Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decades of Style: 3001 (1930 Kitchenette Pajamas) thumbsup - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 2082 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:LMH
photo
About LMHstar
Member since: 7/5/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/06 7:43 PM
Last Updated:9/17/06 8:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
major bummer! These are difficult to put together, and I find the pants baggy on mine as well. . . but given they are PJ's I didn't find it so bothersome. Oh well. Hope your next project turns out better.
9/17/06 8:20 PM
JenSews2 said...
sorry it didn't work out. But I love your fabric!
9/17/06 10:15 PM
dvazz said...
I'm sorry these weren't more fun for you, but I really think they are adorable!
9/17/06 10:51 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Fitted pajamas? That doesn't sound like anything I'd like to wear :-)... I see your point about the design though, and it would be a better idea to put the solid fabric in the pant legs and the print in the top. For people with hips and bellies, at least. Sorry you didn't like it.
9/18/06 3:33 AM
_Cat_ said...
It's a shame they don't work. I've been 'nice but..' about this pattern. Have you seen the redo on fashion incubator http://www.fashion-incubator.com/mt/archives/how_to_hire_a_fashion_illustrator.html
9/18/06 7:50 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for your excellent review. Really, your outfit does not look bad at all on you. I am kind of sad, however, because I already bought this pattern (as you said, the illustration is adorable!). Thanks for the warning about the 'gut highlighting' effect of the design'.
9/18/06 8:41 AM
OrigamiDoll said...
Gosh, I had wanted to try this pattern. Maybe it would look/fit better if sewn in a really drape-y fabric like washable rayon or even silk? Actually, the biggest drawback (pun intended) I see is using the ladies' room!
9/18/06 12:39 PM
LMH said...
Cat: thanks for the link; I knew I'd seen this pattern somewhere. Interesting redo, but Kathleen and I definitely don't have the same taste in clothes! Fuzzygalore: unfortunately, I don't think that switching the fabrics would change anything; my opinion is that the problems lie elsewhere (in structure and design). Maybe adults should just avoid onesies! I might tinker with this and see if I can make it into two pieces instead of one. Hmm. Origamidoll: do a muslin first, so you don't waste your material. Even with drapey material, you might still have issues with the back. I didn't show the back of mine because it's just so awful. There are also other issues with the shoulders (they slide off, and I have wide, squarish shoulders) and the ties (one is pleated, one isn't; they're not the same width visually & it looks bad). Good luck with yours! Maybe it'll work for you.
9/18/06 12:55 PM
KMangum said...
Oh, bummer. I saw this pattern Fri. at the Sewing/Quilt Expo, made up in four different fabrics: microsuede; std.quilting cottons; a lighter weight cottons; and silk charmeuse - these in a solid color brown. Did not see them *worn on an actual person*, however... I did buy the pattern for myself and am busy drafting a FBA on it, as well as checking sizes/lengths. INteresting about the back seat - I'll have to watch out about that. Personally, I think your photo looks darn cute.
9/18/06 5:51 PM
Vintage Pattern Nerd said...
Hello from Decades of Style, We really appreciate the thought that you put into writing this review. It is obvious that you spent a great deal of time in the finishing details and that really shows in your finished garment. It looks great! We like the sewing order that you used. Isnít it cool that industry sewing orders work on vintage designs as well? We are very sorry that you did not end up liking the finished garment. We have both had that experience where no matter how much we loved the drawing of the design, we just didnít like it on ourselves when it was done. We really loved this 1930ís design because it is very different from anything we had seen before. When we made our muslins, aside from the usual adjustments for length (one of us is tall the other petite and curvy) we did have to do some fitting to have a smooth closure in the back. We appreciate feedback from Pattern Review members and take it into consideration when creating our patterns. Best Wishes, Janet and Julianne, Co-Owners Decades of Style Pattern Company
9/22/06 6:27 PM
sewrose said...
I would say I, too, didn't have such a fun time putting these together and I agree with your comments about the overall design. I will try your construction order next time (if I sew these again). One thing I did was add a bust dart. That gives the top more shape but keeps the soft drape. But my main beef is with the fit. The back crotch is way too short for me, while the front feels too baggy. I would definitely reshape the crotches.
11/4/07 8:33 PM
SJB said...
I had hoped to make this with some lovely sari fabric but this review has convinced me to look elsewhere for a more suitable pattern.
6/12/08 10:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

StyleArc Jade Dress jade
photo
Review by momsurfing on 3/21/12
Read Review

Burda 9828 Pattern
Burda 9828 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1716
photo
Review by Willowwear... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us