Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2005-112 (Twist Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1361 times 41 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:celeste
photo
About celestestar
ID USA
Member since: 6/21/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/06 10:23 PM
Last Updated:9/21/08 10:44 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
I think this is a fitting issue. Perhaps you need a FBA. The downside to a lovely figure.
9/23/06 10:47 PM
sewbehind said...
That's too bad! I am just trying to fit this pattern and having issues with the shoulders. Apparently I'm built like a football player! Do you happen to remember which sleeves you used. They look nice. Hope your next project works out better for you.
9/23/06 11:11 PM
Mel.J said...
Thanks Celeste, your review pic gave me the idea to use only the upper section of this top to turn into a wrap style jacket. I've done that modification to add long sleeves, so this would be interesting to try. (I've been looking at jackets/wraps that can go above a pregnant belly.) I'm sorry that you don't like it on you after that effort. From what you describe you probably do need an FBA, Jackie Ms review of this top would be a good one to read as she gives good instructions on that.
9/23/06 11:16 PM
dreamdesigner said...
About time they create a pattern that makes us small cup size ladies look larger! I need all the help I can get!
9/24/06 1:09 AM
OP Gal said...
It's so cute on the dress form! It's too bad it didn't work out.
9/24/06 10:18 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Yes, sounds like a FBA would help. Good review though!
9/24/06 11:45 AM
Frosty772 said...
nick.com
9/24/06 1:15 PM
Nancywin said...
Celeste, this is the same problem I'm having with another BWOF dress with a similar underbust seam (but no twist.) I have altered te pattern several times and still can't get the bust to go low enough. I think what has to be done is to slash and spread the bust piece horizontally below the bust point and then redraw the curve and center front curve. BTW, I always leave a bra on my dressform - it's the only way I can get even close to my unusual proportions.
9/24/06 3:10 PM
Nancywin said...
Thaks for the fitting link. I think that will help with the other pattern I'm trying to solve!
9/24/06 5:19 PM
sewbehind said...
Celeste, thank you for the information about your sleeves. So sorry that you are having fitting issues with this top. It is very flattering even for larger busts, but I would wear it in a darker colour. (dark colours recede, lighter colours do not) I wear a 38C and the top part fit my bust perfectly with the exception of the shoulders, which I will fix. I did not do a FBA and the top fit very snug against the body.(no gaping) Personally, I wouldn't want it to be low cut and it wasn't on me. Thanks so much for your review. You have tenacity, that is for sure.
9/24/06 6:30 PM
Silvie said...
Thanks for your review and sorry for all the trouble you experienced with this style. I have been sewing with BWOF all of my "sewing life" and in general I find the fit pretty good. Anyhow, they do recommend not to alter the sizes to much because it will change the proportion and the fitting . The Burda patterns are designed for an average B cup bust size up to size 40. Not sure about the larger ones . Unfortunately most of us European women are not blessed with a nice "upper size" and like to apply tricks to make us appear larger like the twist tops:) I admire all of you ladies for your patience altering patterns to make your garments fit perfectly. perfectly..........
9/26/06 3:46 AM
katlew03 said...
Had to comment on your Halloween costume -- picture of dog. Is he a dachshund? He has the same expression my dog used to have when I put a sweater or reindeer ears on him. Sorry this pattern didn't work out. Just wasn't the pattern for you.
9/22/08 1:47 AM
kim*brown said...
HeeHee! Love it, reminds me of my two min pins!
9/22/08 2:20 PM
Beek said...
I absolutely love our dog's Halloween costume! Precious!
9/23/08 11:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 3503
photo
Review by sewmytime on 6/5/11
Read Review

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Folkwear 134
photo
Review by Margaret on 11/6/02
Read Review

Burda 7381 Pattern
Burda 7381 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6073 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6073 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us