Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 3444 (Express Yourself (OOP)) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 776 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:ReneeSews
photo
Friend of PR
About ReneeSewsstar
IN USA
Member since: 6/26/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/06 12:17 PM
Last Updated:9/18/06 5:07 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Renee, is this pattern OOP? I couldn't find it on the McCalls website. I can't reach a side or back zipper because of my short arms (or fat round body?) so I always move my zipper to the front and use Sandra Betzina's mock fly zipper. You'll need to add a cut on fly shield and lengthen the waistband in the center front if there is a waistband. Otherwise I just end the zipper one inch below the edge of the pants and add a heavy duty snap. I've done it so often that now it looks good, but if yours doesn't come out right, just wear your blouse over the top and no one will notice. I'm looking forward to your pics.
9/18/06 12:57 PM
ReneeSews said...
Thanks Sherril for the idea of putting the zipper in the front, I did think about that but wanted to make these up as is and see how they would work. Plus I am still working on my front zipper applications ;-) I can reach the zipper to un-zip, but have a hard time zipping it back up. Short arms (or fat round body? also) Excuse the wrinkles I have been wearing them all morning.
9/18/06 2:30 PM
ReneeSews said...
Dbl Post
9/18/06 2:32 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your pants look just great. The description said "low rise", how low rise were they actually? Is this pattern OOP?
9/18/06 4:36 PM
ReneeSews said...
Yes the pattern seems to be OOP. I just purchased this not to long ago, at least so I thought? These pants sit at my natural waistline right where I like them, right on my belly button.
9/18/06 4:43 PM
USMCMom said...
Renee, these look great! Too bad they're OOP. I tried searching on the McCall's site, even under OOP, and nada..
9/18/06 5:23 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Renee, definitely sew these up again. They look very good. From the back, though, it does look like you have a high hip. Just adjust your pattern slightly higher on the right side. I can't wait to see what you do with the zipper next time around. ;-D
9/18/06 5:37 PM
j222b said...
I always remove the pockets on pants to give me a smoother line. Even in RTW (and Jeans etc): I sew pockets closed and take away the pocket linings. I like pockets, too, but I like the smoother line better. I like your pants.
9/18/06 6:01 PM
Schnauzer said...
Nice pants Renee. They look good on you!
9/18/06 7:53 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice pants! They look like they fit well and feel good to wear. Wowie!
9/18/06 8:28 PM
mClones said...
Hey, those look great...and comfy. I'm jealous!
9/18/06 11:05 PM
patsijean said...
These are great looking pants. This pattern is a keeper for you. I use a one seam pattern that I have tweaked and tweaked (need to make it about 1 inch longer) and it has no pockets. I don't care. No bumps.
9/19/06 0:26 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Thanks Renee.
9/19/06 1:55 AM
SewTwin said...
Renee, you really caught my attention on these pants, especially in denim! To get a great fit, and be comfortable is a win-win! This would be a TNT pattern if mine turned out these great!
9/19/06 2:25 AM
PixieCat said...
Renee, your pants look great! You have a wonderful fit! I'm also about to try moving a back zipper to the front using Sandra Betzina's mock fly so I'll be watching for how it goes for you. Good luck!
9/19/06 6:35 AM
cathy45 said...
Great fitting pants.
9/19/06 8:42 AM
Donna H said...
Those really do look great! Like RTW. Thanks for the review.
9/19/06 9:23 AM
Sew it seams said...
You got a great fit with this pattern Renee. And with Sherril's tips, and the tips you talk about in your review, this could be the perfect pant pattern for you. Very nice job.
9/19/06 10:02 AM
Jan B. said...
These look great on you. With the minor tweaking you've talked about, they'll be absolutely perfect! Congrations.
9/19/06 1:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Butterick 4077
photo
Review by AquariJenn on 5/31/09
Read Review

New Look 6013 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6013 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8790 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8790 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-135 Bow Shirt
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 2/7/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us