SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4072 (Duro Dress)

31 more reviews
Viewed 2008 times 
Reviewed by:Carolyndh
photo

 
 
About Carolyndhstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/21/06
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/06 7:03 PM
Last Updated:10/7/06 1:23 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mamakooz said...
Looks very pretty!
9/25/06 8:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice -- I have a weakness for brown and blue prints! Could you say more about the tip you used to reduce gaposis in the neckline?
9/25/06 8:36 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Carolyn - your dress looks great! I like your decision to use the same fabric for the contrast band as for the body.
9/25/06 9:53 PM
Carolyndh said...
To remove the gaps along the inner neckline after you have sewn the outer facing to the dress (muslin version): You pinch out the excess fabric along the inner neckline as slanted darts facing downward towards the "V" (muslin version) with the dart points facing away from the inner neckline; and then you transfer these dart markings to the pattern and slash on the dart folds almost all the way to the edge of the pattern piece (the outer edge away from the neck)>>then overlap the cut pattern pieces by exactly the amount that was gaping so that the excess measurement is removed from the pattern. Tape the overlapped edges with scotch tape to hold. Now the neckline facings (placed on the outside of the dress) will fit the contour of the outside of dress bodice but the inner neckline is now a closer fit and will hug close to the body. Believe it or not, this dress' colors are actually purple and dark gold>>The lighting just didn't pick that up. I plan to take some more photos tomorrow and will post the better ones.
9/25/06 10:23 PM
KaraKai said...
Very pretty! :) Kara
9/26/06 5:39 AM
SBanks said...
Really lovely! I like the low contrast Duro. Fantastic fit job that looks perfect on you.
9/26/06 8:45 AM
OP Gal said...
Lovely dress. Very clever alterations. You look great in it.
9/26/06 8:57 AM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous dress Carolyn!
10/7/06 0:50 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Great dress. Love the piping. The neckline looks higher than in the pattern photos (which I like). Did you alter it any?
10/7/06 1:05 AM
Carolyndh said...
Yes, I raised the neckline up about an inch.
10/7/06 1:14 AM
CarolynD said...
You did a lovely job on this dress. I'll bet you will get much use out of this dress, it looks very versatile and flattering.
10/7/06 1:45 AM
Vonnevo said...
Carolyn, this is one eye catching dress. The fabric and trim work beautifully, the colours are wonderful and your necklace is a terrific match. Enjoy wearing your dress :)
10/7/06 2:46 AM
FloraNature said...
Stunning! I love the colour combination, it's one of my favourites, and your necklace is just right for the dress. Also, your photo is beautiful - the angle adds depth and the flowers bring out the vibrant colour in your dress.
10/7/06 6:17 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice dress!!
10/7/06 9:09 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Lovely dress! Your choice of piping instead of contrast bands resulted in a classic dress you can wear for years. Very nice.
10/7/06 11:33 AM
sewbehind said...
I like your dress. I think I prefer this style of dress in a lower contrast. It just looks better to me. Great job.
10/7/06 11:55 AM
Mini said...
I like the low contrast too. Somehow the high conrast versions always remind me of a sports bra on backwards LOL. You will be able to wear this one even when the "Duro" trend is over.
10/7/06 12:07 PM
dctalktx said...
I love this dress. I was not going to make a duro dress even though I bought the pattern because the contrast was a little much. Now I will follow your example. I love the piping, too. Thanks for share this!
10/7/06 1:04 PM
bunz said...
One of the prettiest duro dresses I've seen! Great decision on just using the one fabric -- gorgeous.
10/7/06 6:31 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Wow I love this iteration! Nice fabric choice.
10/12/06 12:01 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Wow! I missed this the first time. This is the prettiest Duro I have seen, and that it's in my size or near-to ... even better! Great fabric and design choices.
11/7/06 1:25 PM
Bettsi said...
I am so impressed with your dress! It looks absolutely lovely- heirloom quality.
2/22/08 6:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Kwik Sew 3486

photo
by: White Rabb...

Review

Pattern

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now