Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: 07 (Sheath for Dress Form) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1520 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 264 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/06 3:44 PM
Last Updated:9/9/06 3:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
Great idea, Kay! I don't have PMB but am working on a sloper done on Patternmaker (free) to do the same thing for my Mindy, my double. She is a foam one and needs to be squished a bit more ... inthe back to reflect reality. She gives a bit too much ease for close fitting garments to hang right below the bustline.
9/9/06 3:55 PM
MaryBeth said...
Great work, Kay. You are just so correctly methodical and organized in getting this chore done rather than diving into another fashion garment as I continually do. Bravo!
9/9/06 5:00 PM
sewbehind said...
How interesting! What a process. Thanks for the review. Not that I would ever do this. I'm still hoping to get someone to help me with the DTD.
9/9/06 6:15 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great idea!
9/9/06 7:22 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This was so timely! I just completed a cover for my new dress form by Uniquely You. I had thought about using PMB but decided I paid for the cover that came with it. I can appreciate your fitting as using one already made and redrafting to fit oneself is a major process. Should I need to change it in the future, I am going to use PMB. Great job.
9/10/06 7:20 AM
OP Gal said...
Wow! I'm impressed. What an undertaking. Congratulations on a wonderful outcome.
9/10/06 12:16 PM
ACB said...
Wow!!!!!!
9/10/06 12:19 PM
Sandil said...
Great fit, looks lovely!!!
9/10/06 5:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Impressive -- fits like a glove.
9/11/06 8:06 AM
JaneH said...
This is what every serious sewer should have! Now if I could get the time to do it. Sigh. Great job!!
9/11/06 9:36 AM
jewelsfashions said...
Looks great! I have been seriously thinking of making myself a double as I have started making more clothes for myself and not just my little girls. The DTD and cover will be a winter project as this is the time of the year my husband has more time and will be able to help me. Also, thinking of getting a serger and see that in your bio you have a pfaff 4852. What do you like about yours and what don't you like about yours? Thanks again for the review. After reading it I believe now more than ever I will try to get this done this winter.
9/11/06 11:08 AM
Kay Y said...
Thanks for the comments everyone! jewelsfashions, I love my Pfaff serger so much that it convinced me to buy a Pfaff sewing machine too (which I also love). You should get a serger - you will not remember how you did without one!
9/11/06 10:25 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! I am totally impressed by this! I've been wanting to make a DTD since this past summer. I assume yours served you well, and it would be a good starting off point for me? I really doubt I could even find a purchased double that resembled my body. Everytime I read "Helen near Sydney's" reviews - I'm pretty sure it's her anyway, I think, "yep that's me too!"
11/6/06 9:41 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Sorry --wish we could eliminate mistakes like this
11/6/06 9:42 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! I am totally m impressed by this! I've been wanting to make a DTD since this past summer. I assume yours served you well, and it would be a good starting off point for me? I really doubt I could even get a double that resembled my bod. Everytime I read "Helen near Sydney's" reviews - I'm pretty sure it's her anyway, I think, "yep that's me too!"
11/6/06 9:44 PM
Birgitte said...
What a great review! I'm contemplating using the book "Dress Design" by Hillhouse and Mansfield to draft a dress form cover, and your idea of using a zipper to get in and out is just perfect! Thank you so much!!
12/27/07 8:43 PM
nancy2001 said...
This review popped up on the right side of my screen. Like you, I customized my dress form using a PBM sloper and some padding.
5/21/08 12:49 PM
Kirstenw said...
Thank you for this answer, exactly what I was hoping and looking for
8/17/08 3:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Chris W Designs Evelyn Evelyn
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/16/12
Read Review

McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7381 Pattern
Burda 7381 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-122
photo
Review by SandraB on 2/23/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us