SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3444 (Express Yourself (OOP))

1 more reviews
Viewed 776 times 
Reviewed by:ReneeSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ReneeSewsstar
IN USA
Member since: 6/26/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/06 12:17 PM
Last Updated:9/18/06 5:07 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Renee, is this pattern OOP? I couldn't find it on the McCalls website. I can't reach a side or back zipper because of my short arms (or fat round body?) so I always move my zipper to the front and use Sandra Betzina's mock fly zipper. You'll need to add a cut on fly shield and lengthen the waistband in the center front if there is a waistband. Otherwise I just end the zipper one inch below the edge of the pants and add a heavy duty snap. I've done it so often that now it looks good, but if yours doesn't come out right, just wear your blouse over the top and no one will notice. I'm looking forward to your pics.
9/18/06 12:57 PM
ReneeSews said...
Thanks Sherril for the idea of putting the zipper in the front, I did think about that but wanted to make these up as is and see how they would work. Plus I am still working on my front zipper applications ;-) I can reach the zipper to un-zip, but have a hard time zipping it back up. Short arms (or fat round body? also) Excuse the wrinkles I have been wearing them all morning.
9/18/06 2:30 PM
ReneeSews said...
Dbl Post
9/18/06 2:32 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your pants look just great. The description said "low rise", how low rise were they actually? Is this pattern OOP?
9/18/06 4:36 PM
ReneeSews said...
Yes the pattern seems to be OOP. I just purchased this not to long ago, at least so I thought? These pants sit at my natural waistline right where I like them, right on my belly button.
9/18/06 4:43 PM
USMCMom said...
Renee, these look great! Too bad they're OOP. I tried searching on the McCall's site, even under OOP, and nada..
9/18/06 5:23 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Renee, definitely sew these up again. They look very good. From the back, though, it does look like you have a high hip. Just adjust your pattern slightly higher on the right side. I can't wait to see what you do with the zipper next time around. ;-D
9/18/06 5:37 PM
j222b said...
I always remove the pockets on pants to give me a smoother line. Even in RTW (and Jeans etc): I sew pockets closed and take away the pocket linings. I like pockets, too, but I like the smoother line better. I like your pants.
9/18/06 6:01 PM
Schnauzer said...
Nice pants Renee. They look good on you!
9/18/06 7:53 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice pants! They look like they fit well and feel good to wear. Wowie!
9/18/06 8:28 PM
mClones said...
Hey, those look great...and comfy. I'm jealous!
9/18/06 11:05 PM
patsijean said...
These are great looking pants. This pattern is a keeper for you. I use a one seam pattern that I have tweaked and tweaked (need to make it about 1 inch longer) and it has no pockets. I don't care. No bumps.
9/19/06 0:26 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Thanks Renee.
9/19/06 1:55 AM
SewTwin said...
Renee, you really caught my attention on these pants, especially in denim! To get a great fit, and be comfortable is a win-win! This would be a TNT pattern if mine turned out these great!
9/19/06 2:25 AM
PixieCat said...
Renee, your pants look great! You have a wonderful fit! I'm also about to try moving a back zipper to the front using Sandra Betzina's mock fly so I'll be watching for how it goes for you. Good luck!
9/19/06 6:35 AM
cathy45 said...
Great fitting pants.
9/19/06 8:42 AM
Donna H said...
Those really do look great! Like RTW. Thanks for the review.
9/19/06 9:23 AM
Sew it seams said...
You got a great fit with this pattern Renee. And with Sherril's tips, and the tips you talk about in your review, this could be the perfect pant pattern for you. Very nice job.
9/19/06 10:02 AM
Jan B. said...
These look great on you. With the minor tweaking you've talked about, they'll be absolutely perfect! Congrations.
9/19/06 1:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
No Pattern Used 2012-11-css

photo
by: Margaret

Review
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now