SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4040 

100 more reviews
Viewed 1108 times 
Reviewed by:BGVDiva
photo

 
 
About BGVDiva
CA USA
Member since: 8/14/06
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/06 5:25 PM
Last Updated:10/4/06 10:35 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
anriley said...
Thank you so much! I'm working on this pattern too (view A, the short version). I was so mystified and frustrated with that collar -- but you've reaffirmed my faith in my own competence. (Yeah!) Thanks!
9/18/06 6:32 PM
carolynw said...
Love your review - you have quite the sense of humour. Maybe we can see a photo?
9/18/06 10:24 PM
USMCMom said...
What weight fleece did you use? Maybe a lighter weight one could avoid the bathrobe look. It looks like a nice pattern, though. Looking forward to seeing a photo
9/18/06 11:51 PM
patsijean said...
I love your pastiche of a famous saying. How appropriate for this group.
9/19/06 0:36 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry this pattern didn't work for you. It looks cute on the pattern envelope, so I can see why you were "seduced." I'm planning to make a fleece jacket this fall, so I'll keep your comments in mind so I don't wind up with a bathrobe-y looking coat.
9/19/06 6:11 AM
BGVDiva said...
Thanks for all your nice comments. Anriley: I had been checking this site regularly before I began this project just hoping that someone had some advice; since no one had posted a review, I had to move forward...glad I could be the groundbreaker for you! clin: I will post a photo soon. Believe it or not, I'm not the "funny one" in my family; as you can imagine, we laugh a lot! USMCMom: I don't know the weight of the fleece but it's not real heavy. patsijean: Thanks for teaching me a new word today, "pastiche" :-) OP Gal: I am surely one of those women who have a very distorted idea of what my body looks like. Yes, I was "seduced" and I bought the pattern and fabric BEFORE I made my Duct Tape Double. When I saw that coat hanging on my dressform (before alterations), I wondered "What was I thinking?" and was depressed for two days! I'm better now :-)
9/19/06 11:45 AM
MKay said...
I am making a jacket with this pattern also. I used faux suede/shearling fabric and have been struggling to get it to look right. The patch pockets are terrible, so I'm going to redo them. collar: I'm not use not sewing on a facing, the instructions have you leave a cut edge if the fabric is a faux shearling. The hem is handled the same way. I would use the pattern again but not the fabric.
10/5/06 10:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity Vintage 7147

photo
by: guineveres...

Review