Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4849 (Fast and Easy Women's Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1639 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/2/06 9:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carolyndh said...
Your version of the dress is very stunning! The boots look fantastic with it and bring out the black in the high waist band. I like the contrast you created with the band. The tulle trim looks really great to adorn the neckline. Its cool that you were able to utilize stash fabric in such an elegant way!
10/2/06 9:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful dress. Looks great on you.
10/2/06 10:31 PM
Sanibelle said...
Your Simplicity version is very pretty, but this one looks stunning on you, with the longer, slimmer line. I love the brown velvet. Thank you for such a detailed and helpful review. And your blog's a very nice read; thanks for sharing it!
10/3/06 4:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like this look. I made the McCall's version but the more I see of this pattern, the more I like it because of the set in sleeves. Seeing this dress makes me want to go out and get this pattern.
10/3/06 5:28 AM
Liane M said...
Very pretty. I haven't been moved to consider this style of dress until seeing your version. I guess I need to get this pattern. Do you think it would work in stretch velvet?
10/3/06 6:36 AM
Linda E. said...
wow. stunning.. I love your dress.. just beautiful..
10/3/06 7:29 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice dress. I agree that both versions (Simplicity & Butterick) are nice but that this one will have a longer wearing life.
10/3/06 7:43 AM
KaraKai said...
Beautiful!!!!!!!
10/3/06 7:46 AM
carolynw said...
I have been debating about whether or not to try this dress - you have me convinced. Am hoping mine will look as beauiful as yours.
10/3/06 8:38 AM
Nancy K said...
Fantastic dress and fantastic on you. I agree that this dress is more flattering on you than the Simplicity dress. I keep thinking of pinafores with the other dress and myself to old for it. So, when I saw this dress I said, I can look good in this dress. I bought the pattern after reading Gorgeous Things blog. Thanks for the review, I love it in velvet. Scrumptious.
10/3/06 8:46 AM
Princess Jenny said...
Beautiful dress; I agree, I like Butterick's version better than Simplicity's. Your fabric is gorgeous---perfect for Autumn. **edited to add: I just went to check out your review of the simplicity duro dress-- and I think it looks very pretty on you, too. You chose fabulous colors for it also.
10/3/06 9:39 AM
cmarie12 said...
Sharon ~ what a cute dress! I like both of your versions of the duro dress!
10/3/06 10:15 AM
moss said...
I have trouble with sleeves too and I also work out.
10/3/06 11:30 AM
LauraTS said...
Very pretty result, and a great review - thank you for all the details.
10/3/06 12:00 PM
Erica B. said...
saw this on you blog and had to comment over here too... very nice!
10/3/06 3:26 PM
ACB said...
Absolutely beautiful, lovely contrast, you look fab!
10/3/06 7:44 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a lovely dress! Gorgeous fabric too.
10/4/06 7:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Daisy Kingdom 2431
photo
Review by kathieh9 on 7/30/13
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2447 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by kittecat on 4/10/13
Read Review

Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us