Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7908 (Claire Shaeffer's Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2317 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 48 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/06 7:50 PM
Last Updated:11/5/06 5:18 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous review, Kay. The review with the pictures is almost like a course in tailoring. I especially like the way you molded your undercollar. What kind of fusible hair canvas do you use? Please finish it soon and model it for us.
10/30/06 8:02 PM
Englebert said...
Kay, I *love* this jacket! Thank you for your excellent review!
10/30/06 8:05 PM
maryfrana said...
Wonderful review and this jacket is so stylish. Well worth making. I'm glad I'm not the only one who leaves the buttons forever.
10/30/06 8:41 PM
Laurieo said...
I always love too look at your reviews just to marvel at the beautiful work you do on the sleeves. I've often wondered how you achieved such perfect sleevecaps. Thanks for showing me how. As always, you've done a fantastic job. Thank you for taking the time to show what you did in such detail.
10/30/06 8:49 PM
RobynB said...
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Your jacket is superb, and well worth the time invested. You can't get that sort of result from a rush job! I love the shaping of the jacket. Would love to see a pic of you wearing it when it's finished!
10/30/06 8:59 PM
BeckyC said...
You've made an absolutely gorgeous jacket! The fabric and design lines are wonderful together. Thank you so much for the detailed review. I feel like running out and buying this pattern just to follow your instructions!
10/30/06 9:36 PM
Mermie said...
Beautiful jacket and your review is a tutorial. Wonderful review and great work on the jacket.
10/30/06 9:51 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks Kay for the detailed review with lots of pics. Beautiful work. I have the pattern but I think it won't be made up in a hurry! With the fleece, did you preshrink it? Obviously you don't think it will shrink at the cleaners. I would be scared it would shrink.
10/30/06 9:52 PM
2muchfabric said...
Wow--impressive jacket and such a great detailed review. Your photos are very helpful. Thanks for sharing your experience.
10/30/06 9:56 PM
Deepika said...
Kay, I cant stop looking at the jacket. What beautiful work. Imagine how good you will look and feel when you finally wear it. I wish I could sew jacket as well as yours. Thanks for such a helpful review.
10/30/06 10:46 PM
Karen said...
Thanks for the great review. Very nice jacket. Well done!
10/30/06 10:58 PM
Elona said...
What a great tutorial! It's so nice of you to post many, many photos of the process. And the result is lovely.
10/30/06 11:11 PM
Margie T said...
what a beautiful jacket. It's worth all the effort.
10/30/06 11:17 PM
Liana said...
Kay, what a beautiful jacket, and your review is so helpful! I love to see all the "secrets" you add inside your jackets. Can't wait to see your buttons!
10/30/06 11:40 PM
ChrisK said...
Thank you for this very detailed review and the photos of all the stages, they are very helpful. The jacket is fabulous, you should get it finished now and enjoy wearing it and receiving all the compliments that are bound to follow.
10/31/06 2:17 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Kay as always a very informative and helpful review. Lovely jacket, the fabric has aged to perfection.
10/31/06 5:13 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Kay, thank you for such a wonderful review, particularly showing all the inside details. I use the same fleece in my jackets and I too haven't a clue what to call it. :) Wonderful stuff though.
10/31/06 5:51 AM
MarilynB said...
Thank you so much for such a detailed review. Your jacket is beautiful.
10/31/06 6:51 AM
Nancy K said...
I like this jacket better in the your fabric than the blue Schaeffer used. It is a very chic jacket which isn't really apparent in the catalogue. Just gorgeous. Her patterns are worth buying for her instructions and your review is a great adendum. Its like having a great book. I have a pants pattern from her and used the instructions for Hot Patterns.
10/31/06 8:19 AM
carolynw said...
It may have taken you along time but what an outstanding result - hope you get the little bits finished and wear it soon!!
10/31/06 8:26 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Kay, This was a beautiful thorough review. Wonderful pictorial explanations. This is way beyond what I am able to do. You inspire me. Thanks for the step by step walk through and introduction to the CS patterns. Carla
10/31/06 8:39 AM
jbsew said...
Beautiful and great review
10/31/06 9:05 AM
cathy45 said...
