Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4789 (Maggy London Twist Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 3215 times 42 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/06 9:01 AM
Last Updated:7/23/07 10:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
So very cute. Happy 30-hmmm-th birthday!!
8/30/06 9:10 AM
clgangi said...
Happy birthday! The dress is fabulous! Thanks for the great review and the detailed information on the alterations you made.
8/30/06 9:14 AM
CarolynD said...
Very cute, it looks so right on your model sized figure. Just adorable. You did such a good job with the modifications.
8/30/06 9:21 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks for an excellent review, the modified dress looks great. I've been trying to figure out how to get rid of the excess fabric below the twist - I'll try your method - very helpful.
8/30/06 10:02 AM
Sandil said...
I did this top, and I'm a DD bust size, and I too had the same bulk problem with excess fabric under the rib cage. I think it's a design booboo and nothing to do with a SBA. I think the original pattern would make a great maternity dress or top. Your dress and top look very cute!! It almost makes me want to try again but altering the pattern first! Great job!
8/30/06 10:18 AM
Seaspur said...
I saw this dress made up at hte fabric store the other day. Your version is much prettier. Great review!
8/30/06 10:19 AM
pterion said...
I've been working on this pattern too with mediocre results but had not yet tackled reducing the bulkage under the bustline. Your review and photos are so helpful, especially since I'm an A cup too! Love your top and the dress is darling.
8/30/06 10:25 AM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very cute!!! Happy Bday! Love to see your process, very helpful. FWIW, your finished pattern piece look a LOT like the simplicity twisttop one. Might be easier for IBTC members to just get that one and lengthen to dress..? Love the fabric choice too!
8/30/06 10:36 AM
rosephreak said...
That looks darling on you. Happy Birthday! Your review was very helpful. Thank you for the detailed pictures and information. I'd been considering this pattern.
8/30/06 11:55 AM
Em's Summer said...
Happy Birthday! The dress is really cute. You did a great job altering the pattern to fit and you picked pretty fabric! Great review!
8/30/06 12:06 PM
kirianth said...
Wow, your work really paid off! I think you've pulled a nice, subtle twist out of that horrible first muslin. I'll definitely be looking back on your review for the SBA advice. It looks really great in the end... which leaves me hope, as I think we've similar figures. Happy birthday!
8/30/06 12:20 PM
maryfrana said...
Thank you, thank you for this incredible review. I made this top and it was too large, too baggy and had that mysterious extra bulge in the front. Now I think I can fix it. Your dress is wonderful.
8/30/06 12:40 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the compliments! I am excited about wearing this dress tomorrow (even though I'll be moving offices!). I can't believe they let this pattern out of the factory if it doesn't work for anyone!!!! I assumed the underbust bagginess was due to my small bust, but obviously not. Evatgirl, so funny that the altered pattern ends up being the Simplicity version! I could have saved myself some trouble. `-)
8/30/06 12:54 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Nicegirl, and Evatgirl, I have this pattern too. When everyone was raving (or atleast when I READ all the rave review for twist tops), this was the only pattern I could find. I've since also bought the simplilcity pattern -- I assume you're talking about the one with the gathered neckline, and wrap top patterns too?) I too have a small bust, so perhaps I should just return THIS pattern?
8/30/06 3:45 PM
SBanks said...
Wow! I think your dress is great. Congrats for sticking with it through all the fit issues, you look great in it.
8/30/06 3:50 PM
Physics Girl said...
Another dress in the "happy" fabrics you always seem to have! Excellent review. Thanks from another SBA'er in the 30-something group. I've yet to try a twist-top.
8/30/06 7:58 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress and wonderful job on the fit. Happy Birthday!
8/30/06 8:51 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Happy Birthday, probably a day late. Dress and top with all of your adjustments look great!
8/31/06 5:12 AM
PKPudlin said...
Happy (belated) Birthday - nice job and helpful review!
8/31/06 9:11 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Happy Birthday Nice Girl!! As always, beautiful results and beautifully photographed!! SO glad you wrote this review. I admire your stick-to-itiveness! Carla
8/31/06 9:28 AM
mrspenguin said...
Wow! Pretty significant bust alterations. I love the pattern and the look...thanks for doing the hard work for me! Btw, the color is stunning on you. :-)
8/31/06 10:49 AM
PattyU said...
This is a great review. Thanks so much!! Your hard work paid off. I especially like your dress.
8/31/06 11:26 AM
jnamcd said...
Happy Birthday! As always, you have written a wonderful review! Thank you for all the photos! I love the fabric for this dress, too--you look great in it!
8/31/06 5:14 PM
LonestarLady said...
I also made this pattern "out of the envelope" and hated it. Your pattern revisions turned this into a gorgeous dress with a gorgeous fit.
9/2/06 9:46 AM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Very cute dress, and happy birthday!
9/20/06 3:47 PM
2BSewing said...
You have done a great job with the dress and top. I have made the top. Now, considering making a second and placing the back on the fold and rounding out the neck. Thanks for a great review and helpful hints. :)
11/27/06 10:47 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great dress! You look fab in it :) !!
1/8/07 8:03 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Your hard work paid off! It fits as beautifully as all your creations. It looks great on you.
2/2/07 9:32 AM
ColleenS said...
Your dress looks beautiful
2/3/07 4:31 AM
LiZ said...
Fabulous dress, I have this pattern, I must get it sewn up.
2/3/07 7:31 PM
Lisaten said...
Lovely dress
2/3/07 10:12 PM
MissCelie said...
What is this, like one of the 10 things you made this weekend? I have to say the fabric is much cuter made up than I thought it would be. And I LOVE your skirt.
7/24/07 7:46 AM
nicegirl said...
Well, I only made 9 things over the weekend. Heh. The skirt was also one of the weekend projects and will be reviewed soon.
7/24/07 9:46 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I still don't know how you have time to actually go out and wear these great clothes! The dress is so cute. Maybe you can embroider your own Maggy London Label.
7/24/07 11:29 AM
OP Gal said...
Cute twist top. I really like the sleeves. I enjoyed your saga of making it. I'm glad you persevered, it was worth it. Your comment about turning 30 three times is a hoot!
7/24/07 12:24 PM
Mufffet said...
Another great original from you! terrific stuff and looks so good...
7/24/07 1:09 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
LOL about the wadder comment!!! Informative & entertaining review ~ thanks for posting your journey!
7/10/08 9:59 PM
Christine B said...
Just picked up this pattern today, and I just made a note of your review on the pattern envelope so I won't forget about it when I get around to making this one up. Will definitely modify the front per your instructions! I have two twist front RTW dresses - one fits OK, but the other has that twist seam going right across the lower part of my boobs. I'm forever tugging it down. If anyone has any suggestions on how to lower the bust point/seam on this one, please give me a holler. :)
7/12/08 10:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-122 Dress
photo
Review by MissCelie on 2/27/12
Read Review

McCalls 6554 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6554 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4789 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 4789 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4150
photo
Review by Immelu on 8/21/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Pocket Purse
Lily Pocket Purse

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us