SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2006-118 (unlined jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 991 times 
Reviewed by:KatieN
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KatieNstar
Member since: 3/16/05
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/06 8:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yummymummy38 said...
looks great, nice to know it went together well. I'm interested in the jacket v similar to this in the May issue.
9/13/06 9:10 PM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations on a beautiful jacket Katie and using your first BWOF pattern :) It's nice to see an inseam buttonhole on a jacket. Your fabric choice is ideal for this design.
9/13/06 9:10 PM
AngieC said...
Love your suit!
9/13/06 9:50 PM
carolhope said...
Love your jacket! You did a beautiful job sewing it. Now........make it up in a bright print to match your beautiful smile! It is a great style on you.
9/13/06 10:26 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Oooh, I love it. Great jacket, great fabric, great color, well done.
9/14/06 1:47 AM
martinanne said...
That is a very interesting jacket, and you did a lovely job with it! I am very impressed that this was your first Burda WOF project. Way to go!!!
9/14/06 3:59 AM
Patzee said...
Really nice jacket! I'm looking forward to when I can make a three circle jacket -- yours looks terrific.
9/14/06 4:16 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You did a great job, it looks very good on you. Thanks for pointing out the good parts of this pattern!
9/14/06 5:01 AM
Jane S said...
I loved this jacket when I saw in in that issue and am so impressed with your lovely version. Thanks for your review and useful comments.
9/14/06 7:18 AM
Nancy K said...
Congratulations on a lovely and flattering jacket. Now, the skirt is where an underlining in silk organza would really be a big plus. It would reduce that wrinkling significantly. It doesn't add that much time or money to the project and the skirt would last longer and look better at the end of the day. Threads did an article a few years ago showing skirts with and without underling and there is a major difference.
9/14/06 8:15 AM
Patti B said...
I had admired this jacket in the magazine and I really like it on you. Great job. Some of us have "circle avoidance" in Burda -- nice to know that 3 circles is do-able!
9/14/06 9:08 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking suit.
9/14/06 9:23 AM
ribbit2jen said...
I love how it turned out, thanks for the tip about the snap. I have this one on my to do list :)
9/14/06 8:06 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, the suit looks very professional. WEll done!
9/14/06 9:27 PM
OP Gal said...
When I read your comment about adding a snap at the level of the button to keep the front band from flipping up, I looked at the Burda model again to check. That must be shy she's twisted at an angle, to make it look like the front band is turned up because her shoulders aren't even. You were smart to add the snap. Beautiful jacket, BTW.
9/15/06 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now