SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4043 (Mermaid costume)

11 more reviews
Viewed 3985 times 
Reviewed by:PattyU
photo

 
 
About PattyUstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/26/03
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/06 3:11 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stacy Sews said...
Very fun costume - I love the fabric choices! Your daughter is going to make a fantastic mermaid this Halloween.
10/8/06 9:26 AM
mamakooz said...
Wow!!! This turned out great! I love your fabric choices.
10/8/06 9:59 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is so cute and I'm sure your daughter will love it. As far as turning the top right side out - remember one important thing - Pattern companies makes mistakes and we suffer. I'm sure they made a mistake and you corrected it. Mark the pattern with turning the top before closing in all the hems. I've found many patterns with error and, if you start reading these reviews, you will see that it happens a lot.
10/8/06 9:59 AM
Peggy L said...
Great costume, Patty! I'm sure your DD loves this.
10/8/06 11:38 AM
ACB said...
Absolutely beautiful costume, great job.
10/8/06 11:58 AM
Map said...
DD,what makes you think anyone would wait till the night before an event to start a costime? Great job by the way, she will be a great mermaid. Mom
10/8/06 12:51 PM
bunz said...
2 kewl!!
10/8/06 4:03 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute little mermaid! I have this same pattern on my cutting table right now for my 8 YO DD. I am glad to read you comments. I don't think I will need a side zipper either. I am thinking of making the top out of a different pattern with more coverage on the upper back for warmth. We never know how warm Halloween will be here. My other thought would be to get a bit more fabric and make a very simple shrug to wear over it, if it is cold. I like your idea of the crimped hair and glitter too.
10/8/06 5:41 PM
Monica G said...
Very cute costume. I can see why you are happy with your efforts and the results.
10/9/06 7:58 AM
KristenI said...
Thanks for the review! It turned out fabulous.
10/25/06 3:05 AM
sewitseams2me said...
Thank you for your frank review. I too have a tall 4 yo to make a mermaid costume for. Your review will help me make the job go smoothly.
9/26/07 1:10 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful costume! I love it!
10/10/07 10:02 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Sounds like it was quite a bit of work, but it is spectacular.
12/3/07 10:42 AM
ottomatic said...
i am currently making this pattern and wish that I had really looked at the notions list too prior to buying. I changed my daughter's version to be a light pink top with a green tail and fin with a shimmery scaly overlay for both where indicated. I purchased all the material at Hancocks, mostly because the Joann's near my home was low on Halloween material. I agree that the top does not need the zipper. I have not completed the tail, but I think I may have made it too long. My daughter is a size 6 and I made her the size 8. She can use it as a dress up costume for a couple of years. I may need to shorten the tail so that she doesn't trip over any excess that hangs down from the fin. I would definitely say that the instructions are a bit confusing regarding the lining. I think I spend an hour on one of the steps trying to figure out how to turn it right side out. It would have been nice to know the difficulty of the project like the Vogue patterns. I might have gone with the penguin or bee instead!
10/13/08 2:28 PM
containergirl said...
Thank you for a great review. I am 3 days out from my daughter needing to be a mermaid. Your tips will save me a lot of time.
7/29/09 0:06 AM
rubbecca said...
The costume turned out very well. Thanks for the warnings about the instructions. I bought this pattern because it looks so cool, but I know it will be a challenging piece.
8/29/09 1:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Butterick 5423

photo
by: sarahark

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now