SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4022 (Misses Tunic)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1152 times 
Reviewed by:Melody
photo

 
 
About Melodystarstar
MI United States
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/06 0:37 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Andreahg said...
I think this looks really cute on you! thanks for the review, I just bought this pattern
8/31/06 6:08 AM
Linda F said...
You did a fantastic job on the fit. I would love to see the odd dart you mention to get rid of that extra under the arm. Is there a photo? I am the same way as you, 22 in front and much smaller in the back.
8/31/06 6:39 AM
touran said...
That looks so pretty on you. What a great idea to tape the design lines on the body form.
8/31/06 9:14 AM
ACB said...
I think it looks good and you did an excellent job!
8/31/06 5:31 PM
Steffie said...
Melody - I think that the top actually is a very flattering style for you - at least it appears this way in the photo. I think adding the ribbon around the rest of the neck opening will be a very nice detail. Thank you for sharing all of your alterations.
8/31/06 5:52 PM
patsijean said...
Your top looks beach-comfy and fun to wear. What is impressive is that you are working to improve your draping skills.
9/1/06 1:18 AM
RuthieSews said...
The vertical trim does work well to break up the fullness of your bust visually. Great trick
9/1/06 3:19 AM
PixieCat said...
I think your top looks beautiful and fits perfectly! Love the trim you added.
9/1/06 5:18 AM
OP Gal said...
Cool top. Thanks for the detailed review of the challenges and the changes you made to this pattern. I was particularly interested in the Kaffe Fassett fabric you used. I recently purchased some similar fabric that I fell in love with (in fact, it might be the same fabric in a different color) to make a top. My friend, sister and I decided that it didn't look like a fabric you'd see made up in RTW, so I decided to use it as trim. Now, I'm not so sure, since your top looks so great--and like RTW.
9/1/06 10:08 AM
MaryBeth said...
The vertical trim is "just right". You look great.
9/1/06 10:58 PM
fuzzygalore said...
OK, you're probably right, it's not objectively the best design for you (or me either..). But it's so CUTE :-)! No way you could pass it up, and I agree that vertical trim is just the thing.
9/5/06 2:31 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Wow! Great work altering for a fabulous fit!
9/5/06 9:47 AM
Em's Summer said...
Thanks for this great review!
1/15/07 1:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 6883

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Vogue Patterns 7610

photo
by: Ducky D

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now