SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2006-133 (Embroidered Circle Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1275 times 
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo

 
 
About Tonyastarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/06 7:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
popoagiesmiles said...
You asked why a plus size garment has to have elastic. Well, my guess would be that the bigger you are and fluffier you are, the more your body morphs as you bend it, so you need more flexible clothing. Being just ten pounds heavier than my typical adult weight until recently, I can tell you that I no longer want to wear very fitted, non stretch clothing. What was so comfy before is very uncomfortable now, even though I'm buying three sizes bigger to get the same ease! I seriously don't like wearing nonstretch clothing now, but if I ever get back to my smaller size, or close to it, I can't see why I wouldn't go back to the type of clothing and fabrics I wore before, where stretch waistlines just added bulk and stretch fabric was entirely unnecessary. It's just a physics and comfort issue to me.
10/5/06 11:11 PM
Elemenopeo said...
That is so pretty and looks great on you.
9/5/06 11:00 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great hemline detail!
9/5/06 7:22 AM
Erica B. said...
very nice skirt... love the hemline!
9/4/06 2:44 PM
AliceB said...
This is an adorable skirt, I'm sorry the waist isn't what you wanted. Even in a circle-ish skirt we need to check that hip measurement or at least I do with my amble endowment. :)
9/4/06 12:31 PM
PhyllisC said...
I see it now - good work! A good deconstructed look still has to be sturdy and hold up, and this is a fine example of that. As Georgene once pointed out, deconstructed doesn't really mean less work and cutting corners.
9/4/06 8:59 AM
Nata said...
I love the hem detail
9/4/06 0:36 AM
bunz said...
Yes, I'd love to see a close-up of the hem. It looks really pretty.
9/3/06 10:12 PM
Nancywin said...
Your skirt turned out very cute - and I love the shoes!
9/3/06 8:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
Cool hem. Even though the pattern wasn't too helpful, this style looks good on you.
9/3/06 8:27 PM
moushka said...
The skirt looks great; too bad the pattern wasn't much help. I'd forgotten about the cute embroidery in this issue. Thanks for the review.
9/3/06 8:12 PM
Tonya said...
Thanks Phyllis - you should be able to see a closeup of the hem on the project photo page at the bottom. Hope that helps!
9/3/06 8:08 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Very stylish, NOW hem.
9/3/06 8:00 PM
PhyllisC said...
Love the hem - let's see a closeup!
9/3/06 7:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-12

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now