Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4043 (Mermaid costume) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 3981 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:PattyU
photo
About PattyUstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/26/03
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/06 3:11 AM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $14.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stacy Sews said...
Very fun costume - I love the fabric choices! Your daughter is going to make a fantastic mermaid this Halloween.
10/8/06 9:26 AM
mamakooz said...
Wow!!! This turned out great! I love your fabric choices.
10/8/06 9:59 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is so cute and I'm sure your daughter will love it. As far as turning the top right side out - remember one important thing - Pattern companies makes mistakes and we suffer. I'm sure they made a mistake and you corrected it. Mark the pattern with turning the top before closing in all the hems. I've found many patterns with error and, if you start reading these reviews, you will see that it happens a lot.
10/8/06 9:59 AM
Peggy L said...
Great costume, Patty! I'm sure your DD loves this.
10/8/06 11:38 AM
ACB said...
Absolutely beautiful costume, great job.
10/8/06 11:58 AM
Map said...
DD,what makes you think anyone would wait till the night before an event to start a costime? Great job by the way, she will be a great mermaid. Mom
10/8/06 12:51 PM
bunz said...
2 kewl!!
10/8/06 4:03 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute little mermaid! I have this same pattern on my cutting table right now for my 8 YO DD. I am glad to read you comments. I don't think I will need a side zipper either. I am thinking of making the top out of a different pattern with more coverage on the upper back for warmth. We never know how warm Halloween will be here. My other thought would be to get a bit more fabric and make a very simple shrug to wear over it, if it is cold. I like your idea of the crimped hair and glitter too.
10/8/06 5:41 PM
Monica G said...
Very cute costume. I can see why you are happy with your efforts and the results.
10/9/06 7:58 AM
KristenI said...
Thanks for the review! It turned out fabulous.
10/25/06 3:05 AM
sewitseams2me said...
Thank you for your frank review. I too have a tall 4 yo to make a mermaid costume for. Your review will help me make the job go smoothly.
9/26/07 1:10 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful costume! I love it!
10/10/07 10:02 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Sounds like it was quite a bit of work, but it is spectacular.
12/3/07 10:42 AM
ottomatic said...
i am currently making this pattern and wish that I had really looked at the notions list too prior to buying. I changed my daughter's version to be a light pink top with a green tail and fin with a shimmery scaly overlay for both where indicated. I purchased all the material at Hancocks, mostly because the Joann's near my home was low on Halloween material. I agree that the top does not need the zipper. I have not completed the tail, but I think I may have made it too long. My daughter is a size 6 and I made her the size 8. She can use it as a dress up costume for a couple of years. I may need to shorten the tail so that she doesn't trip over any excess that hangs down from the fin. I would definitely say that the instructions are a bit confusing regarding the lining. I think I spend an hour on one of the steps trying to figure out how to turn it right side out. It would have been nice to know the difficulty of the project like the Vogue patterns. I might have gone with the penguin or bee instead!
10/13/08 2:28 PM
containergirl said...
Thank you for a great review. I am 3 days out from my daughter needing to be a mermaid. Your tips will save me a lot of time.
7/29/09 0:06 AM
rubbecca said...
The costume turned out very well. Thanks for the warnings about the instructions. I bought this pattern because it looks so cool, but I know it will be a challenging piece.
8/29/09 1:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 8123 MISSES' JACKET
photo
Review by whomper on 3/18/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1381 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1381 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4209
photo
Review by JudyP on 5/12/06
Read Review

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us