SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB015VB (Velma Bags)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1848 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 294 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/06 12:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
Adorable bag. I've been wondering about this bag. Glad to hear it's a great as it sounds. I'm really impressed with your pattern matching on the front! Great job.
9/28/06 12:18 PM
Peggy L said...
D - that is really a cute bag. Aren't you lucky to have someone to sew for who never complains! I'm sure shell love this one.
9/28/06 12:34 PM
pterion said...
Very cute bag! I like the combination of fabrics. I'm sure your husband's grandmother will love it.
9/28/06 1:01 PM
Donna H said...
Cute bag. Love the lining fabric, too!
9/28/06 1:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Just gorgeous!
9/28/06 1:55 PM
Karen6790 said...
That's so cute. I love the vintage style. Yet another pattern for my wish list . . . thanks for the review.
9/28/06 3:50 PM
Lynngray said...
Cute bag. Love the fabric!
9/28/06 4:19 PM
Tiner W said...
This is my favorite of Amy Butler's bags. Maybe someday I'll even make one. Yours is very pretty!
9/28/06 4:54 PM
SansSouci572 said...
I have never made a purse but got this pattern to try too! Now I feel inspired to just do it!
9/28/06 6:12 PM
drsue said...
That's a "wow" bag. Great fabric choice too.
9/28/06 7:10 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another great bag. It's especially fun to make for someone who truly enjoys your handiwork.
9/28/06 7:24 PM
simbaby said...
Great bags! How did u get GM to carry a cellphone, I can't even get my mother to use one!
9/28/06 7:41 PM
sewbehind said...
Very pretty. Love the fabric. You must have a pretty hip grandma.
9/28/06 7:50 PM
Deepika said...
simbaby, yes grandma is pretty hip. She has a pretty active lifestyle and a large social circle. She does not use the cellphone much but she always carries it. She wanted me to make a holder which she can sling on her shoulder that way she wont have to worry about losing it.

Thanks for such nice comments you all! And thanks for reading. My next Amy Butler will be Dorothy Bag which has been discontinued unfortunately. I love the covered cording handles!
9/29/06 8:35 AM

cindyann said...
I love that bag. Great style. Deepika, what is Ditch-n-Shape?
9/29/06 10:13 AM
Skymom said...
Ok, I totally love this bag--it's completely adorable. But I don't understand how this wise grandmother can be the only person who truly loves everything you make for her! Your stuff is always so good--believe me, we all appreciate and love it, even if we only see it in photos!
9/29/06 2:03 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a trendy bag, and you found the perfect fabric. You make it sound so easy--I wonder if it would be for me. Maybe I'll try one of these patterns and find out!
9/29/06 4:45 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Deepika, your bags are all so fantastic!
9/29/06 6:42 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Cute Cute Cute Bag!!! So glad you have made some time to sew, Deepika! Thanks for all you do for us! Carla
9/29/06 8:52 PM
Deepika said...
Cindy, I should write a review of Stitch n Shape. Its a stabilizer which is very stiff and yet very pliable. It can be steamed to shape after stitching. I love it and use it in all my bags. I wouldnt use anything else now. Here's a link to the company which manufactures this product. Sitch n Shape, scroll down and you'll see it.
9/29/06 11:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8791

photo
by: susandf

Review