SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 3001 (1930 Kitchenette Pajamas)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2106 times 
Reviewed by:LMH
photo

 
 
About LMHstar
Member since: 7/5/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/06 7:43 PM
Last Updated:9/17/06 8:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SJ Kurtz said...
Ah, I love this place. Thanks to all for the comments that have saved my hard work, particularily the link to Fashion Incubators illustration posts (clarifies the wrap tie in the back for me). This should be a great pattern, but alas, it doesn't suit most of us.
10/27/14 3:04 PM
SJB said...
I had hoped to make this with some lovely sari fabric but this review has convinced me to look elsewhere for a more suitable pattern.
6/12/08 10:50 AM
sewrose said...
I would say I, too, didn't have such a fun time putting these together and I agree with your comments about the overall design. I will try your construction order next time (if I sew these again). One thing I did was add a bust dart. That gives the top more shape but keeps the soft drape. But my main beef is with the fit. The back crotch is way too short for me, while the front feels too baggy. I would definitely reshape the crotches.
11/4/07 8:33 PM
Vintage Pattern Nerd said...
Hello from Decades of Style, We really appreciate the thought that you put into writing this review. It is obvious that you spent a great deal of time in the finishing details and that really shows in your finished garment. It looks great! We like the sewing order that you used. Isnít it cool that industry sewing orders work on vintage designs as well? We are very sorry that you did not end up liking the finished garment. We have both had that experience where no matter how much we loved the drawing of the design, we just didnít like it on ourselves when it was done. We really loved this 1930ís design because it is very different from anything we had seen before. When we made our muslins, aside from the usual adjustments for length (one of us is tall the other petite and curvy) we did have to do some fitting to have a smooth closure in the back. We appreciate feedback from Pattern Review members and take it into consideration when creating our patterns. Best Wishes, Janet and Julianne, Co-Owners Decades of Style Pattern Company
9/22/06 6:27 PM
KMangum said...
Oh, bummer. I saw this pattern Fri. at the Sewing/Quilt Expo, made up in four different fabrics: microsuede; std.quilting cottons; a lighter weight cottons; and silk charmeuse - these in a solid color brown. Did not see them *worn on an actual person*, however... I did buy the pattern for myself and am busy drafting a FBA on it, as well as checking sizes/lengths. INteresting about the back seat - I'll have to watch out about that. Personally, I think your photo looks darn cute.
9/18/06 5:51 PM
LMH said...
Cat: thanks for the link; I knew I'd seen this pattern somewhere. Interesting redo, but Kathleen and I definitely don't have the same taste in clothes! Fuzzygalore: unfortunately, I don't think that switching the fabrics would change anything; my opinion is that the problems lie elsewhere (in structure and design). Maybe adults should just avoid onesies! I might tinker with this and see if I can make it into two pieces instead of one. Hmm. Origamidoll: do a muslin first, so you don't waste your material. Even with drapey material, you might still have issues with the back. I didn't show the back of mine because it's just so awful. There are also other issues with the shoulders (they slide off, and I have wide, squarish shoulders) and the ties (one is pleated, one isn't; they're not the same width visually & it looks bad). Good luck with yours! Maybe it'll work for you.
9/18/06 12:55 PM
OrigamiDoll said...
Gosh, I had wanted to try this pattern. Maybe it would look/fit better if sewn in a really drape-y fabric like washable rayon or even silk? Actually, the biggest drawback (pun intended) I see is using the ladies' room!
9/18/06 12:39 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for your excellent review. Really, your outfit does not look bad at all on you. I am kind of sad, however, because I already bought this pattern (as you said, the illustration is adorable!). Thanks for the warning about the 'gut highlighting' effect of the design'.
9/18/06 8:41 AM
_Cat_ said...
It's a shame they don't work. I've been 'nice but..' about this pattern. Have you seen the redo on fashion incubator http://www.fashion-incubator.com/mt/archives/how_to_hire_a_fashion_illustrator.html
9/18/06 7:50 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Fitted pajamas? That doesn't sound like anything I'd like to wear :-)... I see your point about the design though, and it would be a better idea to put the solid fabric in the pant legs and the print in the top. For people with hips and bellies, at least. Sorry you didn't like it.
9/18/06 3:33 AM
dvazz said...
I'm sorry these weren't more fun for you, but I really think they are adorable!
9/17/06 10:51 PM
JenSews2 said...
sorry it didn't work out. But I love your fabric!
9/17/06 10:15 PM
drsue said...
major bummer! These are difficult to put together, and I find the pants baggy on mine as well. . . but given they are PJ's I didn't find it so bothersome. Oh well. Hope your next project turns out better.
9/17/06 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 8911

photo
by: Sdtex

Review
Other Autumn love

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now