SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1962 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1102 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/06 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redsquid said...
Frustrating! You can even see the sketch model's hand in the (non-existant) front seam pockets....
9/20/06 10:54 AM
carolynw said...
Jane - this is what I meant about not looking at the whole picture before cutting - I was well into the process then when I went to cut the sleeves out and realised "oh oh big problem here" - too late to raise armholes or anything like that. I agree - I could do the alterations but there are just too many nice patterns that fit well for me to bother with this!!
9/19/06 12:09 PM
Jane S said...
I had the exact same dilemma when I made my version about 5 years ago. It's a low armhole, quite relaxed fit with that large sleeve, but just wasn't flattering on me. I wasn't too sure about pattern alterations in those days. Now I'd just raise the armhole dramatically and fold out the excess in the sleeve top...but then again, I'd rather start with one where I have to make fewer adjustments.
9/19/06 8:26 AM
carolynw said...
Irina - the shoulder is slightly dropped but that I had expected - its the immense size of the sleeve that caused the problems. Have you sewn an outer wear fleece jacket? The sleeve on this is the same size - perhaps even larger - that's the root of the entire problem. Because the sleeve is so large then the arm scythe is correspondingly large so there are all sorts of issues to be dealt with in the arm/sleeve area. The end result is not in keeping with the closer trim look today. I don't blame anyone but myself - I should have looked at all the pieces before starting - hind sight as they say is 20/20!!
9/19/06 7:37 AM
CarolynGM said...
The pattern drawing looks like the shoulder is slightly dropped. Could that be part of the problem?
9/19/06 6:14 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry this pattern didn't work for you. I'd still like to see a photo of your project to see just what the problems are. The jacket on the envelope looks great, I can see why you bought it but, showing pockets where they aren't is a significant error on their part. Thanks for the review.
9/19/06 6:07 AM
carolynw said...
Peggy - have sewn her patterns before so am pretty (or was) pretty sure a 16 would be fine - plus I flat measured and also pin fitted the tissue - the real problem comes about with the sleeve so watch that part.
9/18/06 4:17 PM
Peggy L said...
This is on my list to make. I think it would be helpful to see a picture. Out of curiosity, how did you choose your size?
9/18/06 3:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Jasst282

Review
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 4851

photo
by: autumnmari...

Review

Pattern