Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1207 (Bristol Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2090 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Mini
photo
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/02 6:47 PM
Last Updated:11/11/03 12:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Mini - another great review! I especially love the red blouse - it looks so great on you. I have the same Fimo buttons in my stash. :-)
11/8/02 7:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Gigi. I wore that blouse so much that it literally fell apart:). When I find the right fabric I am going to make a duplicate so I can re-use those buttons.
11/8/02 7:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Would you post a picture of the collarless version? You choose such lovely, lush colors.
11/8/02 8:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great review with some terrific fabrics, but that's no surprise. I would probably be happy just to live in your fabric stash for a few days. Gee, that sounds a little weird (even to me :p), but I think most of us at PR.com should understand! It's all about the fabric, isn't it? I really liked the collar; most RTW collars are too high on me, so I tend to leave the first button unbuttoned anyway. This looks like it could work for me either way, especially with your comments on the button and interfacing.
11/8/02 8:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks alot Mini, another $20 bites the dust! I've been resisting this pattern but the red blouse looks so good on you I can't resist any longer.
11/8/02 8:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I like the red blouse on you; it looks like a very flattering fit. And, I like red! Thanks for your terrific review. You sure set the standard for reviews! ;-)
11/8/02 8:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hey everybody, thanks for the nice comments. I have to be honest though, there is no reason to spend $20 on this pattern. It is nice, but not exceptional in any way. I bought it several years ago, when I was more impressed by the mystique of "designer" patterns. Kwik Sew and Burda both have similar patterns that will give the same look for less $. KS 2698 ,or the blouse pattern in the new Kwik Sew Easy Sewing book, are basically the same design. Kwik Sew uses a higher armhole, which will probably fit short women better. Catherine, the collarless blouse WAS white linen. It succumbed to a spaghetti sauce spill, so I don't have it any more. I will make another eventually, and then I'll post a picture.
11/8/02 9:13 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Actually, the pattern is $16.00 and I think it's worth it. Not only is it easy to sew but you get a classy result. I've made several of these with best results from soft and drapey rayons.
11/9/02 0:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
marya said...
Thank you for this very detailed and helpful review.I really appreciate when shorter women try out a pattern before I do! The info on the upper body, shoulder and armhole sizing is much appreciated.
2/12/03 11:59 PM
Elona said...
Wowza. Lots of great information here! Many thanks.
11/11/03 12:51 PM
CatherineN said...
Your photos are not available at the above url anymore. Would you please repost your pictures.
11/11/03 1:46 PM
AnneM said...
Silk duppioni - what a neat idea! Always love your reviews, Mini.
11/11/03 2:36 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I look forward to your reviews! What an incredible knowledge of garment construction.
11/11/03 4:31 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wonderful review Mini, and I really like your strategy of refining the fit of a few basic patterns and using them often. Thanks to you and others, I'm starting to see the wisdom of this approach! This shirt looks really, really good on you -- I can see why you make it again and again.
11/11/03 4:57 PM
JDpenelope said...
Terrific, thorough, helpful review. This is just the kind of blouse I like to wear. Glad to know it's easy, but I probably need more practice first--still, it's in my library for later.
11/11/03 7:38 PM
LilD said...
great. extremely complete
2/22/06 9:43 PM
Kathi R said...
I'm searching old reviews looking for pattern inspiration and your fitting notes are very helpful....the extended arm holes are exactly what I'm looking for.
10/22/06 9:05 PM
Mini said...
It's funny, but since I wrote this review I have found other patterns that technically fit me better, but I still like this one. It just seems to work:).
10/23/06 3:41 PM
sewandserge said...
Thanks for the excellent detailed review. I am considering this pattern, which would be my first independent pattern, but am concerned that the pattern may need more adjustments than I know how to do!
2/9/07 12:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 1653
photo
Review by stonecutte... on 7/7/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Emma Top
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 4/15/12
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1355 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1355 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Belcarra Blouse
Sewaholic Patterns Belcarra Blouse

Details
Price: $15.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us