SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 07 (Sheath for Dress Form)

Viewed 1534 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/06 3:44 PM
Last Updated:9/9/06 3:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kirstenw said...
Thank you for this answer, exactly what I was hoping and looking for
8/17/08 3:23 PM
nancy2001 said...
This review popped up on the right side of my screen. Like you, I customized my dress form using a PBM sloper and some padding.
5/21/08 12:49 PM
Birgitte said...
What a great review! I'm contemplating using the book "Dress Design" by Hillhouse and Mansfield to draft a dress form cover, and your idea of using a zipper to get in and out is just perfect! Thank you so much!!
12/27/07 8:43 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! I am totally m impressed by this! I've been wanting to make a DTD since this past summer. I assume yours served you well, and it would be a good starting off point for me? I really doubt I could even get a double that resembled my bod. Everytime I read "Helen near Sydney's" reviews - I'm pretty sure it's her anyway, I think, "yep that's me too!"
11/6/06 9:44 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Sorry --wish we could eliminate mistakes like this
11/6/06 9:42 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! I am totally impressed by this! I've been wanting to make a DTD since this past summer. I assume yours served you well, and it would be a good starting off point for me? I really doubt I could even find a purchased double that resembled my body. Everytime I read "Helen near Sydney's" reviews - I'm pretty sure it's her anyway, I think, "yep that's me too!"
11/6/06 9:41 PM
Kay Y said...
Thanks for the comments everyone! jewelsfashions, I love my Pfaff serger so much that it convinced me to buy a Pfaff sewing machine too (which I also love). You should get a serger - you will not remember how you did without one!
9/11/06 10:25 PM
jewelsfashions said...
Looks great! I have been seriously thinking of making myself a double as I have started making more clothes for myself and not just my little girls. The DTD and cover will be a winter project as this is the time of the year my husband has more time and will be able to help me. Also, thinking of getting a serger and see that in your bio you have a pfaff 4852. What do you like about yours and what don't you like about yours? Thanks again for the review. After reading it I believe now more than ever I will try to get this done this winter.
9/11/06 11:08 AM
JaneH said...
This is what every serious sewer should have! Now if I could get the time to do it. Sigh. Great job!!
9/11/06 9:36 AM
CarolynGM said...
Impressive -- fits like a glove.
9/11/06 8:06 AM
Sandil said...
Great fit, looks lovely!!!
9/10/06 5:32 PM
ACB said...
Wow!!!!!!
9/10/06 12:19 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow! I'm impressed. What an undertaking. Congratulations on a wonderful outcome.
9/10/06 12:16 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This was so timely! I just completed a cover for my new dress form by Uniquely You. I had thought about using PMB but decided I paid for the cover that came with it. I can appreciate your fitting as using one already made and redrafting to fit oneself is a major process. Should I need to change it in the future, I am going to use PMB. Great job.
9/10/06 7:20 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great idea!
9/9/06 7:22 PM
sewbehind said...
How interesting! What a process. Thanks for the review. Not that I would ever do this. I'm still hoping to get someone to help me with the DTD.
9/9/06 6:15 PM
MaryBeth said...
Great work, Kay. You are just so correctly methodical and organized in getting this chore done rather than diving into another fashion garment as I continually do. Bravo!
9/9/06 5:00 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Great idea, Kay! I don't have PMB but am working on a sloper done on Patternmaker (free) to do the same thing for my Mindy, my double. She is a foam one and needs to be squished a bit more ... inthe back to reflect reality. She gives a bit too much ease for close fitting garments to hang right below the bustline.
9/9/06 3:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

New Look 6516

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Deer&Doe Dress Belladone

photo
by: sewsue1

Review
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

More Info
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

More Info