sleeve in a cotton knit and am thinking of making it in some stretch velvet in my stash. I think that if it is really drapey it will work. But, it is not a beginner fabric. It is harder to work on than your cotton knit.
11/28/06 11:21 PM
Big Dog said...
I think it would look great in a stretch velvet, velour or panne type fabric for the holidays
7/30/07 10:01 PM
boppingbeth said...
Beautiful job! It looks great. Stretch velvet might be a challenge for this top--check carefully to see if the wrong side shows on the top you did make, because it will show with stretch velvet (which has dramatically different front and back). Lovely job, however.
1/26/08 5:41 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute top. It is good to know that it looks so cute without the cleavage. I have a similar build and your tips on the length were helpful.
3/18/08 10:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-101
photo
Review by tigergirl on 11/2/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by Gelbean on 7/6/08
Read Review

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1920 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1920 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 20-22 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 20-22 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us