Your work is exquisite. The review so thorough & pics so clear it's like a mini-class.
10/31/06 9:08 AM
christinawo said...
I enjoyed your review. I also just finished this jacket and it took me one year! It's at the cleaners getting a good pressing since I just could make the bright pink herring bone wool behave. I think I should have used a lighter weight fabric. If I make this pattern again, your comment and length changes will help me. I lengthen the jacket but left the bottom the same. I like the way you dealt with the bottom. Thanks! Chris
10/31/06 9:31 AM
Jan B. said...
Fabulous! Seeing all your steps, it's no wonder your work is so exceptional. Great review--thank you for the tutorial.
10/31/06 9:51 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful jacket. Keep going...
10/31/06 10:29 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Lovely, I agree about "the pocket depth not being in the same proportion to the rest of the jacket" Love the reto look
10/31/06 11:58 AM
AnneM said...
I just love this style. I bought the pattern, but I don't know if I'll ever actually make it. Your jacket looks very nice. Thanks for all of the information.
11/1/06 1:00 PM
LBJ said...
Lovely jacket. Thanks for the great review.
11/4/06 3:21 PM
Vonnevo said...
Superb :))) Thank you for a wonderful informative review.
11/4/06 4:11 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Wonderful review. Beautiful jacket. You did great.
11/4/06 8:46 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket, superbly made and so flattering on you.
11/4/06 10:18 PM
PattyU said...
Beautiful jacket. Don't change the buttons. I love the current ones with the fabric. Great review. Thanks.
11/5/06 7:04 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Just gorgeous as are all of your tailoring projects! The interlining may be called craft fleece or batting...sometimes we get needlepunch fleece in but the stuff I have seen is very thick and stiff. Sue
11/5/06 10:18 AM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the photos of your process. Great results with fusibles for all the interior work. I posted about a covered button source a while back at the Sewing Divas blog...Pat does not have a website, very old school.
11/5/06 11:04 AM
lmg said...
Wow. Just gorgeous. Thank you for all the tips and pictures! These are very helpfult for me.
11/5/06 4:04 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful Jacket - and I love the buttons. Thanks for the informative review
11/5/06 10:52 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Wonderfully helpful review. Hope you don't mind if I print this out to help with an upcoming jacket project. I keep looking at this jacket in the catalogue nd would love to make it. Maybe when I have a bit more experience I will. Yours is just stunning.
11/6/06 8:45 AM
KarmenG said...
Kay - this is a fabulous ensemble. You will terrific wearing it. Love the button choice.
11/6/06 9:51 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. (I think that covers it.) I just bought one of the Claire Shaeffer jacket patterns at the Vogue sale and your review has given me hope that it's achievable. Beautiful result - well worth the time you took over it.
11/6/06 10:39 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Ohhhh had to come back at look at your jacket after looking at your PMB skirt you just reviewed. Love the buttons. Speaking of buttons, when I was in Ann Taylor the other day, they had some interesting covered ones . The best way I can thing to describe them is that they were a cover button inside/on top off another covered one. If anyone has any insight into how these are made I'd appreciate it. - TIA! I love the cowl neck blouse underneath, -- did you make it? Pattern?
11/6/06 9:21 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Ohhhh had to come back at look at your jacket after looking at your PMB skirt you just reviewed. I don't think you had the buttons on on your original review -- maybe I'm crazy??? anyway lovely! I love the cowl neck blouse underneath, -- did you make it? Pattern?
11/6/06 9:26 PM
KiwiWendy said...
ohhhhh, your jacket is to die for! Love your review and all the details you've provided.
11/6/06 10:47 PM
SewTwin said...
Is this not an Armani or Yves St Laurent? I marvel at your talent and perserverance! I am sure they wqould love to have you on their teams.This will be difficult to surpass this! Thanks for the great written detail and excellent photos!
11/21/06 3:31 AM
leiden said...
This looks really professional! Beautiful style, beautiful work! When I first saw your picture, I wanted to make the jacket myself, but after reading your review I realised this is way to difficult for me! Which is good and not good at the same time, Thank you!
5/18/07 1:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 6/26/12
Read Review

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by Cosmotis on 10/14/12
Read Review

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us