SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 1883 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancasterstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/24/06 1:41 PM
Last Updated:9/24/06 4:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
this is a great dress, once you get it down. Love to see a pic some time.
9/24/06 3:40 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for all the details. I have this pattern and some fabric to make it. I think I better make a muslin first!
9/24/06 5:18 PM
elizajo said...
Beautiful dress! Now that it qualifies as a TNT, you can make several more. Somehow that makes up for taking the time to make mulitple muslins.
9/24/06 5:34 PM
bunz said...
Beautiful result! Your determination paid off -- I salute you:-)
9/24/06 5:36 PM
Dee2 said...
What an inspiring review! Your persistence paid off. The dress looks beautuful. Thanks much for sharing.
9/24/06 6:38 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for your review, Debbie! The dress looks absolutely wonderful!!
9/24/06 8:27 PM
Englebert said...
Debbie, your dress is lovely! Thank you for the thorough review~
9/24/06 8:55 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Fabulous dress. Great review.
9/24/06 9:39 PM
lmg said...
Wow. Worth all the tries. I have always wanted this pattern.
9/24/06 10:18 PM
Kathi R said...
Boy, I admire your ability to keep swinging until you hit one out of the park....I'm sure I would have thrown in the towel at muslin #3 (or maybe #2)....you worked really hard for that dress....beautiful result.
9/24/06 11:15 PM
PattyU said...
Thank you for this great review.
9/25/06 8:14 AM
SarahWeb said...
It's beautiful! Now that I read all you've gone through with this pattern, I think maybe I might have a chance at success with it if I keep your review, and other reviews of it, close at hand. Thanks for sharing your experience.
9/25/06 12:30 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Beautiful dress and kudos for perservering. Love the fabric choice especially since I would have never thought it would look so great.
9/25/06 4:01 PM
carolynw said...
OK - you have me convinced I should go back and try and try again - your dress looks wonderful. My first attempt was not a good fit and as you so correctly said - I looked frumpish and matronly - it's hanging around somewhere so one day I will get back to it and see if I can come up with a dress that looks as nice as yours - then I would be satisfied,
9/25/06 6:54 PM
Patti B said...
Debbie, this is a lovely non-matronly dress on you. Glad you stuck with it. It's a favorite of mine but I don't think I would have lasted through so many iterations; congrats on persistence!
9/25/06 9:26 PM
Georgene said...
It looks really good. I do hope you will make a few more now that you have it worked out. Turn it into a tunic? ditch the skirt, make the top longer, use it as a good base for tops? slit it down the front and make a swinging duster coat....??
9/26/06 1:13 AM
Lhan said...
This is the nicest version of this dress I have seen. And one of the best reviews. Thanks for going into so much detail, it really helps, and I admire your patience. No way I would have made 6 versions of a dress (all that lovely fabric ....!!). The final product certainly does demonstrate the value of good fit.
9/26/06 4:14 AM
Carrabeg said...
Thank you so much for all your information, it was fun to read, I am still sitting here laughing at you having to cut it off. I expereniced this once in a dress store when the clerk insisted the garment would fit, I was in a panic in the change room, finally I asked for help to have it ripped off me. Once again thanks for all the details which I will consider as I make this dress
2/13/08 10:58 AM
AnneM said...
Very helpful review. I love how your dress came out, & your fabric works great in that style.
1/27/11 9:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 211758-1001

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review