SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8280 (Galaxy Dress Inspiration)

48 more reviews
Viewed 3760 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 413 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/06 9:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
68 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riordan said...
Wow!!! Your dress is beautiful, and you are, too! The dress is lovely in the black wool.
9/12/06 9:19 PM
twistedangel said...
Stunning in black! I sorely lack the figure to hold up the bodice, tho... I forgot to mention that about the markings... I tend to use tailors tacks by habit, and it sometimes slips right past me that someone should know which side to make the marks on... About the plaids... that was the problem #2 of my major problems. I wasn't paying attention when I cut out the skirt. I should write up how I got them to line up on the bodice...
9/12/06 9:20 PM
CSchiffgens said...
Wow! This looks great. It's on my list also. Like you, I fell in love with it the first time I saw it in the magazines.
9/12/06 9:25 PM
Erica B. said...
Please do offer up all of you wisdom on the plaid! I almost pulled my hair out over that!
9/12/06 9:32 PM
Linda E. said...
Erica this dress looks great on you. I love it in Black wool.. thanks for the very good review.
9/12/06 9:43 PM
Patti B said...
Oooooeeee, do you look smashing in that dress!
9/12/06 9:48 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very interesting to see this pattern made up. Beautiful in black wool!
9/12/06 9:59 PM
sewbehind said...
Very lovely on you, Erica. A beautiful dress.
9/12/06 10:11 PM
Kathy_AZ said...
Beautiful dress that looks fabulous on you!
9/12/06 10:21 PM
Schnauzer said...
You and the dress compliment each other perfectly-absolutely gorgeous!
9/12/06 10:24 PM
Tov said...
Another wow!
9/12/06 10:33 PM
Physics Girl said...
Sizzling! Anyone making this in red? Oh drat -- I already have too many red dresses... but with two reviews in one day... is this the "it" dress?
9/12/06 10:41 PM
USMCMom said...
Erica, that dress is stunning and you look stunning in it! If I had anything that looked that good on me, I'd never take it off!
9/12/06 10:50 PM
Stacy Sews said...
WOW! you look fabulous! I've been following along on this dress' progress on your blog and I'm so happy to see this finished up. Beautiful job!
9/12/06 10:56 PM
jnamcd said...
I agree with everyone else--this looks beautiful on you! You are one stylin Momma!! Excellent review!
9/12/06 11:28 PM
Nancywin said...
You did an excellent job on the fitting of this dress and you look like a knockout!
9/12/06 11:39 PM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous dress, gorgeous you!
9/12/06 11:54 PM
Aixoise said...
I definitely think you should make this again. It's dynamite on you - stunning! Dorothy Dandridge and then some -
9/12/06 11:58 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Daaaaang. Absolutely smokin'.
9/13/06 0:06 AM
Shelia in Alaska said...
You look absolutely beautiful in that picture and the dress looks wonderful too. You have such talent! If only I could fit a dress as well as you. I love all your pattern reviews. I didn't know you had a blog...where do I find it?
9/13/06 0:13 AM
patsijean said...
Girl, you are good. I wish I could look 1/2 as elegant as you. This dress is beautiful. Wow is right.
9/13/06 1:07 AM
ladybegood said...
Stunning! Lena and Dorothy would be proud!
9/13/06 1:30 AM
Nancy K said...
I lust after this dress but alas, my figure is not the type for this. You look fab in yours. A good job.
9/13/06 1:30 AM
sewnow1004 said...
Just beautiful! Another prolific sewer! I have this pattern too. Hope mine will look half as good!
9/13/06 2:00 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You did a great job, and you do it proud :-). Congratulations!
9/13/06 2:28 AM
Mlle Laura said...
wow! a gorgeous dress!
9/13/06 2:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this in black!! Looks very flattering on you. You can definitely wear this style.
9/13/06 5:31 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a knockout of a dress.
9/13/06 5:40 AM
SBanks said...
Wow! You look so fabulous in that dress! You are one hot lady! Now I'm convinced that I need to make this dress - thanks for the review and tips.
9/13/06 5:44 AM
yorkshire lass said...
gorgeous, just gorgeous. What else can I say?
9/13/06 5:45 AM
Tipseysmum said...
wow stunning.
9/13/06 7:02 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
You work it, girl! You definitely look like Dorothy Dandridge in this. Your dress is simply fabulous! I have this pattern, and I wasn't planning to make it, just study it. But you may have pushed me over the edge. -Ann
9/13/06 7:09 AM
appleC said...
You look great in that beautifully made dress!
9/13/06 7:11 AM
Sew4Fun said...
You look absolutely stunning! All that is missing is the red carpet. Incredible fit too! Did you do any fit alterations?
9/13/06 7:48 AM
BeckyC said...
Wow! You look stunning in this dress! Thanks for the great review.
9/13/06 8:02 AM
OP Gal said...
As usual, you look fantastic. Thanks for the detailed description of construction. Great result with a stylish pattern.
9/13/06 8:19 AM
carolynw said...
Talk about drop dead georgeous!!!
