Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2006-131 (elastic waist pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 897 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:dvazz
photo
About dvazzstar
MO USA
Member since: 8/15/03
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/06 4:19 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
Most beige pants ... LOL! But good on you for making good on your promise to review something today. The pants look great, and so does you hair with the longer length. :-)
9/17/06 4:31 PM
USMCMom said...
Thanks for the review. I'm overcoming my fear of sewing pants by starting with the now discontinued Burda one seam pants, which don't have pockets. They went well, so maybe it's time to step up to a "big girl" pair like these. Baby steps! They look so comfy...
9/17/06 4:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
I don't know about the record -- I sew an awful lot of beige/tan/khaki pants. Are these your first project on your new machine? They do look nice and comfy.
9/17/06 5:15 PM
drsue said...
they look cute and comfy. don't look like a plus size though.
9/17/06 5:29 PM
PegL said...
Cute pants! Fun review to read.
9/17/06 5:40 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Dana, these look exactly like your order, comfortable, baggy, and easy to sew. I like the fit for this style on you. How do you shorten just the front crotch? I cut away from the top center front returning to zero at the sides, but if there is a better way. . . . please share.
9/17/06 7:00 PM
dvazz said...
Thanks for the comments, everyone! Carolyn, these are actually the last project with my old machine...I made them about a month ago. Sherril, I pretty much end up shortening as you describe, but I do it by the method in a Threads article where you tie elastic around to hold up the unfinished waistband, pull up and down to adjust the fabric so that it hangs nicely, and then run a chalk wheel around to mark the seamline. I've used this method on every pair of pants I've made since I read about it and it is a huge help for me!
9/17/06 8:44 PM
martinanne said...
Nice review! I made these pants in capri length and I found they ran big. Well baggy. But they certainly are comfy, as you mentioned. I made the separate waistband as called for in the directions, but I think I like your method better. It would have been faster.
9/18/06 3:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Textile Studio 1407
photo
Review by Patti B on 4/24/05
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2008-117 Petite Dress
photo
Review by creative1 on 12/2/08
Read Review

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8048 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8048 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us