Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4207 (Mens shirts, shorts, belt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 1991 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/06 1:15 AM
Last Updated:9/19/06 7:03 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Ah Debbie, I like that pattern. The shirt came out perfect and thanks for the link to make transfers. I think I could use this pattern for my DS. He's growing like a weed.
9/19/06 2:32 AM
dreamdesigner said...
I'm so impressed with the whole thing! The coverstitch, the design, the APPLICATION of the design! WOW!
9/19/06 2:41 AM
Vonnevo said...
Cool Debbie! The Tshirt is a great example of what can be done with a plain and simple design. Looking forward to seeing DS's smiling photo :))
9/19/06 4:13 AM
brrmm said...
Thanks Debbie for a great review. This T looks great - better than rtw by far.
9/19/06 5:18 AM
Peggy L said...
Great shirt! Love the coverstitching. You better watch out or you'll have his friends lining up at the door.
9/19/06 6:05 AM
CarolynGM said...
Nice idea for the reverse coverstitching. It's especially striking on this raglan style.
9/19/06 6:18 AM
Lori V said...
Great t-shirt Debbie. Thanks for pointing out this pattern, it looks like a great one. I bet your ds will be thrilled. Good luck on your dh's shirt.
9/19/06 7:10 AM
sewsue said...
Thanks for the tip about reverse cover stitching, it looks great.
9/19/06 7:32 AM
Nickle said...
Great shirt- I can see why your DH wants one.
9/19/06 8:24 AM
PegL said...
What a great looking T-Shirt! Another very informative review too!
9/19/06 8:26 AM
pterion said...
This looks terrific. I really like the contrast coverstitching. I've been on a men's T-shirt quest and the sizing on Kwik Sew patterns has been making me aggravated. I'll have to check this out!
9/19/06 9:54 AM
DrBarb said...
Debbie, can/will your DS give permission for me to use that saying on another shirt? My DD's BF is playing college football for the first time, is very homesick, and kind of intimidated by the oher players on his team. He could really use that as support.
9/19/06 9:55 AM
Donna H said...
Awesome construction! I'm am totally impressed. Gotta get a coverstitch machine! Thanks for this review.
9/19/06 10:01 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very cool shirt. I love the coverstitching.
9/19/06 10:59 AM
dvazz said...
That looks so RTW (only better!)
9/19/06 11:14 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Gotta love that hair!
9/19/06 12:11 PM
Stacy Sews said...
This looks FANTASTIC! I have been wanting a coverstitch machine for some time, and now I have to have one! The shirt looks great and I love the transfer!
9/19/06 12:42 PM
Debbie Cook said...
DrBarb, Sure! DS would be thrilled. Hope you can post a pic when yours is done.
9/19/06 12:50 PM
slanden99 said...
Wow, you really made this ordinary t-shirt something extraordinary. The contrast neckband, transfers, and the converstitching really "make" the shirt.
9/19/06 12:51 PM
Skymom said...
I never look at the men's patterns, but I'll definitely be buying this one. And again, all I can say is, your son is the cutest football player ever.
9/19/06 12:59 PM
Erica B. said...
Debbie, that shirt is awesome. It looks like you bought it in a store! Fabulous job, I hope your son loves it!
9/19/06 2:48 PM
SewLimited said...
I hope I can get my new coverstitch machine to do that well for the reverse effect!
9/19/06 2:51 PM
PVA said...
Mega-Dittos to all of the above! The shirt is just only great! The reverse coverstitch looks very professional as opposed to RTW which usually does not. Your work is meticulous & your sons are very lucky guys.
9/19/06 5:00 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your shirt is great, but it's even better that your son and husband appreciate your fine work. Have also done the reverse converstitching to add interest to simple designs. Yours is jim-dandy.
9/19/06 5:31 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You're one smart cookie making that pattern work for DS and DH. Great job on both.
9/19/06 8:28 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tees Debbie!
9/19/06 11:16 PM
Irene Q said...
Two great shirts!! Love all the details on such a simple pattern. But when are you going to make custom labels instead of recycling old ones? :-) With a name like Cook you (and DS) should be able to come up with something fun. Cool Cookin'? Fully Cooked?
9/20/06 10:48 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love everything about your shirts! I have had my eye on this pattern for my older two boys, but now I'm convinced to grab it when it goes on sale. Thanks for all the wonderful info! :-)
9/20/06 1:32 PM
Hilary said...
Debbie, both shirts look really good-love the inside-out cover stitching! And I agree your son came up with some great ideas for a one of a kind shirt, too! Thanks for the review and all the pics. I really like your DH's shirt too, nice color (and sleeve label).
10/10/06 4:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-119 Blouse
photo
Review by MNBarb on 8/21/13
Read Review

Jalie 976 Pattern
Jalie 976 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )
McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1033 OOP
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 11/7/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us