Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion Sewing Group: 1962 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1101 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/06 2:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
This is on my list to make. I think it would be helpful to see a picture. Out of curiosity, how did you choose your size?
9/18/06 3:18 PM
carolynw said...
Peggy - have sewn her patterns before so am pretty (or was) pretty sure a 16 would be fine - plus I flat measured and also pin fitted the tissue - the real problem comes about with the sleeve so watch that part.
9/18/06 4:17 PM
OP Gal said...
Sorry this pattern didn't work for you. I'd still like to see a photo of your project to see just what the problems are. The jacket on the envelope looks great, I can see why you bought it but, showing pockets where they aren't is a significant error on their part. Thanks for the review.
9/19/06 6:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
The pattern drawing looks like the shoulder is slightly dropped. Could that be part of the problem?
9/19/06 6:14 AM
carolynw said...
Irina - the shoulder is slightly dropped but that I had expected - its the immense size of the sleeve that caused the problems. Have you sewn an outer wear fleece jacket? The sleeve on this is the same size - perhaps even larger - that's the root of the entire problem. Because the sleeve is so large then the arm scythe is correspondingly large so there are all sorts of issues to be dealt with in the arm/sleeve area. The end result is not in keeping with the closer trim look today. I don't blame anyone but myself - I should have looked at all the pieces before starting - hind sight as they say is 20/20!!
9/19/06 7:37 AM
Jane S said...
I had the exact same dilemma when I made my version about 5 years ago. It's a low armhole, quite relaxed fit with that large sleeve, but just wasn't flattering on me. I wasn't too sure about pattern alterations in those days. Now I'd just raise the armhole dramatically and fold out the excess in the sleeve top...but then again, I'd rather start with one where I have to make fewer adjustments.
9/19/06 8:26 AM
carolynw said...
Jane - this is what I meant about not looking at the whole picture before cutting - I was well into the process then when I went to cut the sleeves out and realised "oh oh big problem here" - too late to raise armholes or anything like that. I agree - I could do the alterations but there are just too many nice patterns that fit well for me to bother with this!!
9/19/06 12:09 PM
redsquid said...
Frustrating! You can even see the sketch model's hand in the (non-existant) front seam pockets....
9/20/06 10:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4731
photo
Review by jenka on 7/20/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5045
photo
Review by marec on 6/25/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us