SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6034 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1641 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/02 4:19 PM
Last Updated:11/13/02 4:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Formalwear    Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Rustybobn, about the extra fabric around the armhole/chest: I've had this problem using Nancy Zieman's method also. I had slightly better luck using Sandra Betzina's method in _Fast Fit_. However, both methods seem to add fabric in the upper chest area which I don't need. I just got the book _Fit for Real People_ where the bust alteration does not seem to add any width in the upper chest. I plan to try it out. Also, after recently making a sloper I realized I need to adjust for sloping shoulders and increase the bust dart. This also got rid of the wrinkles. I don't know if these are issues for you, just some ideas.
11/13/02 5:16 PM
Margaret said...
Interesting fitting problems--I hope you will find a way to fix them. Maybe some extra width is useful for you (Rustybobn) in wovens but excessive in knits? Just an idea, I'm definitely not an experienced fitting person. Thanks for the informative review, and thanks, Betty, for the comment about the different methods.
11/13/02 11:41 PM
Sandra said...
Wow, that does seem like a versatile pattern! You choose really pretty fabrics, Rustybobn.
11/14/02 0:51 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I've experienced the same kind of problem in sleeveless garments, especially for my DD. Now I change the shape of the front armhole. I start at patterns's correct shoulder line and sketch in an armhole that shaves some width off the chest (about 1/4") and returns to the original pattern line just in time to go under the arm. The upper chest will appear narrower than the shoulders. I've always thought that her forward shoulders necessitated this change, but maybe not. I also cheat a bit with knits and place the CF of the top of the pattern just a little beyond the fabric fold when I cut, reducing the chest and neck width just a tiny bit at the CF. This combination of changes seems to work pretty well for DD.
11/14/02 9:06 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks for some good ideas! I'm hoping to spend some time this weekend trying them out.
11/14/02 10:32 AM
said...
Rustybobn, thanks for the great review. I just bought this pattern today so I'm looking forward to hearing about your successes over the weekend. Thanks to everyone else for the other fitting suggestions. Can't wait to get started on the cardigan and shell.
11/17/02 4:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Lekala Patterns 4177

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-136A

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now