9/13/06 8:42 AM
cmarie12 said...
Erica ~ it is absolutely beautiful! Well worth the time and effort!
9/13/06 8:42 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Fierce! This is definitely *your* dress!
9/13/06 9:00 AM
m1khaela said...
you look so fabulous. I have this pattern and now I realize just how badly I need to sew it up...
9/13/06 9:11 AM
cathy45 said...
WOW! again. This dress was made for you! You got it all going on. (If this is the IT dress this season, it's a huge improvement on the duro dress.)
9/13/06 9:49 AM
pterion said...
Wow too! You look much hotter in this style than any of the models/actresses/plastic socialites that you linked to at the beginning of your review.
9/13/06 9:55 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
You look too good to be true! it really looks soo gooooood in black, I've thought about making this to DD, but not of black, hmmmm... I might have to reconsider my fabric choice. You look absolutely stunning, thank you for the review. Marita
9/13/06 10:16 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Wow, wow, wow. The dress is stunning. I'm so glad it worked out.
9/13/06 10:21 AM
Mini said...
Another knockout-this really has that 40's mystique. Maybe you could make a sassy little black hat with a feather too...this dress could work with any accessory you could think of!
9/13/06 10:41 AM
cindyann said...
WOW too! Your dress looks every bit as fabulous as the designer inspiration dresses. You Rock it!
9/13/06 10:45 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I said it before, I'll say it again - that dress is STUNNING on you, Erica!
9/13/06 10:46 AM
carolineG said...
Wow - loved this style,but didn't buy the pattern because it looked badly made on the pattern envelope (doesn't fit the model!). Yours is stunning though - have you worn it out yet?
9/13/06 10:47 AM
KAB said...
What a Killer dress and you're wearing your don't-you-dare-talk-to-me face to accompany it. Smashing! Thanks for the detailed review. Kate
9/13/06 1:46 PM
Sherril Miller said...
The black wool is perfect for this fabulous dress. You do it justice. I'm looking forward to the sweetheart neckline version.
9/13/06 2:00 PM
Maychi said...
Absolutely stunning! Both you and the dress!
9/13/06 2:07 PM
CSM--Carla said...
AMEN to all of the above--another sexy creation! Enjoy all your reviews!!!! Carla
9/13/06 3:39 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous Erica! All your dresses are such a feast to look at!
9/13/06 8:00 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous dress
9/13/06 8:18 PM
Carolyn C said...
Wow, Erica, stunning job on the fit. This dress is perfect for your beautiful figure.
9/14/06 1:48 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You look fabulous! A wonderful job on you striking creation.
9/14/06 9:23 AM
Dobedowawa said...
Thank you for the review .... gorgeous, feminine and you have the figure to do it justice!
9/14/06 12:26 PM
ACB said...
Absolutely breath-taking! That's a men all pause dress!
9/15/06 11:21 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Lovely, And fits you to a "T"! If you finished the glen plaid, would love to see it as well!
9/16/06 3:43 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
You look gorgeous! I love the dress.
9/20/06 3:10 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Oh My! This is sooo sharp! I have been looking for a dress to wear to my husbands ordination. This is it! Beautiful job :-)
9/26/06 8:12 AM
sewgreat said...
Erica, were you happy with the quality of the fabric you got from Fashion Fabric Club? Also, did you get any more fabric from them, and how long did it take to get it and were you pleased with the quality of it. I have just complied me a list of wools to order from them and was concerned with the quality. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks Very Much, Cynthia Dickinson
9/27/06 12:36 PM
LMJ said...
love your dress - help! cannot work out when to join together the 2 flange sections!
10/6/06 7:59 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Thank you for reviewing this. It's a current weddig dress possibility for me. You look so sassy in this.
11/15/06 1:44 PM
ChristineX said...
Sweet dress!! I'm going to have to get that pattern. I like your style!!
12/9/06 11:09 PM
Ziggy said...
Wow, yours looks so cool. I just finished the dress with sleeves, and lined it, too, but not the skirt, just the arms and bodice. I didn't think think this was an easy pattern, either. Had to really pay attention. I like the stright hem, but wasn't too keen on the shoulder caps. Love yours, though. They look great on your dress in Black. Great Job!
1/16/07 3:16 PM
Figgy said...
I'm only a beginner, but when I see work like yours I wish I had discovered the joys of sewing 20 years ago!. You did an unbelievable job and you look beautiful in it!
1/18/07 8:31 AM
janella said...
well.. I think that you did this pattern justice!! Wow! I've been looking at it in the pattern book but couldn't imagine what it would look like made up!
2/5/07 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6723

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
New Look 6165

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now