Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3906 (Misses Costumes) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 1023 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/06 11:39 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
I actually like both types of sleeves, but I think the way you altered them makes the dress look more authentic (what I think a wench's dress should look like, anyway). I looked through all of your pictures, and I am quite impressed with your sewing skills. You also choose beautiful fabrics in just the right colors. You are very talented. Thanks for sharing. You have inspired me!
9/27/06 7:31 AM
Princess Jenny said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this. It is my Halloween costume this year, too! I just haven't gotten around to sewing it yet. Good to see the tips :)
9/27/06 7:36 AM
Janime said...
Very nicely done. It looks great!!
9/27/06 8:24 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Fun costume! You're right, the new sleeves do look better.
9/27/06 8:37 AM
moss said...
Hot! That looks really good. I actually kind of like the first sleeves, wimpy and all.
9/27/06 8:51 AM
Karen6790 said...
Don't we all need a good wench costume on occasion? I like your improved sleeves better, but this is a great costume all around. Nice work.
9/27/06 9:10 AM
Monica G said...
Your dress is definitely "wenchy". It is exactly the word I thought of as soon as I saw the picture--without reading your review. I like the 2nd set of sleeves best--adds to the wenchiness.
9/27/06 12:09 PM
Erica B. said...
great looking costume.
9/27/06 2:58 PM
Frogstitcher said...
This is such a fun costume and very authentic looking. Good choice to adjust the sleeve. Now you're all ready for the big night. Let's hope you're not expected to serve the drinks!
9/27/06 9:31 PM
Sarah2747 said...
Great costume! I want to sew a costume - but have no event to wear it to!
9/28/06 8:02 AM
Costume Queen said...
Very cool! I love the red skirt fabric. Plus, the mug adds to the "wench"-ness. ;-)
11/23/06 6:33 PM
Laura O said...
Your dress turned out great! I just bought this pattern today and for Halloween I'm going as a German bar maid. I'm making my fiance go as a bar maid too (you should see his huge German legs! Too funny).
9/17/09 11:29 PM
San Souci said...
thanks for posting this review, I really liked specially the alteration of the sleeve elastic
10/24/10 12:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Self Drafted Pattern 197770-1000
photo
Review by spiphany on 11/12/10
Read Review

Vogue 8895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7200 Pattern
Burda 7200 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick B4865
photo
Review by canei on 11/25/08
Read Review

A New York Mini
A New York Mini

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us