SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4040 

100 more reviews
Viewed 1108 times 
Reviewed by:BGVDiva
photo

 
 
About BGVDiva
CA USA
Member since: 8/14/06
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/06 5:25 PM
Last Updated:10/4/06 10:35 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MKay said...
I am making a jacket with this pattern also. I used faux suede/shearling fabric and have been struggling to get it to look right. The patch pockets are terrible, so I'm going to redo them. collar: I'm not use not sewing on a facing, the instructions have you leave a cut edge if the fabric is a faux shearling. The hem is handled the same way. I would use the pattern again but not the fabric.
10/5/06 10:57 PM
BGVDiva said...
Thanks for all your nice comments. Anriley: I had been checking this site regularly before I began this project just hoping that someone had some advice; since no one had posted a review, I had to move forward...glad I could be the groundbreaker for you! clin: I will post a photo soon. Believe it or not, I'm not the "funny one" in my family; as you can imagine, we laugh a lot! USMCMom: I don't know the weight of the fleece but it's not real heavy. patsijean: Thanks for teaching me a new word today, "pastiche" :-) OP Gal: I am surely one of those women who have a very distorted idea of what my body looks like. Yes, I was "seduced" and I bought the pattern and fabric BEFORE I made my Duct Tape Double. When I saw that coat hanging on my dressform (before alterations), I wondered "What was I thinking?" and was depressed for two days! I'm better now :-)
9/19/06 11:45 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry this pattern didn't work for you. It looks cute on the pattern envelope, so I can see why you were "seduced." I'm planning to make a fleece jacket this fall, so I'll keep your comments in mind so I don't wind up with a bathrobe-y looking coat.
9/19/06 6:11 AM
patsijean said...
I love your pastiche of a famous saying. How appropriate for this group.
9/19/06 0:36 AM
USMCMom said...
What weight fleece did you use? Maybe a lighter weight one could avoid the bathrobe look. It looks like a nice pattern, though. Looking forward to seeing a photo
9/18/06 11:51 PM
carolynw said...
Love your review - you have quite the sense of humour. Maybe we can see a photo?
9/18/06 10:24 PM
anriley said...
Thank you so much! I'm working on this pattern too (view A, the short version). I was so mystified and frustrated with that collar -- but you've reaffirmed my faith in my own competence. (Yeah!) Thanks!
9/18/06 6:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6111

photo
by: lamstu

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

More Info
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

More Info
Butterick 5679

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review