Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Teagarden T (Teagarden T) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1354 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:cecelia
photo
About ceceliastar
CT USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/06 9:31 PM
Last Updated:9/9/06 9:31 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
I laughed a lot at your review - I had this pattern and I know oh so very well what you went through. Am glad you got a wearable garment - mine was a total wadder because I was using a stretch velvet - you will understand since you have just sewn this - with the odd connections the velvet's pile went one way and then another so it looked really, really weird - as if I had attended a crazy sewers' convention so out it went along with the pattern - I was that mad!! Congrats on your getting two wearable tops out of it and who knows - one day I may try again - you think??
9/9/06 10:01 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for your review. Your version turned out great!!
9/9/06 10:53 PM
Linda E. said...
love you review it is very enteraining.. I am glad you got it to work,, nice to know.. I have this pattern in my stash one of these days.. This pattern is a copy of Issey Miyake pattern from the 80's a FYI .. if you look at his designs you will see he does alot of these crazy pieces. checkout Issey Miyake http://groehm.tripod.com//sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/2094.jpg
9/9/06 11:20 PM
bunz said...
Oh, this pattern drove me nuts!! A total wadder. I'm so gald you used a fabric that finally worked. It looks great on you. Kudos on your effort.
9/10/06 5:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I just got this pattern myself after years of debating whether to buy it or not. I got it at the recent ASG conference. Glad to read your review as I had some concerns about the gussets. Believe it or not that was part of my interest in the pattern. I like your top.
9/10/06 7:39 AM
Stilltheone said...
Great review. What a pretty shirt. Hmm....maybe I wouldn't have a few UFO's if I used the purple air marker like you did, LOL.
9/10/06 8:35 AM
tentmaker said...
I made this pattern several years ago in a wool jersey. I remember going back to my early days of sewing and using different colored tailor tacks for the markings for the gussets. Believe me it wasn't hard once that issue was cleared up. I love the look. I made a skirt out of the same jersey and with a little jewlrey the outfit is smashing. I think I will get that pattern out and make it again. Your review reminded me of how attractive it is. Jackie
9/10/06 10:13 AM
Sanibelle said...
Cecilia, great minds think alike! I've got a sea of post-its pinned to the fabric of the Vogue 1476 Miyake pattern, another odd-shaped one. And I'm also using different colors of thread to mark,like tentmaker, trying to cover all bases! And your top looks lovely! Thank you for such a great review.
9/10/06 11:06 AM
ACB said...
Great looking top, very entertaining review!
9/10/06 11:56 AM
OP Gal said...
Delightful review. Your top looks great and you get extra credit for persevering.
9/10/06 12:01 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I will reinforce the tailors tacks of different colors. It is a life saver or should I say garment saver for this top. Can't wait to see your other version.
9/10/06 5:19 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Recently, I saw somewhere (online fashion pic? Catalog? I can't remember) a dress that struck me as being the Teagarden T lengthened. Maybe I'll have to get it one of these days...
9/10/06 6:18 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Looks great on. Thanks for the tips.
9/10/06 8:40 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
This is a fabulous top. I made it out of wool jersey many years ago and something got to it that found it very tasty. I have saved it because I am planning to make it again and want to make sure I have it right. I seemed to remember I slashed it to make it fit over my hips. I also tried to make it in a burnout velvet but the back had the grain going one way on one side and one way on the other so it was two different colors! I even bought more fabric and recut it - again it was off. This is really a classic pattern but use something without a nap.
9/10/06 8:40 PM
cecelia said...
I did actually think of tailor tacks--a good idea--, using my leftover embroidery thread, but when I saw that the bright purple did actually disappear, I thought it was just easier. In any case, it does need to be well marked--it's 3/4 of the battle, and thanks for the tips on not using any fabric with a nap. Oh, and the gussets--the 1st time I did a 1/2 fell seam from the inside; the 2nd time I did it with just the right sides together from the inside. I have a close-up of the 1st gusset, but haven't figured out how to post it yet, also the 2nd (improved) version.
9/11/06 8:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

You Sew Girl BO830 Mod Bag
photo
Review by MrsBeckins... on 12/29/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-104 Net top
photo
Review by KatC83 on 1/23/12
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us