Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8087 (Claire Shaeffer Couture Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1703 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 43 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/06 12:17 PM
Last Updated:9/7/06 12:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
Wow! What a fantastic jacket! Now I know what I have to work towards...
9/7/06 12:21 PM
MaryBeth said...
I love it! It's proportioned so well for you. I kind of like the shorter sleeves and the review you've written is lovely and very helpful.
9/7/06 12:30 PM
carolynw said...
Your jacket is beautiful and your review so helpful - may try this over the long. cold months ahead !! Have used Claire's patterns before and you are so right - her techniques and instructions are pure gold!!
9/7/06 12:31 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Beautiful! Well worth your investment. Thanks for sharing!
9/7/06 12:45 PM
bunz said...
Way to go! It really takes courage to do one of CS's patterns. And it fits really well -- you luckky dog:-)
9/7/06 1:28 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful jacket and excellant review. You've done a beautiful job on this and the style suits you so well. You'll enjoy this for a long time.
9/7/06 2:09 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow! What a beautiful jacket, and what a wonderful, detailed review. Makes me want to try something this challenging. (Well, almost.)
9/7/06 2:12 PM
Elona said...
Lovely jacket, and a great, understanding review!
9/7/06 2:52 PM
blue mooney said...
Wow - you have certainly been rewarded for all your work! Your jacket is wonderful. Can you estimate how much time you put into it?
9/7/06 2:55 PM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful jacket and great tailoring!
9/7/06 2:58 PM
SewLimited said...
Nice job, I love this pattern.
9/7/06 3:19 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great job! I'm intrigued by the three piece sleeve. I think I'll have to pick up this pattern next time JoAnn has a sale on Vogue. Thanks for a very informative review. (And thanks for the nice compliment on my Lagerfeld!) -Ann
9/7/06 3:20 PM
Englebert said...
Love your jacket!! Thanks for a great review!
9/7/06 5:53 PM
PhyllisC said...
Stunning - welcome to couture technique; isn't it a great feeling to make something so fine and long lasting?
9/7/06 6:15 PM
christine A said...
Thanks for the lovely detailed review. the jacket is lovely too. Maybe oneday I too will feel confident enough to make a 'cotoure' garment!
9/7/06 7:22 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for your timely review. I chose this pattern for Shannon Gifford's speed tailoring class -- I guess that means I'll be making view B though. Yours is just beautiful. As for the pattern errors, Vogue sent me a corrected version of the pattern when I contacted them even though the problem was minor in the 6-8-10 size. I hope mine turns out as nice as yours.
9/7/06 7:44 PM
Kay Romo said...
Really professional job. Agree sleeves tad short, but blouse sleeve takes care of that--cuff doodad thing.
9/7/06 11:46 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket and your review is what we all look for - very detailed with all of your changes and some great suggestions for fabric, etc. A1 in my book
9/7/06 11:57 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, gorgeous jacket, wonderful fit, really love the detailed review. I keep looking at this jacket and weighing up whether I have the skills for it, you persuaded me it might be possible. Thank you.
9/8/06 4:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very helpful review. I think your jacket looks great and very polished.
9/8/06 5:30 AM
jlg said...
Your jacket looks fabulous. I've been meaning to tackle one of her patterns.
9/8/06 5:33 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
Beautiful jacket and it looks like you did a wonderful job constructing it. Thank you for your review. Don't apologize for it being long - it is just the right length with all the info we need. :o)
9/8/06 9:33 AM
cindyann said...
Great jacket! You will wear this with pride for years.
9/8/06 10:09 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Take a bow! What a beautiful jacket, and a great review to read.
9/8/06 11:37 AM
Darla in PA said...
What a beautiful jacket! Thanks for a wonderful review.
9/8/06 5:16 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you so much for the excellent and thorough review. Your jacket is just gorgeous!!
9/8/06 11:38 PM
Juliet said...
Such thorough and inspiring review that I bought the pattern last night. Must check for the sleeve problem in case it's an old copy. Your jacket is so beautiful.
9/9/06 3:14 AM
cathy45 said...
What a wonderful jacket! Your review was thorough, very informative, and inspirational. I hope you enjoy your labor of love for many years.
9/9/06 10:26 AM
Sharon Smith said...
I agree with everyone - your jacket is absolutely stunning. In fact, yours fits better than the one on the pattern. (It's too small & looks uncomfortable.) If I hadn't seen the picture of you wearing it, I wouldn't have given the pattern a second notice. Yours is a classic indeed.
9/9/06 5:07 PM
memmy said...
I enjoyed your description I have used this pattern as well but used to do the Threads article on Chanel jackets I deleted the collar and made a jewel neckline . I am enjoing the journey and have nearly finished but probably its even more work than your effort as the lining is quilted onto the lining . I( am going to try Claires new pattern Vogue 8259 which is a Chanel style jacket complete with all the quilting instructions
9/10/06 8:41 PM
PegL said...
Both your jacket and review are excellent!
9/10/06 11:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, what a stunning jacket! As always, I look forward to reading your reviews!
11/14/06 0:47 AM
EHSR said...
I've got this in my pattern stash, and I've been ogling the picture lately. That's interesting that the hand vs shortcut versions have differently cut pieces, I'll watch out for that, thanks.
5/15/07 9:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Self Drafted Pattern 00035
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 3/8/11
Read Review

McCalls 6532 Pattern ( Size One Size )
McCalls 6532 Pattern ( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9477 Pattern
Burda 9477 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7381 SHORTS
photo
Review by LTC on 1/6/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us