SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-131 (elastic waist pants)

Viewed 902 times 
Reviewed by:dvazz

About dvazzstar
Member since: 8/15/03
Reviews: 24 (patterns: 23)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/06 4:19 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew

Quality Fashion Fabrics

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
martinanne said... (9/18/06 3:16 AM) Reply
Nice review! I made these pants in capri length and I found they ran big. Well baggy. But they certainly are comfy, as you mentioned. I made the separate waistband as called for in the directions, but I think I like your method better. It would have been faster.
dvazz said... (9/17/06 8:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for the comments, everyone! Carolyn, these are actually the last project with my old machine...I made them about a month ago. Sherril, I pretty much end up shortening as you describe, but I do it by the method in a Threads article where you tie elastic around to hold up the unfinished waistband, pull up and down to adjust the fabric so that it hangs nicely, and then run a chalk wheel around to mark the seamline. I've used this method on every pair of pants I've made since I read about it and it is a huge help for me!
Sherril Miller said... (9/17/06 7:00 PM) Reply
Dana, these look exactly like your order, comfortable, baggy, and easy to sew. I like the fit for this style on you. How do you shorten just the front crotch? I cut away from the top center front returning to zero at the sides, but if there is a better way. . . . please share.
PegL said... (9/17/06 5:40 PM) Reply
Cute pants! Fun review to read.
drsue said... (9/17/06 5:29 PM) Reply
they look cute and comfy. don't look like a plus size though.
CarolynGM said... (9/17/06 5:15 PM) Reply
I don't know about the record -- I sew an awful lot of beige/tan/khaki pants. Are these your first project on your new machine? They do look nice and comfy.
USMCMom said... (9/17/06 4:43 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I'm overcoming my fear of sewing pants by starting with the now discontinued Burda one seam pants, which don't have pockets. They went well, so maybe it's time to step up to a "big girl" pair like these. Baby steps! They look so comfy...
Debbie Cook said... (9/17/06 4:31 PM) Reply
Most beige pants ... LOL! But good on you for making good on your promise to review something today. The pants look great, and so does you hair with the longer length. :-)
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2007-25

by: kellyhogab...

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details