SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3906 (Misses Costumes)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1028 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/06 11:39 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
I actually like both types of sleeves, but I think the way you altered them makes the dress look more authentic (what I think a wench's dress should look like, anyway). I looked through all of your pictures, and I am quite impressed with your sewing skills. You also choose beautiful fabrics in just the right colors. You are very talented. Thanks for sharing. You have inspired me!
9/27/06 7:31 AM
Princess Jenny said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this. It is my Halloween costume this year, too! I just haven't gotten around to sewing it yet. Good to see the tips :)
9/27/06 7:36 AM
Janime said...
Very nicely done. It looks great!!
9/27/06 8:24 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Fun costume! You're right, the new sleeves do look better.
9/27/06 8:37 AM
moss said...
Hot! That looks really good. I actually kind of like the first sleeves, wimpy and all.
9/27/06 8:51 AM
Karen6790 said...
Don't we all need a good wench costume on occasion? I like your improved sleeves better, but this is a great costume all around. Nice work.
9/27/06 9:10 AM
Monica G said...
Your dress is definitely "wenchy". It is exactly the word I thought of as soon as I saw the picture--without reading your review. I like the 2nd set of sleeves best--adds to the wenchiness.
9/27/06 12:09 PM
Erica B. said...
great looking costume.
9/27/06 2:58 PM
Frogstitcher said...
This is such a fun costume and very authentic looking. Good choice to adjust the sleeve. Now you're all ready for the big night. Let's hope you're not expected to serve the drinks!
9/27/06 9:31 PM
Sarah2747 said...
Great costume! I want to sew a costume - but have no event to wear it to!
9/28/06 8:02 AM
Costume Queen said...
Very cool! I love the red skirt fabric. Plus, the mug adds to the "wench"-ness. ;-)
11/23/06 6:33 PM
Laura O said...
Your dress turned out great! I just bought this pattern today and for Halloween I'm going as a German bar maid. I'm making my fiance go as a bar maid too (you should see his huge German legs! Too funny).
9/17/09 11:29 PM
San Souci said...
thanks for posting this review, I really liked specially the alteration of the sleeve elastic
10/24/10 12:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now