Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Neue Mode: 23204 - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1371 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/06 6:04 PM
Last Updated:9/16/06 6:04 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
Irina, the pants look GREAT! I have only tried one NM pattern (with disasterous results as I neglected to read that they come with no seam allowance) Maybe it is time to try another one.
9/16/06 6:49 PM
Riordan said...
Your pants look wonderful on you!! (How I admire your long legs!)
9/16/06 7:03 PM
BeckyC said...
Your pants look great on you! Even the back looks great as it is! Thanks for the links for all the helpful tips.
9/16/06 7:07 PM
drsue said...
The pants, including the back look pretty darn good. The only thing I see is that you might need to take a bit out of the upper CB seam for a bit more sway back adjustment. I'm always so jealous of how you look in pants. If you ever get a chance you might do a tip on how you figured out NM fly instructions as they continue to mystify me.
9/16/06 7:08 PM
Celeste said...
Their patterns are very nice and I know what you mean about deciphering their instructions. You take for granted all patterns will have the usual American jargon and that just isn't the case!!
9/16/06 7:53 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Carolyn, you've done it again. These are wonderful. If you really must give in to perfectionism, then maybe stitching the back crotch just a speck lower would do it; another thought - maybe reducing the width of the back leg just a little (removing maybe 1/4" width at the top of the inseam) would give you the results you want. But even with no changes, I think you've got a great pants pattern here, and your workmanship is fantastic.
9/16/06 7:55 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another great looking pair of pants. You've done it again. Great review.
9/16/06 9:37 PM
Sarah2747 said...
Wow, great looking pair of pants! I haven't made pants in a long time and I'm thinking of making a pair to match a blazer - you've motivated me.
9/16/06 9:59 PM
BjP said...
If I looked like you do in pants, I'd wear them every day! They are fabulous on you!
9/16/06 11:05 PM
blue mooney said...
These look fabulous! The back, too!
9/17/06 7:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think you have another great pair of pants. It looks to me, and I not a fitting expert as some other reviewers are, but I think you need to do a swayback adjustment. I would undo the center back waistband area, pull up the center back at the waist and then pin the waistband to see how much deeper the center back waist seam needs to be. The buttocks fit great it is just that area from right under the waist that is normally a swayback issue.
9/17/06 8:11 AM
carolynw said...
Irina what is the problem with the back? These pants look fabolous on you! For perfection maybe you could take a bit off the center back seam where it meets the waist band but other than that I cannot see any thing that you need to adjust!! How do you rate this pattern to others in the "big 4" - curious as I am now looking at making pants from other pattern makers for a change and would really like your opinion.
9/17/06 8:13 AM
Nancy K said...
Your pants look great on you. I solved my back crotch probelms, similar to yours, finally, with HP's L shaped back crotch that I lowered at least an inch. It si hard to see how flat your rear is, but mine is a pancake and I had the same angled folds that you do.
9/17/06 8:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
Clin -- in comparison to other pattern companies, the NM patterns, for me anyway, beat the heck out of the Big Four. Thanks to those who noticed the sway back problem -- I hadn't noticed that when I was trying the pants on, so I'll take another look. The wrinkles I was mainly concerned about are the diagonal ones on the back of the legs. I don't have a flat rear yet, but with every passing year, my protruding derriere seems to hang lower and lower, causing me to have to deal with new fitting issues. I fear I'll wake up one day, and it will be down around my knees!
9/17/06 9:12 AM
dvazz said...
Those look fabulous!
9/17/06 9:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 2007 Wardrobe Contest
photo
Review by boppingbet... on 7/31/07
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5365
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 9/10/09
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us