SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> Fleece Swing Jacket (Swing Jacket: Barb's Original)

Viewed 1055 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy Peters
photo

 
 
About Nancy Peters
FL USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/06 2:12 PM
Last Updated:12/9/06 8:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
Very helpful! I agree with the price--a pattern over $10 should include lots of clear instructions, good pics, etc. Guess I'm spoiled with $1/pattern sales and like to to spoonfed at the high, independent prices.
10/13/06 6:53 AM
diane s said...
I made this pattern a few years ago, before PR, and I hated it too. My older pattern was on heavier paper.
10/13/06 10:47 AM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the information. Too bad the pattern is such bad quality.
10/13/06 11:11 AM
Poly said...
I also have a Swing Jacket pattern from Barb Originals, the one for the Linen jacket. I agree that the directions are very poor--expecially with regard to the collar band directions in the case of the pattern I purchased. I can cope with poor directions most of the time, but these are particularly difficult. The designs she has are super much of the time, so it's frustrating to have to deal with such poor directions! On the last page of my pattern directions is a single quote from Barb: "Things worth doing seldome come easy." I find myself wondering whether she wants us to struggle!
10/27/06 4:30 PM
Nancy Peters said...
As for her wanting us to struggle, I hope not Poly. Catchy phrases do not a pattern make. :o)
12/9/06 8:51 PM
solosmocker said...
I am lost here. I don't see a pattern number or manufacturer stated in the review. I realize it is an update but it would help to know what specific patttern is being referred to. I frequent this board practically nightly but am not familiar with Barb. Help!
12/9/06 8:59 PM
Rhoda K said...
The pattern and company is listed in the pattern information link provided. I've never heard of the company myself. The pattern looks nice, but I wouldn't call it a swing coat, I don't see a back view. Nancy, what does the back look like? Sorry that your second try didn't work out.
12/9/06 11:11 PM
Mini said...
A candid review like this is very helpful. Too bad you had to waste time and money on a faulty pattern though. I hope the designer will read this review and learn something!
12/10/06 8:21 AM
Mini said...
A candid review like this is very helpful. Too bad you had to waste time and money on a faulty pattern though. I hope the designer will read this review and learn something!
12/10/06 8:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-109

photo
by: liliv

Review
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now