Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4022 (Misses Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1152 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Melody
photo
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/06 0:37 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Andreahg said...
I think this looks really cute on you! thanks for the review, I just bought this pattern
8/31/06 6:08 AM
Linda F said...
You did a fantastic job on the fit. I would love to see the odd dart you mention to get rid of that extra under the arm. Is there a photo? I am the same way as you, 22 in front and much smaller in the back.
8/31/06 6:39 AM
touran said...
That looks so pretty on you. What a great idea to tape the design lines on the body form.
8/31/06 9:14 AM
ACB said...
I think it looks good and you did an excellent job!
8/31/06 5:31 PM
Steffie said...
Melody - I think that the top actually is a very flattering style for you - at least it appears this way in the photo. I think adding the ribbon around the rest of the neck opening will be a very nice detail. Thank you for sharing all of your alterations.
8/31/06 5:52 PM
patsijean said...
Your top looks beach-comfy and fun to wear. What is impressive is that you are working to improve your draping skills.
9/1/06 1:18 AM
RuthieSews said...
The vertical trim does work well to break up the fullness of your bust visually. Great trick
9/1/06 3:19 AM
PixieCat said...
I think your top looks beautiful and fits perfectly! Love the trim you added.
9/1/06 5:18 AM
OP Gal said...
Cool top. Thanks for the detailed review of the challenges and the changes you made to this pattern. I was particularly interested in the Kaffe Fassett fabric you used. I recently purchased some similar fabric that I fell in love with (in fact, it might be the same fabric in a different color) to make a top. My friend, sister and I decided that it didn't look like a fabric you'd see made up in RTW, so I decided to use it as trim. Now, I'm not so sure, since your top looks so great--and like RTW.
9/1/06 10:08 AM
MaryBeth said...
The vertical trim is "just right". You look great.
9/1/06 10:58 PM
fuzzygalore said...
OK, you're probably right, it's not objectively the best design for you (or me either..). But it's so CUTE :-)! No way you could pass it up, and I agree that vertical trim is just the thing.
9/5/06 2:31 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Wow! Great work altering for a fabulous fit!
9/5/06 9:47 AM
Em's Summer said...
Thanks for this great review!
1/15/07 1:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8379
photo
Review by Dei on 10/5/08
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Wendy VanC on 7/15/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us