SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4110 (Built By Wendy Pants)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1255 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/06 2:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Thanks gals and thank you for the help Twistedangel - you always have lots of great tips and advice, I always appreciate it!
9/4/06 5:24 PM
lmg said...
Loved to read your review! Keep trying with all the great tips on PR. BTW these pants still fit better than many of the RTW pants I see on on the street!
8/30/06 8:56 PM
twistedangel said...
Hi Melissa, It looks like the crotch curve is off for you. I unfornately have a really prominent rear (I'm all butt). Yours is low and round, but no where near as big as mine, relative to my proportions. What you need to is pinch up a dart at the rear (where your extra fabric is), taper that all the way to the hip seam, and pivot it there to close it up. You will wind up with more of an L-shaped curve in the rear crotch. That should eliminate the excess fabric, then you will just have to fiddle with redrawing the curve. Fitting pants is tough, but you will soon learn to identify which curve is going to work for you, and which won't.
8/30/06 7:29 PM
jnamcd said...
Great review! Sorry they didn't turn out as you had hoped--I agree--pants are tough! Your construction and topstitching look great --and a lot of the comments are very helpful. I'm going to use them when I try more pants, too! Have a good time at Disney!
8/30/06 12:32 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thank you all for your helpful input and suggestions. Pants are definitely tricky! I have tried one pair of Burdas (posted the review back in March) and they fit better than these. I will have to look through my Burda WOFs and the pattern catalog and see if I can find a basic pattern I like that I can just expland on. I really need a T&T pants pattern that I can use as my base.
8/30/06 11:47 AM
Mini said...
Melissa, it may be that Simplicity's pants draft just isn't right for you. Have you tried Burda yet? You may have better results, as the fit is quite different. You can run up a test pair in a basic style, using some cheap fabric and leaving out the zippers and pockets, to see if the fit is closer to what you want. You can always borrow whatever pocket or other design details you like from this pattern and add them to your new pattern.
8/30/06 9:54 AM
JuliaS said...
I've tried sewing up a version of these, and it did not work for me either. It is just the Big 4 pants sloper/crotch curve, I think. Burda pants fit most women so much better. I do love the styling of these, though, so my current plan is to use the pockets, etc transplanted onto my soon-to-be-perfected Burda pants.
8/30/06 9:39 AM
mClones said...
Maybe they meant 2 1/2" above the !!! Anyway, when I saw the photo I thought what a great fit! Sorry about those back legs--you look so close to a great fit. You will get there.
8/30/06 8:24 AM
utz said...
These are cute pants. Front seems fine. Not sure this will work for back - but try this, nothing lost. At center back seam pinch up some fabric (half inch, one inch? you choose), pin, then let that dart taper to nothing on the right side seam, similarly let the dart taper to nothing at left side seam. See if this doesn't remove some of the bagginess beneath butt. Looks like this <>. May still need to fiddle with back crotch curve a little. Some people find L shape helps. If center darting works, can do on pattern and try in muslin. Great review!
8/30/06 6:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for the very helpful and useful review. It's good to see reviews of the same pattern for a variety of body types.
8/30/06 5:03 AM
appleC said...
Thank you for the helpful information. I was excited about the patterns but now I think it might not work for me eiher.
8/30/06 5:00 AM
RuthieSews said...
Pants fitting is a difficult art, so don't be discouraged. I too have big butt, small back waist issue (though several sizes larger) so no RTW pants ever fit. I have managed to get looser pants to fit quite well by extending the inseam on the back piece, raising the back waist and taking deeper rear darts (or adding darts if not there).
8/30/06 3:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2013-14

photo
by: quitereaso...

Review
Butterick B5682

photo
by: Nana27

Review
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now