Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6034 thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1641 times 4 more reviews
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/02 4:19 PM
Last Updated:11/13/02 4:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Formalwear    Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Rustybobn, about the extra fabric around the armhole/chest: I've had this problem using Nancy Zieman's method also. I had slightly better luck using Sandra Betzina's method in _Fast Fit_. However, both methods seem to add fabric in the upper chest area which I don't need. I just got the book _Fit for Real People_ where the bust alteration does not seem to add any width in the upper chest. I plan to try it out. Also, after recently making a sloper I realized I need to adjust for sloping shoulders and increase the bust dart. This also got rid of the wrinkles. I don't know if these are issues for you, just some ideas.
11/13/02 5:16 PM
Margaret said...
Interesting fitting problems--I hope you will find a way to fix them. Maybe some extra width is useful for you (Rustybobn) in wovens but excessive in knits? Just an idea, I'm definitely not an experienced fitting person. Thanks for the informative review, and thanks, Betty, for the comment about the different methods.
11/13/02 11:41 PM
Sandra said...
Wow, that does seem like a versatile pattern! You choose really pretty fabrics, Rustybobn.
11/14/02 0:51 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I've experienced the same kind of problem in sleeveless garments, especially for my DD. Now I change the shape of the front armhole. I start at patterns's correct shoulder line and sketch in an armhole that shaves some width off the chest (about 1/4") and returns to the original pattern line just in time to go under the arm. The upper chest will appear narrower than the shoulders. I've always thought that her forward shoulders necessitated this change, but maybe not. I also cheat a bit with knits and place the CF of the top of the pattern just a little beyond the fabric fold when I cut, reducing the chest and neck width just a tiny bit at the CF. This combination of changes seems to work pretty well for DD.
11/14/02 9:06 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks for some good ideas! I'm hoping to spend some time this weekend trying them out.
11/14/02 10:32 AM
said...
Rustybobn, thanks for the great review. I just bought this pattern today so I'm looking forward to hearing about your successes over the weekend. Thanks to everyone else for the other fitting suggestions. Can't wait to get started on the cardigan and shell.
11/17/02 4:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 3629
photo
Review by Princess A... on 12/5/10
Read Review

Burda 6923 Pattern
Burda 6923 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8925 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8925 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Can Make This No Tie Apron No Tie Apron
photo
Review by Pj3g on 4/5/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us