SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2619 (Misses T-Shirt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1037 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews: 217 (patterns: 204)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/06 7:55 PM
Last Updated:9/13/06 7:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said... (9/15/06 7:57 PM) Reply
Cute T-shirt. Great review. Perseverance pays off again!
MelissaB in WA said... (9/14/06 11:12 PM) Reply
Thanks for all your help ladies, that is why I love PR so much! :-) P.S. Amy, I hope my necklace lasts as long as yours!!!
wood turtle said... (9/14/06 12:21 PM) Reply
Kwik Sew doesn't have a fitting pattern, but if you have a KS darted pattern, you may want to check out the bust location in your size. I used KS 2833, and I found the bust to be very high. If the bust fullness is higher than your bust, that may be causing some wrinkles.
slanden99 said... (9/14/06 9:32 AM) Reply
Glad to know it's not just me that has trouble with the "Kwiksew Anomoly". Great idea to use a TNT pattern to correct the drafting. Melissa-Your t-shirt came out great in the end. How frustrating that it took so much effort to get it to fit.
Mini said... (9/13/06 8:40 PM) Reply
Melissa, your fitting problem is due to what I call the "Kwik Sew Anomaly". They simply draft their patterns too darn long in the front armhole, and too wide across the upper chest. When I made this top, I liked everything except the strange wrinkles I kept getting across the upper chest, and the way the front neck would start to slide upward as I wore the shirt. Then, comparing it to other patterns that didn't have those issues, I saw the Anomaly mentioned above. KS seems to be the only pattern company that makes the front armhole as deep, or deeper, than the back. I think the easiest way to adjust is to use the upper chest and armhole from a pattern that fits well in front as a template. It really saves time:).
jnamcd said... (9/13/06 8:17 PM) Reply
I really think that is were I got my necklace--either target or Walmart--mine has held up fine for almost 2 years, I bet! I'm still here, just "slowly" sewing lately!
MelissaB in WA said... (9/13/06 8:09 PM) Reply
Thanks Amy! I was just looking at my shirt in the mirror and I realize it fits really good when I first put it on, it's once I start moving around (arms up and down picking up the kids,etc) that it starts to get the "wrinkled" effect going on. I have this same problem with some of my RTW tees too, so maybe it's normal. BTW, I got the necklace at Target just for our Disney trip and I love it. Mine was a cheapie, so hopefully it doesn't self distruct in a few weeks. ;-) Glad to see you're around as I miss "seeing" you on the Burda board!
jnamcd said... (9/13/06 8:04 PM) Reply
Hey there! Glad you had a great time in Disney--I've never had a chance to comment on your trip! Anyways, I think the t-shirt looks pretty nice on you--the length looks good, too--I'm really hating having to constantly "tug" all my shirts down--even RTW is like that! Anyways, I can't comment on how to fix the few remaining issues you have, as I'm still learning this fitting stuff, too! I did have to laugh though, I think I have that same silver heart necklace--how funny! Great review!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Other 00000

photo
by: digs57

Review
McCall's 6604

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Pattern Details