SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 07 (Sheath for Dress Form)

Viewed 1526 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/06 3:44 PM
Last Updated:9/9/06 3:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
Great idea, Kay! I don't have PMB but am working on a sloper done on Patternmaker (free) to do the same thing for my Mindy, my double. She is a foam one and needs to be squished a bit more ... inthe back to reflect reality. She gives a bit too much ease for close fitting garments to hang right below the bustline.
9/9/06 3:55 PM
MaryBeth said...
Great work, Kay. You are just so correctly methodical and organized in getting this chore done rather than diving into another fashion garment as I continually do. Bravo!
9/9/06 5:00 PM
sewbehind said...
How interesting! What a process. Thanks for the review. Not that I would ever do this. I'm still hoping to get someone to help me with the DTD.
9/9/06 6:15 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great idea!
9/9/06 7:22 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This was so timely! I just completed a cover for my new dress form by Uniquely You. I had thought about using PMB but decided I paid for the cover that came with it. I can appreciate your fitting as using one already made and redrafting to fit oneself is a major process. Should I need to change it in the future, I am going to use PMB. Great job.
9/10/06 7:20 AM
OP Gal said...
Wow! I'm impressed. What an undertaking. Congratulations on a wonderful outcome.
9/10/06 12:16 PM
ACB said...
Wow!!!!!!
9/10/06 12:19 PM
Sandil said...
Great fit, looks lovely!!!
9/10/06 5:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Impressive -- fits like a glove.
9/11/06 8:06 AM
JaneH said...
This is what every serious sewer should have! Now if I could get the time to do it. Sigh. Great job!!
9/11/06 9:36 AM
jewelsfashions said...
Looks great! I have been seriously thinking of making myself a double as I have started making more clothes for myself and not just my little girls. The DTD and cover will be a winter project as this is the time of the year my husband has more time and will be able to help me. Also, thinking of getting a serger and see that in your bio you have a pfaff 4852. What do you like about yours and what don't you like about yours? Thanks again for the review. After reading it I believe now more than ever I will try to get this done this winter.
9/11/06 11:08 AM
Kay Y said...
Thanks for the comments everyone! jewelsfashions, I love my Pfaff serger so much that it convinced me to buy a Pfaff sewing machine too (which I also love). You should get a serger - you will not remember how you did without one!
9/11/06 10:25 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! I am totally impressed by this! I've been wanting to make a DTD since this past summer. I assume yours served you well, and it would be a good starting off point for me? I really doubt I could even find a purchased double that resembled my body. Everytime I read "Helen near Sydney's" reviews - I'm pretty sure it's her anyway, I think, "yep that's me too!"
11/6/06 9:41 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Sorry --wish we could eliminate mistakes like this
11/6/06 9:42 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! I am totally m impressed by this! I've been wanting to make a DTD since this past summer. I assume yours served you well, and it would be a good starting off point for me? I really doubt I could even get a double that resembled my bod. Everytime I read "Helen near Sydney's" reviews - I'm pretty sure it's her anyway, I think, "yep that's me too!"
11/6/06 9:44 PM
Birgitte said...
What a great review! I'm contemplating using the book "Dress Design" by Hillhouse and Mansfield to draft a dress form cover, and your idea of using a zipper to get in and out is just perfect! Thank you so much!!
12/27/07 8:43 PM
nancy2001 said...
This review popped up on the right side of my screen. Like you, I customized my dress form using a PBM sloper and some padding.
5/21/08 12:49 PM
Kirstenw said...
Thank you for this answer, exactly what I was hoping and looking for
8/17/08 3:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now