Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 16754-1001 (1 Hr Slip Cover) - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 1144 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:celeste
photo
About celestestar
ID USA
Member since: 6/21/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/06 11:14 PM
Last Updated:9/18/06 11:14 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ReneeSews said...
Great job! My DD is pestering me to re-cover a sofa for her, thanks for this review!
9/19/06 0:00 AM
patsijean said...
I am considering doing this.
9/19/06 0:48 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks for letting us know how you did this fine looking slip cover!
9/19/06 2:38 AM
priscilla said...
You did a great job, and the shape of that sofa isn't easy to work with. Your step by step instructions makes me want to do my sofa again. I have a light colored shedding pomeranian that definitely leaves her mark around the house.
9/19/06 4:57 AM
OP Gal said...
I love your humorous review. I'm impressed that you could crank this out in an hour! It looks great. Lucky dog.
9/19/06 6:20 AM
PixieCat said...
Wow! You did this in an hour?? It looks wonderful. Thanks for the step-by-step photos!
9/19/06 6:41 AM
cathy45 said...
Wow! You did that in an hour! I'm impressed.
9/19/06 8:55 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Done in an hour with photos! It looks great and I actually think the fabric isn't awful.
9/19/06 10:57 AM
Donna H said...
Amazing! I am in AWE! Great job and great review. (walks away in total wonder muttering...how does she do that?)
9/19/06 12:17 PM
Jan B. said...
Terrific results. I'll join all the other comments in awe of doing this with photos in an hour. You could make a profession of this.
9/19/06 2:13 PM
Leora said...
OMGosh. Another light bulb moment... I think I'll try this!! Thank you :)
9/19/06 3:07 PM
AliceB said...
WOW I'm impressed... my dog sofa bed is located in the great room and I want it to look nice in addition to hiding pet hair, dirt, leaves and sundry yard debris carried in of small hairy dog bellies and feet. SO I have 25 yards of natural colored linen hanging out in my foyer waiting for the preshrink process. I need to cut into shorter pieces and take the laundry mat to wash and dry i hot hot hot a few times. I need to take your advice and not be too fussy about finishing my dog bed cover... I tend to be a tiny bit obsessive.
9/19/06 8:20 PM
greenmommie said...
Wow, thanks for making that process easier to understand! How much fabric did you use?
9/20/06 9:56 AM
celeste said...
Thanks all for the nice comments. I purchased around 20 yards (all that was left on 2 rolls in the clearance bin) and was able to do both the couch and the loveseat (loveseat is the one featured in the review.) I measured the amount of fabric that would be required to drape over and entirely cover the couch (with all edges touching the floor, & w/ fabric tucked into the seat)--min. size piece of fabric: 100 inches by 170 inches; and then for the loveseat 100 inches by 140 inches. The fabric width was 54 inches; so I had to sew the two 10 yard lengths together lengthwise to make one piece wide enough (my 100 inch measurement.) I think I ended up with one 3 ft long by 100 inch wide piece remaining after both were done.
9/20/06 4:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Other 0000
photo
Review by Sharon1952 on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5398
photo
Review by JDpenelope on 12/1/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us