Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4110 (Built By Wendy Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1254 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/06 2:59 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Pants fitting is a difficult art, so don't be discouraged. I too have big butt, small back waist issue (though several sizes larger) so no RTW pants ever fit. I have managed to get looser pants to fit quite well by extending the inseam on the back piece, raising the back waist and taking deeper rear darts (or adding darts if not there).
8/30/06 3:43 AM
appleC said...
Thank you for the helpful information. I was excited about the patterns but now I think it might not work for me eiher.
8/30/06 5:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for the very helpful and useful review. It's good to see reviews of the same pattern for a variety of body types.
8/30/06 5:03 AM
utz said...
These are cute pants. Front seems fine. Not sure this will work for back - but try this, nothing lost. At center back seam pinch up some fabric (half inch, one inch? you choose), pin, then let that dart taper to nothing on the right side seam, similarly let the dart taper to nothing at left side seam. See if this doesn't remove some of the bagginess beneath butt. Looks like this <>. May still need to fiddle with back crotch curve a little. Some people find L shape helps. If center darting works, can do on pattern and try in muslin. Great review!
8/30/06 6:59 AM
mClones said...
Maybe they meant 2 1/2" above the !!! Anyway, when I saw the photo I thought what a great fit! Sorry about those back legs--you look so close to a great fit. You will get there.
8/30/06 8:24 AM
JuliaS said...
I've tried sewing up a version of these, and it did not work for me either. It is just the Big 4 pants sloper/crotch curve, I think. Burda pants fit most women so much better. I do love the styling of these, though, so my current plan is to use the pockets, etc transplanted onto my soon-to-be-perfected Burda pants.
8/30/06 9:39 AM
Mini said...
Melissa, it may be that Simplicity's pants draft just isn't right for you. Have you tried Burda yet? You may have better results, as the fit is quite different. You can run up a test pair in a basic style, using some cheap fabric and leaving out the zippers and pockets, to see if the fit is closer to what you want. You can always borrow whatever pocket or other design details you like from this pattern and add them to your new pattern.
8/30/06 9:54 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thank you all for your helpful input and suggestions. Pants are definitely tricky! I have tried one pair of Burdas (posted the review back in March) and they fit better than these. I will have to look through my Burda WOFs and the pattern catalog and see if I can find a basic pattern I like that I can just expland on. I really need a T&T pants pattern that I can use as my base.
8/30/06 11:47 AM
jnamcd said...
Great review! Sorry they didn't turn out as you had hoped--I agree--pants are tough! Your construction and topstitching look great --and a lot of the comments are very helpful. I'm going to use them when I try more pants, too! Have a good time at Disney!
8/30/06 12:32 PM
twistedangel said...
Hi Melissa, It looks like the crotch curve is off for you. I unfornately have a really prominent rear (I'm all butt). Yours is low and round, but no where near as big as mine, relative to my proportions. What you need to is pinch up a dart at the rear (where your extra fabric is), taper that all the way to the hip seam, and pivot it there to close it up. You will wind up with more of an L-shaped curve in the rear crotch. That should eliminate the excess fabric, then you will just have to fiddle with redrawing the curve. Fitting pants is tough, but you will soon learn to identify which curve is going to work for you, and which won't.
8/30/06 7:29 PM
lmg said...
Loved to read your review! Keep trying with all the great tips on PR. BTW these pants still fit better than many of the RTW pants I see on on the street!
8/30/06 8:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thanks gals and thank you for the help Twistedangel - you always have lots of great tips and advice, I always appreciate it!
9/4/06 5:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

No Pattern Used apron Apron
photo
Review by hongkongsh... on 12/17/07
Read Review

Butterick 5954 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5954 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2724
photo
Review by TheHomeEco... on 8/26/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us