SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2006-111 (Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2085 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/06 0:45 AM
Last Updated:11/22/06 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brrmm said...
Great pattern matching. Does that mean you can read the "handwriting" across your tummy? Great work - it looks lovely.
10/23/06 0:54 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Brrmm, yes as long as you can read french. :) The photo of the front is taken in a mirror so the writing is backwards. IRL it's the right way. The back view shows the writing the right way.
10/23/06 0:56 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very cute shirt. Whimsical and yet classic.
10/23/06 4:00 AM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you for a photo showing you wearing it, so that we can admire the beautiful fit you got! I love the curve in at your waist and at the hemline - beautiful.
10/23/06 4:05 AM
Loreli said...
Its lovely!!! I want to try this one too. Thanks for your review.
10/23/06 6:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
The first thing I noticed when I opened the picture was the perfect matching across the center front. Then I saw the impeccable fit and lines. Great job of making this pattern your own.
10/23/06 7:01 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty blouse. Fantastic job with the matching.
10/23/06 7:06 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love seeing the blouse on you! Great fit, great print, superior matching. And, I really like the style changes you made too.
10/23/06 7:31 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a lovely blouse! Your pattern matching is awe inspiring and your changes to the pattern are definite improvements over the original.
10/23/06 9:07 AM
PegL said...
Your blouse is just perfect!! It looks wonderful on you!
10/23/06 9:11 AM
JDpenelope said...
The extra time spent matching the pattern was well worth it. Your blouse fits beautifully and the fabric adds to the appeal.
10/23/06 9:11 AM
Kay Y said...
Based on your endorsement I will definitely consider this pattern for a tailored shirt. I love the fit and the fabric you chose.
10/23/06 9:14 AM
cindyann said...
That is a PERFECT blouse. Amazing fit and fabric which was beautifully matched. Your design changes are wonderful.
10/23/06 10:04 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is an issue I'll have to hunt down - it's a great shirt on its own, but your fabric, and all the work you did in matching and placement, makes it really beautiful.
10/23/06 10:24 AM
Moxie said...
Excellent fit. You've done a really nice job with the pattern of the fabric. Thanks for the review
10/23/06 10:54 AM
jemgirlca said...
Your shirt turned out great. It reminds me of the NL pattern that I just made. I love your fabric and your pattern matching is amazing!
10/23/06 11:27 AM
Erica B. said...
what a great tailored shirt and the fabric just makes it fun!
10/23/06 11:42 AM
sewbehind said...
That blouse is gorgeous! The colour looks lovely on you.
10/23/06 11:54 AM
Monica G said...
I can't believe how beautifully done your pattern matching is!!! When I grow up.... Overall, the blouse fits you wonderfully
10/23/06 1:04 PM
runnerchicki said...
Great review. You look great in this blouse! I love the fabric!
10/23/06 4:36 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice indeed Belinda! Fun fabric and what a great fit!
10/23/06 6:35 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful! Well done!
10/23/06 7:10 PM
mClones said...
What a comfortable and smart looking , well-fitting blouse!
10/23/06 9:51 PM
AndreaP said...
I just love your shirt. Great pattern, changes, and fabric.
10/23/06 11:47 PM
ElsaD said...
What beautiful fabric you chose!
10/24/06 0:56 AM
patsijean said...
What a great shirt. I need a TNT pattern like that. My camp shirt pattern is not so good for winter.
10/24/06 1:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love your fabric. Great job of getting the designs in the right places. Looks great on you.
10/24/06 5:23 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a great looking result. I love this pattern and may have to find this issue on ebay. Thanks, you look wonderful in this beautifully fitting shirt. What a wardrobe builder.
10/24/06 7:15 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great, colorful top and impeccable fit!!!
10/24/06 7:25 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Lovely blouse! Too bad I sold that issue of Burda - bummer for me. Enjoy your new blouse! :-)
10/24/06 9:26 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Amazing. The print is awesome. It looks really great on you.
10/24/06 11:00 AM
SandraB said...
This really looks lovely on you. The fit is perfect and I love the fabric.
10/24/06 11:33 AM
Lilibet said...
Lovely match of pattern and fabric.
10/24/06 7:57 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Looks tres cher. Beautifully executed from fabric match to construction.
10/26/06 7:23 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Belinda, You did it again! I always look forward to your reviews, as the final product is so polished and the fit is fabulous, and I usually learn something. You obviously know what you're doing. What is the "ease-plus method "? and what are "American sleeves"?
10/26/06 8:31 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Belinda, very flattering and beautifully fitting shirt on you. love the fabric too.
10/27/06 0:17 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Dreamdesigner, the ease-plus method is a method favoured by Sandra Betzina, where you place your index finger behind the foot as you sew the sleeve in. All I mean by American sleeves are are those with a lower, usually wider sleeve cap, drafted by many American pattern companies.
10/27/06 5:13 AM
LiZ said...
This is a gorgeous blouse. I love the fabric, I will have to visit the Cloth Shop more often. I will have to try this pattern out if it has plenty of ease in the upper arm area as I normally do major alterations to this area.
11/6/06 4:17 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Ooh - missed this one - love it! Great colour.
11/6/06 11:54 PM
motomoda said...
This looks very good (again!) Were there any significant differences using stretch woven compared with standard woven fabric? I wonder how to predict changes to fit using one where another is recommended??
11/22/06 11:50 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Another great blouse! It looks great on you and I love both fabrics.
11/23/06 0:02 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Motomoda, the only difference I found was easing in the sleeves, as I mentioned in the review. The fit itself doesn't change as the two fabrics are similar, but the comfort does. A fitted blouse like this is a perfect candidate for a stretch woven fabric. HTH.
11/23/06 0:22 AM
Vonnevo said...
Belinda I missed your original review due to being away, but very glad to find it now. They are both beautiful, stylish blouses, with that Belinda *polish*. I always look forward to seeing your garments and reading your excellent reviews. I remember meeting you in the Cloth Shop on PR Weekend :)
11/23/06 0:45 AM
minieme said...
Lovely shirts! Love the fabrics too.
11/23/06 4:04 AM
Schnauzer said...
Belinda, Your blouse is lovely!
11/23/06 5:48 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ooh, nice fabric - and from Lincraft! Beautiful work Belinda!
11/24/06 4:27 PM
Robin Denning said...
fantastic fit! thanks for providing inspiration on how well-done home sewing can be!!!
11/30/06 4:04 PM
Robin Denning said...
fantastic fit! thanks for providing inspiration on how well-done home sewing can be!!!
11/30/06 4:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8831

photo
by: jlg

Review