SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5094 (Misses Dresses)

29 more reviews
Viewed 1048 times 
Reviewed by:raggedy
photo

 
 
About raggedy
CA
Member since: 4/24/06
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/06 1:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
Very pretty on you!
8/30/06 8:38 AM
Jane S said...
Lovely dress, looks terrific on you, very vintage, boutique like. Congrats on tackling a challenge successfully.
8/30/06 8:32 AM
OP Gal said...
Pretty dress, and you've got the figure to wear it. That's a pretty complex project for a beginner. Kudos to you.
8/30/06 7:00 AM
patsijean said...
You are being very hard on yourself. The dress is well done and it looks great on you.
8/30/06 1:38 AM
carolynw said...
Your dress is very lovely - looks really good on you and the material is so pretty. When you are sewing dresses/linings that are going to be washed it would be a good idea to wash before sewing - that way you will avoid any shrinking, etc. I really hope you will get to wear this dress - it's too cute to just hang in a closet!!
8/29/06 8:33 AM
Nancywin said...
Your dress turned out very nicely, and it sounds like it was fairly complicated as well. Good tip on turning the straps - I'll definitely keep that one in mind!
8/29/06 2:40 AM
CarolynD said...
Good job , I am especially impressed that this is one of your first projects. It is cute! Your choice of fabric is cute too. I started with just a simple handbag last year about this time after not sewing-like you, just mending and hemming-for 25 years. I have gotten discouraged a few times and so I decided at first to sew the "very easy" patterns like wrap skirts, shifts, simple knit tops (to me they were so much easier than regular complicated patterns), simple bags and tops and the like. Also I remember someone recommended sewing a lot of children's clothes for practice, especially sleepwear. There have been such helpful people here, just browsing around I have learned so much and the correct size, alterations, technique, fabric, etc. Congrats on a nice sundress, it is too bad the area you live is cooler than sundress weather. I bet that dress would be very cute with a bolero or a cardigan, maybe you could get some wear out of it.
8/29/06 1:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now