SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 1885 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancasterstar
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/24/06 1:41 PM
Last Updated:9/24/06 4:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Very helpful review. I love how your dress came out, & your fabric works great in that style.
1/27/11 9:03 PM
Carrabeg said...
Thank you so much for all your information, it was fun to read, I am still sitting here laughing at you having to cut it off. I expereniced this once in a dress store when the clerk insisted the garment would fit, I was in a panic in the change room, finally I asked for help to have it ripped off me. Once again thanks for all the details which I will consider as I make this dress
2/13/08 10:58 AM
Lhan said...
This is the nicest version of this dress I have seen. And one of the best reviews. Thanks for going into so much detail, it really helps, and I admire your patience. No way I would have made 6 versions of a dress (all that lovely fabric ....!!). The final product certainly does demonstrate the value of good fit.
9/26/06 4:14 AM
Georgene said...
It looks really good. I do hope you will make a few more now that you have it worked out. Turn it into a tunic? ditch the skirt, make the top longer, use it as a good base for tops? slit it down the front and make a swinging duster coat....??
9/26/06 1:13 AM
Patti B said...
Debbie, this is a lovely non-matronly dress on you. Glad you stuck with it. It's a favorite of mine but I don't think I would have lasted through so many iterations; congrats on persistence!
9/25/06 9:26 PM
carolynw said...
OK - you have me convinced I should go back and try and try again - your dress looks wonderful. My first attempt was not a good fit and as you so correctly said - I looked frumpish and matronly - it's hanging around somewhere so one day I will get back to it and see if I can come up with a dress that looks as nice as yours - then I would be satisfied,
9/25/06 6:54 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Beautiful dress and kudos for perservering. Love the fabric choice especially since I would have never thought it would look so great.
9/25/06 4:01 PM
SarahWeb said...
It's beautiful! Now that I read all you've gone through with this pattern, I think maybe I might have a chance at success with it if I keep your review, and other reviews of it, close at hand. Thanks for sharing your experience.
9/25/06 12:30 PM
PattyU said...
Thank you for this great review.
9/25/06 8:14 AM
Kathi R said...
Boy, I admire your ability to keep swinging until you hit one out of the park....I'm sure I would have thrown in the towel at muslin #3 (or maybe #2)....you worked really hard for that dress....beautiful result.
9/24/06 11:15 PM
lmg said...
Wow. Worth all the tries. I have always wanted this pattern.
9/24/06 10:18 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Fabulous dress. Great review.
9/24/06 9:39 PM
Englebert said...
Debbie, your dress is lovely! Thank you for the thorough review~
9/24/06 8:55 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for your review, Debbie! The dress looks absolutely wonderful!!
9/24/06 8:27 PM
Dee2 said...
What an inspiring review! Your persistence paid off. The dress looks beautuful. Thanks much for sharing.
9/24/06 6:38 PM
bunz said...
Beautiful result! Your determination paid off -- I salute you:-)
9/24/06 5:36 PM
elizajo said...
Beautiful dress! Now that it qualifies as a TNT, you can make several more. Somehow that makes up for taking the time to make mulitple muslins.
9/24/06 5:34 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for all the details. I have this pattern and some fabric to make it. I think I better make a muslin first!
9/24/06 5:18 PM
drsue said...
this is a great dress, once you get it down. Love to see a pic some time.
9/24/06 3:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now