SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4207 (Mens shirts, shorts, belt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1991 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/06 1:15 AM
Last Updated:9/19/06 7:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Debbie, both shirts look really good-love the inside-out cover stitching! And I agree your son came up with some great ideas for a one of a kind shirt, too! Thanks for the review and all the pics. I really like your DH's shirt too, nice color (and sleeve label).
10/10/06 4:11 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love everything about your shirts! I have had my eye on this pattern for my older two boys, but now I'm convinced to grab it when it goes on sale. Thanks for all the wonderful info! :-)
9/20/06 1:32 PM
Irene Q said...
Two great shirts!! Love all the details on such a simple pattern. But when are you going to make custom labels instead of recycling old ones? :-) With a name like Cook you (and DS) should be able to come up with something fun. Cool Cookin'? Fully Cooked?
9/20/06 10:48 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tees Debbie!
9/19/06 11:16 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You're one smart cookie making that pattern work for DS and DH. Great job on both.
9/19/06 8:28 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your shirt is great, but it's even better that your son and husband appreciate your fine work. Have also done the reverse converstitching to add interest to simple designs. Yours is jim-dandy.
9/19/06 5:31 PM
PVA said...
Mega-Dittos to all of the above! The shirt is just only great! The reverse coverstitch looks very professional as opposed to RTW which usually does not. Your work is meticulous & your sons are very lucky guys.
9/19/06 5:00 PM
SewLimited said...
I hope I can get my new coverstitch machine to do that well for the reverse effect!
9/19/06 2:51 PM
Erica B. said...
Debbie, that shirt is awesome. It looks like you bought it in a store! Fabulous job, I hope your son loves it!
9/19/06 2:48 PM
Skymom said...
I never look at the men's patterns, but I'll definitely be buying this one. And again, all I can say is, your son is the cutest football player ever.
9/19/06 12:59 PM
slanden99 said...
Wow, you really made this ordinary t-shirt something extraordinary. The contrast neckband, transfers, and the converstitching really "make" the shirt.
9/19/06 12:51 PM
Debbie Cook said...
DrBarb, Sure! DS would be thrilled. Hope you can post a pic when yours is done.
9/19/06 12:50 PM
Stacy Sews said...
This looks FANTASTIC! I have been wanting a coverstitch machine for some time, and now I have to have one! The shirt looks great and I love the transfer!
9/19/06 12:42 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Gotta love that hair!
9/19/06 12:11 PM
dvazz said...
That looks so RTW (only better!)
9/19/06 11:14 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very cool shirt. I love the coverstitching.
9/19/06 10:59 AM
Donna H said...
Awesome construction! I'm am totally impressed. Gotta get a coverstitch machine! Thanks for this review.
9/19/06 10:01 AM
DrBarb said...
Debbie, can/will your DS give permission for me to use that saying on another shirt? My DD's BF is playing college football for the first time, is very homesick, and kind of intimidated by the oher players on his team. He could really use that as support.
9/19/06 9:55 AM
pterion said...
This looks terrific. I really like the contrast coverstitching. I've been on a men's T-shirt quest and the sizing on Kwik Sew patterns has been making me aggravated. I'll have to check this out!
9/19/06 9:54 AM
PegL said...
What a great looking T-Shirt! Another very informative review too!
9/19/06 8:26 AM
Nickle said...
Great shirt- I can see why your DH wants one.
9/19/06 8:24 AM
sewsue said...
Thanks for the tip about reverse cover stitching, it looks great.
9/19/06 7:32 AM
Lori V said...
Great t-shirt Debbie. Thanks for pointing out this pattern, it looks like a great one. I bet your ds will be thrilled. Good luck on your dh's shirt.
9/19/06 7:10 AM
CarolynGM said...
Nice idea for the reverse coverstitching. It's especially striking on this raglan style.
9/19/06 6:18 AM
Peggy L said...
Great shirt! Love the coverstitching. You better watch out or you'll have his friends lining up at the door.
9/19/06 6:05 AM
brrmm said...
Thanks Debbie for a great review. This T looks great - better than rtw by far.
9/19/06 5:18 AM
Vonnevo said...
Cool Debbie! The Tshirt is a great example of what can be done with a plain and simple design. Looking forward to seeing DS's smiling photo :))
9/19/06 4:13 AM
dreamdesigner said...
I'm so impressed with the whole thing! The coverstitch, the design, the APPLICATION of the design! WOW!
9/19/06 2:41 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Ah Debbie, I like that pattern. The shirt came out perfect and thanks for the link to make transfers. I think I could use this pattern for my DS. He's growing like a weed.
9/19/06 2:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6571

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
Simplicity 2181

photo
by: Aurelie

Review