SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2006-111 (Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2087 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 225 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/06 0:45 AM
Last Updated:11/22/06 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Robin Denning said...
fantastic fit! thanks for providing inspiration on how well-done home sewing can be!!!
11/30/06 4:08 PM
Robin Denning said...
fantastic fit! thanks for providing inspiration on how well-done home sewing can be!!!
11/30/06 4:04 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ooh, nice fabric - and from Lincraft! Beautiful work Belinda!
11/24/06 4:27 PM
Schnauzer said...
Belinda, Your blouse is lovely!
11/23/06 5:48 PM
minieme said...
Lovely shirts! Love the fabrics too.
11/23/06 4:04 AM
Vonnevo said...
Belinda I missed your original review due to being away, but very glad to find it now. They are both beautiful, stylish blouses, with that Belinda *polish*. I always look forward to seeing your garments and reading your excellent reviews. I remember meeting you in the Cloth Shop on PR Weekend :)
11/23/06 0:45 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Motomoda, the only difference I found was easing in the sleeves, as I mentioned in the review. The fit itself doesn't change as the two fabrics are similar, but the comfort does. A fitted blouse like this is a perfect candidate for a stretch woven fabric. HTH.
11/23/06 0:22 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Another great blouse! It looks great on you and I love both fabrics.
11/23/06 0:02 AM
motomoda said...
This looks very good (again!) Were there any significant differences using stretch woven compared with standard woven fabric? I wonder how to predict changes to fit using one where another is recommended??
11/22/06 11:50 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Ooh - missed this one - love it! Great colour.
11/6/06 11:54 PM
LiZ said...
This is a gorgeous blouse. I love the fabric, I will have to visit the Cloth Shop more often. I will have to try this pattern out if it has plenty of ease in the upper arm area as I normally do major alterations to this area.
11/6/06 4:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Dreamdesigner, the ease-plus method is a method favoured by Sandra Betzina, where you place your index finger behind the foot as you sew the sleeve in. All I mean by American sleeves are are those with a lower, usually wider sleeve cap, drafted by many American pattern companies.
10/27/06 5:13 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Belinda, very flattering and beautifully fitting shirt on you. love the fabric too.
10/27/06 0:17 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Belinda, You did it again! I always look forward to your reviews, as the final product is so polished and the fit is fabulous, and I usually learn something. You obviously know what you're doing. What is the "ease-plus method "? and what are "American sleeves"?
10/26/06 8:31 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Looks tres cher. Beautifully executed from fabric match to construction.
10/26/06 7:23 PM
Lilibet said...
Lovely match of pattern and fabric.
10/24/06 7:57 PM
SandraB said...
This really looks lovely on you. The fit is perfect and I love the fabric.
10/24/06 11:33 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Amazing. The print is awesome. It looks really great on you.
10/24/06 11:00 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Lovely blouse! Too bad I sold that issue of Burda - bummer for me. Enjoy your new blouse! :-)
10/24/06 9:26 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great, colorful top and impeccable fit!!!
10/24/06 7:25 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a great looking result. I love this pattern and may have to find this issue on ebay. Thanks, you look wonderful in this beautifully fitting shirt. What a wardrobe builder.
10/24/06 7:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love your fabric. Great job of getting the designs in the right places. Looks great on you.
10/24/06 5:23 AM
patsijean said...
What a great shirt. I need a TNT pattern like that. My camp shirt pattern is not so good for winter.
10/24/06 1:02 AM
ElsaD said...
What beautiful fabric you chose!
10/24/06 0:56 AM
AndreaP said...
I just love your shirt. Great pattern, changes, and fabric.
10/23/06 11:47 PM
mClones said...
What a comfortable and smart looking , well-fitting blouse!
10/23/06 9:51 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful! Well done!
10/23/06 7:10 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice indeed Belinda! Fun fabric and what a great fit!
10/23/06 6:35 PM
runnerchicki said...
Great review. You look great in this blouse! I love the fabric!
10/23/06 4:36 PM
Monica G said...
I can't believe how beautifully done your pattern matching is!!! When I grow up.... Overall, the blouse fits you wonderfully
10/23/06 1:04 PM
sewbehind said...
That blouse is gorgeous! The colour looks lovely on you.
10/23/06 11:54 AM
Erica B. said...
what a great tailored shirt and the fabric just makes it fun!
10/23/06 11:42 AM
jemgirlca said...
Your shirt turned out great. It reminds me of the NL pattern that I just made. I love your fabric and your pattern matching is amazing!
10/23/06 11:27 AM
Moxie said...
Excellent fit. You've done a really nice job with the pattern of the fabric. Thanks for the review
10/23/06 10:54 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is an issue I'll have to hunt down - it's a great shirt on its own, but your fabric, and all the work you did in matching and placement, makes it really beautiful.
10/23/06 10:24 AM
cindyann said...
That is a PERFECT blouse. Amazing fit and fabric which was beautifully matched. Your design changes are wonderful.
10/23/06 10:04 AM
Kay Y said...
Based on your endorsement I will definitely consider this pattern for a tailored shirt. I love the fit and the fabric you chose.
10/23/06 9:14 AM
JDpenelope said...
The extra time spent matching the pattern was well worth it. Your blouse fits beautifully and the fabric adds to the appeal.
10/23/06 9:11 AM
PegL said...
Your blouse is just perfect!! It looks wonderful on you!
10/23/06 9:11 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a lovely blouse! Your pattern matching is awe inspiring and your changes to the pattern are definite improvements over the original.
10/23/06 9:07 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love seeing the blouse on you! Great fit, great print, superior matching. And, I really like the style changes you made too.
10/23/06 7:31 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty blouse. Fantastic job with the matching.
10/23/06 7:06 AM
CarolynGM said...
The first thing I noticed when I opened the picture was the perfect matching across the center front. Then I saw the impeccable fit and lines. Great job of making this pattern your own.
10/23/06 7:01 AM
Loreli said...
Its lovely!!! I want to try this one too. Thanks for your review.
10/23/06 6:59 AM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you for a photo showing you wearing it, so that we can admire the beautiful fit you got! I love the curve in at your waist and at the hemline - beautiful.
10/23/06 4:05 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very cute shirt. Whimsical and yet classic.
10/23/06 4:00 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Brrmm, yes as long as you can read french. :) The photo of the front is taken in a mirror so the writing is backwards. IRL it's the right way. The back view shows the writing the right way.
10/23/06 0:56 AM
brrmm said...
Great pattern matching. Does that mean you can read the "handwriting" across your tummy? Great work - it looks lovely.
10/23/06 0:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1328

photo
by: mangoflavo...

Review
Simplicity 1717

photo
by: Gatorbunny

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

More Info
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

More Info