SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2449 (crossover top)

81 more reviews
Viewed 1742 times 
Reviewed by:mlt
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mltstar
NC USA
Member since: 5/25/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:10/18/06 9:27 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mlt said...
dregan, I don't have my modifications in front of me, but I think I just added 1/4" to both the front and back side seams from the top down about 3". This probably did loosen the bust a little, so if you don't need any there, it would probably be best to do only the top 1" or so. Make any sense?
1/31/08 9:42 AM
dregan said...
I love the top and I tried to make it a yr. ago and the sleeves were so tight and gave up making them right. I would like to try again and reading the reviews for the umpteeth time! Could you explain where you added the 1/2 " to side seam under the arm? I can't quite get it.Did you add 1/2" to the front and back side seams tapering out at the very top of side seam like the last inch or so? I'm having a cloudy day, I guess!!
1/30/08 2:52 PM
Cody7 said...
I think this top looks really lovely on you. It is extremely flattering.
12/14/07 3:54 PM
ChristineBR said...
Love the last comment (homemade). I have had a similar experience.
7/12/07 8:17 AM
RuthieSews said...
Thanks for your review. I was put off the top seeing the skinny little sleeves on their model, but it looks great on you and I can see it could be made to work for me as well. Thanks
11/24/06 7:16 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very sophisticated. I like the stripe and the color. You got the fit perfect too.
10/22/06 12:29 PM
Erica B. said...
Your sweater is beautiful. It looks as if it was purchased at a swanky boutique! Congrats on your fab project!
10/21/06 1:50 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I just finished one of these for myself after. I love the fit and how the wrap lies on the body. I love your sweater version ...
10/21/06 12:43 PM
mlt said...
Thanks for all the wonderful comments, folks. I really am becoming proud of the stufff I'm sewing. Elaine, yes, the bands are out of the same sweater knit. I didn't have a problem with the endsraveling, but I serged everything, so the bands got sergered twice: once to create the bands and once to attach them to the front pieces.
10/19/06 10:45 PM
melgosews said...
So nice with the striped sweater knit and perfect fit!
10/19/06 9:54 PM
Elaine Penney said...
Lovely in the sweater knit. I've only made this pattern once, but was considering reprising it for another go 'round. The sweater knit is quite tempting. It appears that the bands are made from the same sweater knit. Was this a problem at all? Was there any problem with the knit unraveling when you stretched the band? Elaine
10/19/06 6:26 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
This looks terrific on you: wonderful choice of fabric and pattern. Your co-worker has very good taste!
10/19/06 3:49 PM
PattyU said...
I love your sweater. It looks great in a sweater knit.
10/19/06 2:03 PM
Peggy L said...
Great top!
10/19/06 12:20 PM
dvazz said...
Gorgeous! Oooh, I just love that fabric. Looks great on you!
10/19/06 10:20 AM
Rustybobn said...
Super top!
10/19/06 9:37 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great top. I love your coworker's comment, and your initial reaction cracked me up. It definitely does not look homemade and your coworker is on to you!!
10/19/06 8:17 AM
Princess Jenny said...
Your sweater is gorgeous! :)
10/19/06 7:44 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your top looks great! Looks very unique with that fabric too.
10/19/06 7:15 AM
dreamdesigner said...
That's a very cute top!
10/19/06 2:58 AM
Marie-Claude said...
This top looks great! One more reason for me to try to get my hands on this pattern! Thanks for the review and the tip!
10/19/06 2:19 AM
JenSews2 said...
Very nice! I would have never thought to use a sweater knit. Thanks for the idea! Perfect for cool weather.
10/19/06 0:38 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your top is excellent!!!
10/18/06 11:51 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a gorgeous knit, and a fantastic use of it!
10/18/06 11:16 PM
Elona said...
Great top! And thanks for the nice tip about getting around the shoulder bump.
10/18/06 9:58 PM
frame said...
You look adorable and your sweater is really nice. Great fabric, great fit.
10/18/06 9:41 PM
touran said...
You look great and I love your sweater. It does look very expensive on you.
10/18/06 9:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Dixie DIY Hot Cocoa Sweater

photo
by: Pemberley

Review